English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2014, 17:49   #1
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 286
Ever bought untested Amiga?

Talk about real blind purchases. I mean buying Amiga on flea market, yard sales or even online marked as "untested", "as is".

Sometimes it might be a nice bargain (stories from reliable source about getting A1200 from the redneck store in middle of nowhere with some accelerator under trapdoor) or loss of money when this "untested" label make a good excuse for dishonest seller.

I bought A600 without PSU marked as "not working", but turned out to be OK.
Then won bidding for my Escom A1200, the seller offered a lot of equipment that used to land on german streets as electronic waste, so I did not have high hopes. Turned out to be perfectly fine with good capacitors, working hard disk and pretty nice case!

What's your experience like? Is it worth taking a risk?
mikele is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 September 2014, 18:10   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,874
All of my Amiga's (except the first) was bought blind (i.e. I never saw them working). Most purchases have turned out fine.

However every time I have bought an Amiga labeled "untested" or "sold as seen" it has really meant "broken".

Determining how broken is key to a bargain.

E.G. I bought a 110v Atari Falcon 030 which didn't power on, "spairs or repairs". Being the UK chances are it was plugged into 220v mains. I bought it cheap and yes it just required a fuse in the PSU.

Out of tens of purchases I have made, only 3 have turned out to be non-economical / non-DIY repairs

Cyberstorm MK-III (90), Apollo A4040 (75), Picasso IV (120)

I could have returned all three but I kept saying to myself, these are cheap... you'll be able to fix them one day

Last edited by alexh; 09 September 2014 at 18:16.
alexh is offline  
Old 09 September 2014, 19:49   #3
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 825
All of mine were bought blind and have been fine,
but none was labelled "untested" or "as is".

My last purchase - an A600 had no PSU which made me SUS
but it worked (smelt a bit Musty) and had an unexpected
601 in the trapdoor (plus a mouse and Wing Commander).
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 09 September 2014, 20:01   #4
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 131
I once bought two A500s and an A500+ which were sold as untested / not working for very cheap. They all worked perfectly, the A500+ was especially well preserved with no yellowing and minimal battery damage
chaos is offline  
Old 09 September 2014, 22:56   #5
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
Many.
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 September 2014, 23:15   #6
Hodor
Retro Human

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 72
Ive never had the chance, but if the price was good enough sure I would.

Last edited by Hodor; 16 September 2014 at 18:40.
Hodor is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 11:30   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,528
Yes, many of them bought with unknown condition - always they can be used as part donators to support other units - this equipment deteriorate so quickly...
pandy71 is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 14:41   #8
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Yes. Latest one is a double untested cd32. No leads, back panel or psu.
Seemed to work ok with real discs but not cdr copies. Changed laser, but still having some issues with cdr copies. I used clonecd to burn a .ccd copy of kid chaos. Other discs burned with cdburnerxp dont work or work very slowly.
DDNI is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 14:57   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,535
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Yes. Latest one is a double untested cd32. No leads, back panel or psu.
Seemed to work ok with real discs but not cdr copies. Changed laser, but still having some issues with cdr copies. I used clonecd to burn a .ccd copy of kid chaos. Other discs burned with cdburnerxp dont work or work very slowly.
Check spindle motor. Might need a clean with good ol MR WD.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 19:15   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Thanks FOL.
Which way should the laser pot be turned to increase voltage?
DDNI is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 19:31   #11
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
Got a wonderful condition A600 for a quid

Got a diabolical rotfest of an A500+ for about 15 times that.
"Has one broken chip, seems to be in good condition otherwise"

Got a nice A1200 plus blizzard set up for a fair price, all good except the faulty RGB to scart cable blew up my TV.

Those are the highlights, there have been a bunch of others.
jimbob is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 12:06   #12
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
Exactly what Alex says, unfortunately.
Untested typically means "I've tested it and the thing doesn't work".
chiark is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 14:28   #13
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 40
Posts: 115
I got an A600 with "broken case and untested", It worked fine. New case and ready to play.

Also got an Atari STfm with "untested, don't konw how to test, don't have cables". It was 100% fine.
Tiago is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 16:38   #14
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Yep, a large number of the ones Ive bought were untested, but like everyone else when its listed on a site as "untested" I assume its tested and faulty.

I remember buying my DKB 2632 card and meeting the guy on a motorway service station, handed him the cash and got the card. Was a total drug exchange style thing but the card was mint, the box was mint, it was brand new.
Oli_HD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought an untested Amitek/Hawk 8MB off eBay... radiokida support.Hardware 46 02 May 2013 11:52
Untested Amiga 4000 - to sell or not to sell? dswalef MarketPlace 12 29 August 2007 17:54
Last Amiga Game You Bought? Djay Nostalgia & memories 94 30 June 2006 23:17
A600 expansion 1MB untested Johnyt MarketPlace 1 21 February 2005 02:56
First game you bought for your Amiga? Hillsy_ Nostalgia & memories 51 22 October 2004 02:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19526 seconds with 11 queries