English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2014, 15:10   #1
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,002
Assassin Special Edition GFX Glitches

Whilst running Assassin in latest beta (15) and 2.8.1 I've noticed these small gfx glitches appearing during gameplay, only happens when the screen scrolls.

Edit: Running the game under my A500+ config the gfx glitch is no longer present. The version I've been playing is the Delirium crack. I've also tried another crack "Assassin - Special Edition (1994)(Team 17)(Disk 1 of 2)[cr]" but there is no mention of the crew that did it, this version also produces the same glitch.

So in short,
A500 OCS - Glitch present.
A500+ ECS - Glitch not present.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Assassin(Disk 1 of 2)_001.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	314.1 KB
ID:	41515  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (333 Bytes, 43 views)
File Type: uae A500.uae (21.0 KB, 30 views)
File Type: uss assasin a500 disc.uss (424.5 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by lordofchaos; 14 September 2014 at 15:41. Reason: got the configs mixed up
lordofchaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 September 2014, 18:33   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It can be normal, OCS-only sprite/bitplane DMA restriction was not emulated until 2.8.0 and this has already "broken" few programs that appeared to work correctly previously.

This game is also relatively new, probably not OCS tested.

Need real A500 test, later..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 September 2014, 19:20   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
A500 tested and confirmed. Identical glitches with 8371 Agnus.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 September 2014, 19:48   #4
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,002
Thanks for confirming, I wasn't sure if it was WinUAE related or the result of it being cracked.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 15 September 2014, 13:26   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It is game bug but technically it is caused by undocumented hardware bug, HRM describes only ECS behavior (how overscan bitplane dma steals cycles from sprites), even the very first HRM revision for original A1000 hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Limited Edition (Stefanie special edition) alkis21 Nostalgia & memories 59 27 March 2013 03:11
EAB/Lemon Super League 2010: Round 7 - Assassin Special Edition Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 65 13 June 2010 03:45
Alien Breed Special Edition'92 - special level mailman Nostalgia & memories 7 14 April 2010 09:03
Harlequin Special Edition and Limited Edition Galaxy HOL contributions 1 20 December 2005 10:02
Assassin & Assassin Special Edition haynor666 Games images which need to be WHDified 0 23 May 2003 19:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11359 seconds with 12 queries