English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2014, 05:33   #1
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 726
WinUAE GUI in Windows 8.1 - not DPI-Aware?

Hello all,
I noticed that WinUAE GUI looks wrong on Windows 8.1 with 200% scaling, on a high DPI display (I am using a Macbook Pro Retina). I am pretty sure this problem is also present in Windows 7 if other than 100% scaling is used, but I have not tested it.

The problem is this: The buttons are all there, but the window appears quite small, and the labels and text are cut off everywhere, because the text is too big. I cannot read the labels of the various buttons, and I cannot re-size the window to make it bigger either.

Some other old apps are scaled on a pixel level automagically by Windows 8.1, e.g. each pixel including text is quadrupled to increase size of gui on screen, for example old installer program. And this would be perfectly fine for WinUAE. It would look pixelated, but all the text would be big and legible. Instead, WinUAE is scaled using some kind of XP-Style dpi scaling, where the UI elements remain at fixed coordinates and the text is enlarged and clipped everywhere to become non-readable.

With a HiDPI display (example 2880*1800 on 15" screen for Macbook Pro), turning off dpi scaling in the settings is really not an option anymore, because ALL UI elements will be incredibly tiny and not legible.

Can this problem be fixed somehow, maybe it is just a simple setting (or unsetting) of a dpi-aware flag somewhere in the executable?

EDIT: Or maybe I am just stupid and made some other configuration mistake. Maybe somebody else can check this?

Last edited by rsn8887; 26 August 2014 at 05:53.
rsn8887 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 August 2014, 06:30   #2
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
WinUAE scales correctly on my Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro with Windows 8.1 at 3200x1800, using 200% scaling... It always did work correctly, at least as far as the interface is concerned.

The Amiga runs at 1600x900, using hardware scaling to full screen quite nicely...
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 26 August 2014, 08:14   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It should be more DPI aware than normal programs Possibly selected font simply won't support small enough or large enough sizes.

Go to Misc panel and adjust GUI values until it looks what you want.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 August 2014, 21:51   #4
rsn8887
Registered User
rsn8887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 726
The UAE misc panel worked, thanks for the hint Tony. I am attaching before and after screenshots:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	before.png
Views:	217
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	41247   Click image for larger version

Name:	after.png
Views:	197
Size:	80.2 KB
ID:	41248  
rsn8887 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mximize button for GUI (WinUAE) Maren request.UAE Wishlist 4 31 December 2010 15:10
WinUAE GUI in other languages NewDeli request.UAE Wishlist 6 11 October 2009 19:25
Kumiko GUI - Amiga Workbench 3.1 GUI for Windows milika Amiga scene 31 18 April 2007 19:16
WinUAE 0.9.90 GUI screenshots Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 13 20 July 2004 16:57
WinUAE 0817r3-GUI dissappears/ WinUAE freezes. 7-Zark-7 support.WinUAE 2 23 December 2001 14:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11435 seconds with 12 queries