English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 August 2014, 15:07   #201
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by themamboman View Post
Got my emulation updated to 4.1 update 6. Now, just waiting for networking to work in OS4.1 so I can use AmiUpdate to get all the way to current.

http://i.imgur.com/MnIn24T.png
Really nice.
huepper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 August 2014, 17:44   #202
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by themamboman View Post
What are some good OS4/PPC benchmarking tools to use?

I thought it was kinda slow on my 2011 MacBook Pro with an i7 2635QM processor with 4GB.

I put it on my desktop with an AMD FX-8350 and 16MB RAM and it was MUCH faster. That proc can hit 4.2Ghz in turbo mode.

I'd like to see the numbers too and compare them to my G3 Micro-A1C.
I don't have any benchmark numbers for you but I can tell you it's far slower on my i7 3770K (in turbo mode at 4.2GHz) than my real A4000/CS PPC. Hardfile access seems to bog it down and graphics are sluggish. The 4MB of VRAM on the Picasso 4 may be a big limiting factor.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 17:57   #203
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
BVision or CVision support with 8MB RAM would be cool.
This perhaps would Warp3D work.

But i think, Toni has other things to do.
huepper is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 18:01   #204
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,575
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The speed is much closer to my Bppc @175 using a Q6600, Not particularly useful. I have a 4970K sitting in a box waiting on a new case before I install it. I expect the emulation may be faster than my bppc then

Joking aside, OS4 really isn't a fast mover on my blizzppc 175+Bvision.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 18:54   #205
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by themamboman View Post
Got my emulation updated to 4.1 update 6. Now, just waiting for networking to work in OS4.1 so I can use AmiUpdate to get all the way to current.

http://i.imgur.com/MnIn24T.png
Use A2065 Z2 ethernet board in WinUAE. It works fine.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 18:58   #206
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,575
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Fol can you post your config for OS4.1? I have DSI errors with it . Or you, themamboman, please.

Edit: About internet, how to use wifi? I suposse that one is just for cable.

Last edited by Retrofan; 20 August 2014 at 19:07.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 19:59   #207
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Fol can you post your config for OS4.1? I have DSI errors with it . Or you, themamboman, please.

Edit: About internet, how to use wifi? I suposse that one is just for cable.
You need to use ethernet.device and add it to the os4.1 compatability (disable jit) first. Then you can set it up in internet options.
FOL is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 20:01   #208
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,575
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks, and don't you get a guru message in the moment that for example you try to change a volume name?

I made the hdf with two partitions, second one Apps, and I've copied there the Cd and I want to rename it as the Cd to install the extras, but I can't even "try" to start changing the volume name of Apps. I'm using PFS3AIO

Edit: I will try now witha FFS hdf.

Last edited by Retrofan; 20 August 2014 at 20:30.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 22:16   #209
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do not use "UAE" controller, it is not visible outside of m68k AOS. It needs to be IDE. (Was already said many times in this thread I think..)

Also your BPPC config is a bit weird, A4000 ROM and A4000 hardware. BPCC is A1200 only.
Then Toni, I set hardfile "IDE", set cyberstormppc_44.71.rom, tried all the settings on the forum and the results do not change; Blue screen first, then screen bands are colorful and finally screen Pink, could be a problem unrelated to PC hardware, CPU or Video Card?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 20 August 2014 at 22:36.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 22:28   #210
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Then Toni, I set hardfile "IDE", set cyberstormppc_44.71.rom, tried all the settings on the forum and the results do not change; Blue screen first, then screen bands are colorful and finally screen Rosa, could be a problem unrelated to PC hardware, CPU or Video Card?
If the scren is "rosa", then you have to wait (long time), screen will be black and then it runs.
PPC Emulation need powerful hardware.
huepper is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 22:39   #211
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by huepper View Post
If the scren is "rosa", then you have to wait (long time), screen will be black and then it runs.
PPC Emulation need powerful hardware.
If you look after Rosa (Pink) makes the colored bars and then returns the Rosa and then repeats
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 August 2014, 22:48   #212
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Then we need a new log file an your config file.
huepper is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 04:12   #213
Ami_GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA North America
Posts: 179
I had the repeating pink flashing colors loop in my original configuration but not in the one I downloaded from Retrofan's post. There were posts by Toni suggesting disabling "CDFS Automount CD/DVD Drives"and uaescsi.device. I did that and still had the pink/flash loop of endless slow resets. The problem ended up being that my HDF file was set to use UAE as the HD Controller. OS4 didn't recognize the UAE controller but worked with it set to IDE. After that, it booted to OS4, after a wait long enough to drink a beer.

Extremely slow on a Core 2 duo. The 68K code goes at light speed. In PPC mode with Warp UP in OS3.1 and 3.9, it took FXpaint around 30-40 seconds to load a picture. In 68K mode, in a blink of an eye. It loads about as fast in my real A4000 with Cyberstorm PPC. This is funny, the 68K beats the PPC hands down in Winuae.
Ami_GFX is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 04:21   #214
themamboman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta, USA
Posts: 135
Hey, there's a poll on amiga-news.de about PowerPC in WinUAE and if that would lead you to purchase Amiga OS4.1 Classic:

http://amiga-news.de/forum/en/umfrag...on=showCurrent
themamboman is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 07:00   #215
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 396
I repeat: DON'T use ROM 44.71 for AmigaOS 4.0!! Use ROM 44.69!!

With 44.71 there is a reset loop
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 10:29   #216
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
I repeat: DON'T use ROM 44.71 for AmigaOS 4.0!! Use ROM 44.69!!

With 44.71 there is a reset loop
Define reset loop, as you can get this if your config is a bit screwy.
FOL is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 13:07   #217
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
I have a folder (HD) with my Amiga OS and libraries WOS and 060 used in real Amiga (BPPC 060) and it works.
It does not work in the emulator. Using the configuration CyberStormPPC 060, I get the Boot memu of PPC, the Workbench start but appears always PPC stop.
A PPC WOS AGA demos (DeathTrial,ViolentDumb) crash the emulator, black screen, freezing.

I tried to setting winuae BPPC, and BPPC 060 ROM but do not recognize me. I have renamed to different forms, but can not.

¿What fail?

(At the moment, I have no intention of emulating 4.1, only WOS / PowerUp)
vitux is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 13:10   #218
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 396
How Toni would say: "No Log, No Help!"
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 13:16   #219
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
I repeat: DON'T use ROM 44.71 for AmigaOS 4.0!! Use ROM 44.69!!

With 44.71 there is a reset loop
I can not confirm it (CyberStorm PPC), it works for me (AmigaOS 4.0/A4000)
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 21 August 2014, 14:16   #220
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigafreak68k View Post
How Toni would say: "No Log, No Help!"
I see that there are people who help without having to send a Log.
Not necessarily asking Toni.
To know how to rename the Rom BlizzardPPC need a Log?

Vaá, I'll try it myself
vitux is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPC emulation for winuae marauder request.UAE Wishlist 25 04 November 2014 06:13
WinUAE appreciation thread Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 34 26 August 2011 20:29
WinUAE ppc support? blasterreal support.WinUAE 8 29 September 2010 00:51
WinUAE: PPC Amiga Classic future emulation? DaNi support.WinUAE 24 12 January 2008 22:24
PPC on WinUAE ? glue request.UAE Wishlist 4 28 January 2007 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22147 seconds with 12 queries