English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2014, 17:50   #1
Vesko
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Vesko
Floppy disk Which Amiga model to buy?

Hi

I'm new to this forum and I'm interested in buying an Amiga computer. I will use it for playing retro games. And because I will have to buy it from abroad, I'm looking at the "low-end" models 500/600/1200 so I won't pay much for shipping. Of the three models 1200 seems the best choice but is it compatible with most of the classic games? Is 600 compatible with more classic games than 1200? Do many good games need the numeric keyboard?
Vesko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 August 2014, 17:53   #2
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
A1200 without a doubt.

Too many reasons why to list...
Peter is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 17:53   #3
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
Personal Preferences

Unless you need the space saving of an a600, I believe the a1200 would be the preferred option for flexibility.
For games I would suggest an a1200, CF hard drive (although not necessary), decent RGB -SCART cable, and at least a 4mb or 8mb ram card.
If you could stretch to it a Blizzard Mk IV 1230 would be the best though instead of the ram card.
Then you are sorted.
crazyc is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 18:01   #4
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
the A1200 is the best Amiga for games by far
another great choice is the A4000 /030 , more expensive but excelent for games as the A1200
Sandro is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 18:04   #5
Vesko
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Vesko
Thank you for the answers!

But is A1200 compatible with games for 500 without additional software like loader, emulator?
Vesko is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 18:17   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Thing is the A1200 can play A500 games (a few need fixes to work) but, a A500 can't play A1200 (AGA) games at all.
Arnie is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 18:55   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,568
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Thing is the A1200 can play A500 games (a few need fixes to work) but, a A500 can't play A1200 (AGA) games at all.
Who knows, if that accelerator comes out, then we could see A500 AGA, .
FOL is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 20:53   #8
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
A1200.

Compatible with some A500 games but not all. Whdload solves all that. But if you want to use floppies play like you did back in the day then you need a A500 with 512k expansion
john1979 is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 20:54   #9
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesko View Post
Thank you for the answers!

But is A1200 compatible with games for 500 without additional software like loader, emulator?
Well, some games will work, but you might be more comfortable to use WHDLoad, which allows you to install games to harddrive and also fixes compatibility issues. It's not a emulator, but well, some kind of loader

A600 isn't any better with compatibility either. If you want real compatibility for games on disks, then you need A500. But you really should think twice how you're going to transfer games to it. It can be slow and trickery, if you don't own any better Amiga or some other hardware with better transfer possibilities.

A1200 won't be 100% compatible with everything, but it is compatible enough with WHDLoad. And as a bonus, AGA games will work too. And you have many ways to transfer stuff to it. It's just much easier.

One other option which could be considered is Minimig or some other FPGA machine, which are practially hardware remakes of the A500. They have pretty good compatibility, although probably not perfect. But they use SD card as floppy emulator, so getting games on them is easy.
jPV is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 20:59   #10
Hodor
Retro Human

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 72
My vote is for the A1200, indeed.
Hodor is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 22:42   #11
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
Doesn't matter, whichever one you get first, soon you will feel the need to have one of each, at least.

But yes, for a little more money the most painless solution for retro gaming will be A1200 + CF card + WHDload + PCMCIA adaptor (for file transfer), and preferably something in the trapdoor, (WHDload works best with at least a slice of extra RAM).
jimbob is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 23:30   #12
Vesko
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Vesko
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
A1200.

