English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 August 2014, 06:14   #1
RokChild
The One The ONLY
RokChild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia USA
Age: 53
Posts: 77
Send a message via ICQ to RokChild
Amiga Partition on a PC

I have a windows 8.1 PC and wondered if i could use some of my PC HD and make an amiga partition so I can utilise the WHD files, any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
RokChild is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 August 2014, 09:07   #2
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
You don't need to make a real partition.

You can make a "hdf" or hard disc file.
To the virtual amiga it is a hard disc, on your windows machine its just a big file.

Just google winuae create hdf. Ask any questions if you cant figure it out.

Note: winuae can also mount a folder as a hard drive on your amiga too. So you can download files or whatever and easily transfer them into the amiga virtual environment.
Vot is offline  
Old 19 August 2014, 09:10   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
You should rather make a VHD (a.k.a. dynamic HDF). Then it is a small file which grows with the data stored in it.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 August 2014, 11:35   #4
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You should rather make a VHD (a.k.a. dynamic HDF). Then it is a small file which grows with the data stored in it.
What he said
Vot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 3000 won't see partition (long...!) Zorro support.Hardware 16 12 December 2013 00:23
Amiga Forever bootable partition in Windows 7 64 bits Retrofan support.Amiga Forever 7 20 September 2011 12:16
How can I format a Windows Partition With Amiga Filesystem? gordon support.WinUAE 4 23 March 2008 10:52
Vortex GoldenGate: selecting amiga partition as C: , FDISK reports wrong size! keropi support.Hardware 7 06 February 2007 00:00
Using a partition as an Amiga Boot Device for UAE JeffreyUS support.WinUAE 6 09 February 2006 01:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24137 seconds with 11 queries