English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 August 2014, 05:42   #41
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
Sorry, cannot edit the previous post, If I press the button it deletes it
so here's the final version (the previous one played too fast)
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroRacer_AtariST_final.zip (3.5 KB, 87 views)
adrdesign is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 August 2014, 08:37   #42
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
So far the game is fully working and all features of the Atari ST version are present. Except for the music that is.
Wow, that was really fast It will be great to see this one running on our amigas.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 11:29   #43
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
This is not going to happen! Graphics will stay as they are as I do not feel like wasting too much time implementing new graphics and adapting/(re)coding all routines for that!
Please reconsider... There is no good conversion of this game on any system and you one of the only people in the world who have the talent to give it the treatment it deserves.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 11:39   #44
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Please reconsider... There is no good conversion of this game on any system and you one of the only people in the world who have the talent to give it the treatment it deserves.
Hewitson, I don't think you know what you are asking. Atari ST version has several changes in graphics compared to Arcade mode - the colours (16 only on the whole screen), the sizes of the graphics, less animation frames, etc. - because the hardware is much more limited than the arcade. Amiga is better, but if one would want to do what you are asking then one would probably have to recode almost ALL routines in the game to get it done. Adding a simple copper list sky/ground is probably the only thing that would be feasable with this game...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 17:50   #45
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
I tried a SID-inspired version based on the YM mod. I've added some FairlightCMI samples and this is the result. Some feedback appreciated!

PS: If you reconsider changing the main screen, also attached: main title screen ripped from the arcade (32 colors) in two layers: background and logo
Attached Files
File Type: zip 32col_titlescreen_2layers.zip (16.6 KB, 88 views)
File Type: zip EnduroRacer_SID.zip (9.2 KB, 95 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 22:43   #46
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrdesign View Post
I tried a SID-inspired version based on the YM mod. I've added some FairlightCMI samples and this is the result. Some feedback appreciated!

PS: If you reconsider changing the main screen, also attached: main title screen ripped from the arcade (32 colors) in two layers: background and logo
I think this version is just plain brilliant
emuola is offline  
Old 16 August 2014, 02:26   #47
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
I've converted the music for the menu 1:1 from the YM tune in both 2 and 4 channels. Note the noise channel is also emulated using a 512 bytes sample. Hope you like it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroMenuYM.zip (4.3 KB, 71 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 16 August 2014, 05:23   #48
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
And this is the SID-alike try
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroMenuSID.zip (4.3 KB, 55 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 18 August 2014, 02:04   #49
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
There's no bump without reason. I have been playing with that song for the menu. This is work in progress... (if anyone has suggestions they're welcome) I think the solo part might be longer (not much)...

Don't want to flood the thread by myself (don't think it's polite). So I'll wait for some CC or feedback before going on. hope u like
adrdesign is offline  
Old 18 August 2014, 02:08   #50
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
There's no way to edit a previous reply and go to advanced edit. the button is mapped to DELETE the reply. I forgot to push "upload" in the file attaching menu...
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroRacerRemix(RC1).zip (36.9 KB, 62 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 18 August 2014, 12:41   #51
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,751
Where is the bass?! I don`t know the original music and game but I would suggest to make an own mod.
daxb is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 08:11   #52
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Where is the bass?! I don`t know the original music and game but I would suggest to make an own mod.
Thanks for the suggestion, I left that module away, I was kinda lost with the flow... :P

I've ported the Arcade Tune 1:1 to 4ch Protracker converting the chords to arpeggios and the drums to 1 channel. 0 notes harmed

It uses some FairilightCMI4Amiga sounds and Oberheim DMX drums from DRUMS4Amiga. It is about 175k optimized (duplicate patterns removed) due to samples. I could reduce some bytes reworking the samples if you need it, just let me know.

This is my work so far, I think I've done. Hope you like it and happy to read some CCs

F$$K THE OBSOLESCENCE
Attached Files
File Type: zip Enduro_Arcade_(RC1).zip (62.9 KB, 78 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 08:39   #53
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrdesign View Post
This is my work so far, I think I've done. Hope you like it and happy to read some CCs

F$$K THE OBSOLESCENCE
I am really sorry to say this, but that sounds just awful . I hope someone can do proper conversion of the tune like it was done on C64 - those tunes sound perfect.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 10:37   #54
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
I am really sorry to say this, but that sounds just awful . I hope someone can do proper conversion of the tune like it was done on C64 - those tunes sound perfect.
ADR Design is actually the only guy able to convert music from other machines. And this MOD converted from the arcade machine is really faithfull.

We don't need 8 bit music on a 16 bit machine conversion, just my 2 cts !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 10:44   #55
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
ADR Design is actually the only guy able to convert music from other machines.
Wat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
We don't need 8 bit music on a 16 bit machine conversion, just my 2 cts !
YOU(!) might not like the 8-bit music but I and many other people sure do!



Adrdesign: I'll check your tunes later and give feedback, thanks for your work so far!
StingRay is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 11:42   #56
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
I am really sorry to say this, but that sounds just awful
What??? That sounds awesome and accurate!

HOW is the C64 version more accurate? It actually ISN'T! It's totally made up BASED on the original.
Original: [ Show youtube player ]
C64: [ Show youtube player ]

I am sure you have never played the original arcade version and assumed the C64 version is accurate.
Akira is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 11:46   #57
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
What??? That sounds awesome and accurate!

HOW is the C64 version more accurate? It actually ISN'T! It's totally made up BASED on the original.
Original: [ Show youtube player ]
C64: [ Show youtube player ]

I am sure you have never played the original arcade version and assumed the C64 version is accurate.
I just said it sounds awful And yes, the arcade version sounds awful too, while the c64 "conversions" sound perfect. I would much rather have tunes that are pleasing to the ear than "accurate" versions which sound like that.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 11:52   #58
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
First off, "sounds awful" is hardly any valid criticism, it's only a very mean way to slash something based off personal preference.

Second, you said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
I hope someone can do proper conversion of the tune like it was done on C64
The C64 tune is NOT a PROPER CONVERSION. Only now you write "conversion".
Akira is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 12:02   #59
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
I am sorry if I offended anyone... it is just my personal opinion and thats all I can say. It is hard to make a valid criticism on a tune apart from saying that you like it or dislike it. I used to load Enduro Racer on C64 just to listen to the tunes, they are one of my favorites and the arcade/this conversion sounds really bad compared to those, again, IMHO.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 25 August 2014, 14:18   #60
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
ADR Design port of the YM arcade tune on amiga is faithfull and accurate. The c64 music is not, i just check it via the link Akira gave.

EDIT : Oh and this smells like "YM free hating because it doesn't sound like SID" fanboism. The arcade tunes are superior (normal, it's a 16 bits hardware sound audio system the coin-ops had back in the day). Those YM chips have 8 channels, it has nothing to do with the ST/CPC/ORIC/ZX SPECTRUM YM-chip, this allows for way better soundtracks.

Last edited by dlfrsilver; 25 August 2014 at 14:23.
dlfrsilver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metro-Cross (Atari ST port) Asman Amiga scene 42 08 April 2014 11:16
Super Sprint - Atari Port on Amiga 3000 Phantomz support.Games 4 15 February 2014 21:27
Resident Evil port for Atari ST coze project.Amiga Game Factory 37 08 February 2009 15:41
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 07:46
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27126 seconds with 12 queries