Compatible with some A500 games but not all. Whdload solves all that. But if you want to use floppies play like you did back in the day then you need a A500 with 512k expansion
I think this post answers my question. The joy of retro game collecting is to get the in their original form. I just checked WHDLoad for installing some of the games I'm interested in (adventures like King's Quest, Space Quest) and it requires "installed A500 Kickstart 1.3 image" so it looks like emulation to me. And what's the point of playing pirated games in WHDLoad when I can play them in a emulator in my PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbob View Post
Doesn't matter, whichever one you get first, soon you will feel the need to have one of each, at least.
I agree with that although there aren't that many AGA games compared with ECS/OCS. I think I can skip at least A600
Vesko is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 23:52   #13
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Who knows, if that accelerator comes out, then we could see A500 AGA, .
FOLWhat?
seuden is offline  
Old 22 August 2014, 23:57   #14
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,568
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
FOLWhat?
That new A600 accelerator, apparently one of the planned features is AGA.
FOL is offline  
Old 23 August 2014, 00:35   #15
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vesko View Post
I think this post answers my question. The joy of retro game collecting is to get the in their original form. I just checked WHDLoad for installing some of the games I'm interested in (adventures like King's Quest, Space Quest) and it requires "installed A500 Kickstart 1.3 image" so it looks like emulation to me.
It is not emulation. It is a software equivalent of installing a kickstart switcher with KS1.3. A WHDload version is a cracked version of the original modified to run from HDD with fixes to make it work with 020+, AGA etc.

But go ahead and run games the original way. I've seen lots of people starting out this way and then eventually figuring out that Amiga floppy disks are now very unreliable and having everything installed on HDD is much more convenient without ruining the experience of using the real HW.
Getting a 500 with +512kB RAM is much cheaper though than a 1200 with accelerator, but you'll need to think about how you will transfer software to it. The PCMCIA port in the 600/1200 is very convenient for that.
Edit: A floppy emulator could be a solution if you just want a 500, look for Gotek and HxC. Yes, that is emulation, but only for the floppy drive.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 August 2014, 00:46   #16
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
If I had an a500 then I would want an aca500 to go with it.
crazyc is offline  
Old 23 August 2014, 00:53   #17
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
It is not emulation. It is a software equivalent of installing a kickstart switcher with KS1.3. A WHDload version is a cracked version of the original modified to run from HDD with fixes to make it work with 020+, AGA etc.

But go ahead and run games the original way. I've seen lots of people starting out this way and then eventually figuring out that Amiga floppy disks are now very unreliable and having everything installed on HDD is much more convenient without ruining the experience of using the real HW.
Getting a 500 with +512kB RAM is much cheaper though than a 1200 with accelerator, but you'll need to think about how you will transfer software to it. The PCMCIA port in the 600/1200 is very convenient for that.
Edit: A floppy emulator could be a solution if you just want a 500, look for Gotek and HxC. Yes, that is emulation, but only for the floppy drive.
There are plenty of DD floppies on ebay and they aren't so unreliable as you say.

Transferring to the Amiga is the more difficult part as you say. Amiga forever and a transfer cable is fool proof, but rather slow. Especially inconvenient if your Amiga is nowhere near your PC.

I would also go for the 1200 + Whdload + CF card way. Okay it's not as purist as I would like but it's a decent compromise for convenience.
john1979 is offline  
Old 23 August 2014, 00:54   #18
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
If I had an a500 then I would want an aca500 to go with it.
The ACA500 is quite handicapped relative to using WHDload since it doesn't have enough memory for many games, and adding an accelerator will cause slowdowns in many games due to chipmem becoming slower. Also it will not improve compatibility with disk games, so it does not seem like a useful choice here.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 August 2014, 03:05   #19
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 655
Which accelerator do you refer to? Would it be available for the 500 or 2000 as well?
source is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 10:35   #20
Coltch
Registered User
Coltch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 108
I primarily use my A500/ACA500 for playing games from floppy (I do have a complete 3,1 WB install on CF though).

For WHDLoad I use my A1200/ACA1231 with a CF HDD as it is far more convenient
Coltch is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worst Amiga model ever Skope Nostalgia & memories 213 01 June 2015 20:23
Help on detecting Amiga model from within a script gulliver support.Other 5 11 October 2011 18:56
Amiga paper model: where? Akira Nostalgia & memories 11 29 July 2009 08:54
Which Amiga model is better Another World project.WHDLoad 11 27 December 2008 20:28
What model Amiga was used in this? Unknown_K Nostalgia & memories 10 21 July 2005 17:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24692 seconds with 11 queries