English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2014, 08:53   #1
mags
 
Posts: n/a
Clockport can be used like RPI GPIO port?

Hello amiga community.

I am an amiga user since 1989 (big gap between 1994 and 2006). Now I have a big collection, but I consider myself as a complete beginner.

Recently I come up with Raspberry Pi (RPI) and I am impressed with all the hardware experiments you can do using its GPIO port (I guess they are easy hardware experiments and in most of them you don't need much computing power). I was wondering if it is possible to use Amiga 1200 clock port like the RPI GPIO port, or they are totally different ports?

It is possible to adapt RPI experiments (using some special crafted hardware + software) to perform in amiga 1200? I think that may open a whole new universe of possibilities for amiga enthusiasts.

any comments?

thanks.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 September 2014, 09:45   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
The clock port is memory mapped io, you need address decoding and a chip that provides you a register you can write to in order to be able to use it as GPIO.

If you want a pre-provided TTL GPIO port, use the printer port, like everyone on every computer did in the 80s/90s.

8-bit C= users used the user port for the same purpose.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 September 2014, 10:06   #3
mags
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The clock port is memory mapped io, you need address decoding and a chip that provides you a register you can write to in order to be able to use it as GPIO.

If you want a pre-provided TTL GPIO port, use the printer port, like everyone on every computer did in the 80s/90s.

8-bit C= users used the user port for the same purpose.
Thanks, I see.

So you say it is possible to replicate or at least do equivalent hardware projects as for the RPI using the printer port?
 
Old 15 September 2014, 13:03   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Sure, just bitbang away.

Be careful though, it's very easy to burn your CIA, unless of course you add a buffer chip along the line.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 September 2014, 16:02   #5
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by mags View Post
It is possible to adapt RPI experiments (using some special crafted hardware + software) to perform in amiga 1200? I think that may open a whole new universe of possibilities for amiga enthusiasts.

any comments?
Yes, one - RPI have 700MIPS and various hardware accelerators so you can waste resources and do bit banging where Amiga have around 0.6 - 0.8MIPS and bit-banging need to be smart and limited to maximum.

You can use various ports in Amiga as GPIO - joystick/mouse ports are bidirectional, serial and parallel are bidirectional, even FDD port can be used as bidirectional GPIO.
pandy71 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4-way clockport expander DJBase Hardware mods 231 09 January 2017 18:52
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 01:04
Clockport connection...PLEASE help! Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 9 10 July 2008 15:38
PortJnr - Clockport fast serial port. Smiley MarketPlace 8 05 July 2007 02:32
Clockport switcher thinlega Amiga scene 0 22 April 2003 23:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17746 seconds with 11 queries