English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2014, 08:02   #21
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
For now the plan is to have the game fully working which means I will have to recode all the menu stuff as the original ST game uses GEMDOS routines for it.
Good, cause that menu in ST version is just ugly A normal menu like in C64/ZX version would fit it much better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Yes, the C64 music is awesome indeed but I'll not use SID tunes in the Amiga version as emulating the SID is quite an CPU intensive task. Instead, I will use faithful renditions of the SID tunes in Protracker format.
Oooh yeah. Perfection. Though - C64 version uses only one tune for in-game, while the ST version uses both tunes (which I think is better, since both tunes are great).
tomcat666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 August 2014, 08:40   #22
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 832
Gr8 !
is real coder taking any holidays?

Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 12:39   #23
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
Good, cause that menu in ST version is just ugly A normal menu like in C64/ZX version would fit it much better.
The menu is now working and it will look like the original one, I have "just" coded a complete Cconws replacement routine for it.
StingRay is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 12:41   #24
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
The menu is now working and it will look like the original one, I have "just" coded a complete Cconws replacement routine for it.
StingRay... you are crazy In a good way of course
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 12:55   #25
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
sooo about that copper sky and track....
DDNI is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 13:11   #26
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
sooo about that copper sky and track....
Would probably be piss-easy since they don't even move... they are just static (only road moves, not the horizon) So you would need a fixed copper list for each level ?
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 13:26   #27
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
Would probably be piss-easy since they don't even move... they are just static (only road moves, not the horizon) So you would need a fixed copper list for each level ?
Be cool if it could be added as an Amiga option like Galahad did with F8 on WTSS. Nothing better than porting AND improving on ST games
DDNI is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 17:58   #28
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Be cool if it could be added as an Amiga option like Galahad did with F8 on WTSS. Nothing better than porting AND improving on ST games
Amiga enhancements will be added but only once everything else has been finished, i.e. it's the last thing on the "to do" list.

Currently I am optimising/recoding quite a few parts as there is a lot of "errm? what?" code in the game. One example is this piece of useless code:

Code:
	lea	SCRINC+4,a1
	move.b	d0,-(a1)
	lsr.l	#8,d0
	move.b	d0,-(a1)
	lsr.l	#8,d0
	move.b	d0,-(a1)
	lsr.l	#8,d0
	move.b	d0,-(a1)
Which I have changed to:
Code:
	lea	SCRINC(pc),a1
	move.l	d0,(a1)
And there's a lot more stupid code like that...
StingRay is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 18:02   #29
LieutLaww
Registered User

LieutLaww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Uckfield, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 130
Lol what the hell !
LieutLaww is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 19:10   #30
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
I love this game both arcade or 8bit conversion. If you have any plan for the music/fx, I'd love to contribute somehow... I've ripped the PCM data from the arcade so we have some voices and a crash fx. *in the zone

If anyone dares with the music, you can play the arcade rom directly with HOOT SOUND HARDWARE EMULATOR. It can mute channels and dump to wav if needed.

Good luck and glad to see new ports to our miggies.
adrdesign is offline  
Old 05 August 2014, 19:41   #31
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Arcade FX coupled with C64 SID tunes recreated in MOD would be perfect
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 00:17   #32
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
I have played a little with the ST version of the tune. Same method as WTSS, this is work in progress in MED format
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroRacer_ingame_test.zip (10.0 KB, 62 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 10:16   #33
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I'm very happy to see this game is finally going to make it to the Amiga.

I do like the music on the C64 & Atari conversions, but surely it'd be better to have the music from the arcade game.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 11:06   #34
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
I disagree... Arcade music for Enduro Racer is nothing special and worse than the C64 counterpart which is one of the best SID's ever... IMHO of course
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 13:03   #35
Bastich
Registered User

Bastich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 264
That's looking very good
Bastich is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 13:40   #36
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Code:
    lea    SCRINC+4,a1
    move.b    d0,-(a1)
    lsr.l    #8,d0
    move.b    d0,-(a1)
    lsr.l    #8,d0
    move.b    d0,-(a1)
    lsr.l    #8,d0
    move.b    d0,-(a1)
Which I have changed to:
Code:
    lea    SCRINC(pc),a1
    move.l    d0,(a1)
LOL
But... perhaps SRCINC is not 16-bit aligned?
phx is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 17:42   #37
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
finally i've isolated each sample. raw 8000hz direct from the rom.
Attached Files
File Type: zip endurosamples_raw8000hz.zip (25.1 KB, 63 views)
adrdesign is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 20:55   #38
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Thanks ADR design that's awesome from you, i guess that using the original material is a great idea

If it was possible i would even rip the graphics in order to replace the one painted from scratch by the ST graphist.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 August 2014, 21:30   #39
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
LOL
But... perhaps SRCINC is not 16-bit aligned?
That was the very first thing I checked once I spotted this code! Right after the SCRINC variable a table follows which is accessed using words. Need I say moar? Stupid code is stupid!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
If it was possible i would even rip the graphics in order to replace the one painted from scratch by the ST graphist.
This is not going to happen! Graphics will stay as they are as I do not feel like wasting too much time implementing new graphics and adapting/(re)coding all routines for that!



Thanks to ADR Design for the tunes/samples, I will check them later! Much appreciated!


Current status of the port: I have added a keyboard handler so entering the name in the high-score table works now, added the menu code as already said and started optimising the code. So far the game is fully working and all features of the Atari ST version are present. Except for the music that is.
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 05:12   #40
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
Sorry if seems I don't own a life (i have!)

Today I had some time and spent it retouching the mod. So this is what i got, 1:1 from the YM tune. I must say StingRay goal is to have the SID version for good, so you people feel free to retouch it. I don't have the skills to do the chip emulation sound in protracker, but I think It's not hard starting from this module. Good luck everyone!!

mod info:
35500b with samples
112 positions
31 different patterns
5 samples (1 for noise)
2 channels used

noise channel is also emulated in the module (added to bass channel), check it.

Tracked using Octamed Sound Studio, tested in PT2.3d and PT3.6x with no problems.
Attached Files
File Type: zip EnduroRacer_AtariST_final.zip (3.5 KB, 70 views)

Last edited by adrdesign; 07 August 2014 at 05:38.
adrdesign is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metro-Cross (Atari ST port) Asman Amiga scene 42 08 April 2014 11:16
Super Sprint - Atari Port on Amiga 3000 Phantomz support.Games 4 15 February 2014 21:27
Resident Evil port for Atari ST coze project.Amiga Game Factory 37 08 February 2009 15:41
Atari Legend. Finally an Atari ST database similar to HOL! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 23 04 December 2004 07:46
EBAY Amiga / Atari ST / Atari 2600 stuff Eggsplosion MarketPlace 0 09 October 2004 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30673 seconds with 12 queries