English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

Old 10 September 2014, 19:34   #1
krabob

Hard Blits under intuition & Gif To "struct BitMap" converter

Hello, I already posted this in another forum... no panic.

For some reasons (another amiga coder motivating me), I get back to coding effects keeping intuition, with sas c and phxass. I aim some AGA vanilla effects using the blitter, and I'm quite new into coding blitter, even if I have quite an idea of what it can do.

The first thing I did was a converter from gif to amigaOs's "struct BitMap", the function can also extract a mask, and optionaly output "interleaved bitmaps".

Then I played around doing bobs with intuition screens having the SA_Interleaved flag and graphics.library/BltMaskBitMapRastPort().... it was drawing bobs ok, but It seemed to use a slow "blit per line", instead of one single blit for the whole bob as it should be the case with interleaved bitmaps.

So I started coding my own "one blit per bob" routine,( and had to add an optionnal "16 pixel empty column at the right" to my "gif to struct BitMap" function, so it could work.)

1st approach I tried:
OwnBlitter()/WaitBlit()/(asm things ending with move.w d7,bltsize(a6) ) /WaitBlit()/DisOwnBlitter()

It worked, but "sometimes" I had a flicker with the bob not drawn.

Then I tried a second approach:

OwnBlitter()/WaitBlit()/Forbid() (asm things ending with move.w d7,bltsize(a6) ) /WaitBlit()/DisOwnBlitter()/Permit()

... I tested an extra Forbid/permit because I though someting could take over my blits,
it changed absolutely nothing.

Then I searched some forum and read that if the copper was reset during a blit, it stops and trashes the current blit and can change any of its dma pointers. And sometimes yes, my memory got trashed elsewhere.