English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2014, 12:07   #141
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
I really don't believe it's a problem with a specific map file. If you look at this [ Show youtube player ] you can see the problem exists.

For this bug to be correct on some version, you would need alternate tile graphics, possibly an alternate tile lookup map, and then the run-length-encoded data would also have to be altered.

It just doesn't seem feasible that another version exists with all those things different. It'd be more likely you'd have a case like Ninja Gaiden 2 where 2 bytes corrupt in one file destroyed the entire tile graphics on a level.

If you wish to check other versions though, the corrupt data is this sequence of bytes: $c6, $c7, $8, $7. If you find a version which doesn't have that sequence, then it's worth splicing the data in and seeing what happens. But I really doubt you'll find another version without that.

Last edited by Codetapper; 15 September 2014 at 12:29.
Codetapper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 September 2014, 00:06   #142
zeropolis79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Gosport, Hampshire
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
Haven't been around much of late, but finally got a chance to give this a go... Really cool stuff Galahad, and deserves great thanks!

If only they had made Great Escape for the ST too....
In theory, could the C64 code be adapted to the Amiga? I'm more familiar with the Spectrum and Amstrad versions but I know it would be next to impossible to adapt the Z80 code to the Amiga..

Anyhow, is there any UK based fan that would transfer WTSS to disc for me please? I would love to play this on my A1200..
zeropolis79 is offline  
Old 23 September 2014, 02:20   #143
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
I really don't believe it's a problem with a specific map file. If you look at this [ Show youtube player ] you can see the problem exists.

For this bug to be correct on some version, you would need alternate tile graphics, possibly an alternate tile lookup map, and then the run-length-encoded data would also have to be altered.

It just doesn't seem feasible that another version exists with all those things different. It'd be more likely you'd have a case like Ninja Gaiden 2 where 2 bytes corrupt in one file destroyed the entire tile graphics on a level.

If you wish to check other versions though, the corrupt data is this sequence of bytes: $c6, $c7, $8, $7. If you find a version which doesn't have that sequence, then it's worth splicing the data in and seeing what happens. But I really doubt you'll find another version without that.
So are all the same bugs present in the ST and Amiga versions the same then?

The reason why i'm still of the mind of a map file problem is simply because of file corruption issues where the collision blocks were fucked until I changed the size and format of the file.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 23 September 2014, 02:22   #144
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeropolis79 View Post
In theory, could the C64 code be adapted to the Amiga? I'm more familiar with the Spectrum and Amstrad versions but I know it would be next to impossible to adapt the Z80 code to the Amiga..

Anyhow, is there any UK based fan that would transfer WTSS to disc for me please? I would love to play this on my A1200..
Not impossible to do either Z80 or 6502, problem is thats an entire recode and having to redo all the graphics.

Great Escape probably emulates at a decent enough speed on a decent Speccy emulator on A1200, so that kinda makes it redundant.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 11:19   #145
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,801
Thanks very much for this, Galahad. I loved this game, pure magic how you did this. Ok, science...but you dig.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 12:34   #146
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
I tried it on my A500 without any success, guru meditation after i insert the disk :/.
I tried the posted version on the first page of this thread, did i choose the good one ?
Galahad i can take you a screenshot of what happens when i insert the disk .
 
Old 10 November 2014, 20:00   #147
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vollldo View Post
I tried it on my A500 without any success, guru meditation after i insert the disk :/.
I tried the posted version on the first page of this thread, did i choose the good one ?
Galahad i can take you a screenshot of what happens when i insert the disk .
It was written specifically to be used on A500 and has been tested on A500.

What are your machine specs?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 06:57   #148
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
In my a600 3.1, after the scoopex intro it gave me a "4096 color palette screen" even without my apollo620 (020 882 25mhz). any advice about?
adrdesign is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 18:51   #149
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,222
Wow... great work Galahad! Not personally tested this version, but it's a great game!

Just found a video of it on YouTube for those interested in viewing it. Kudos to the smooth gameplay that appears apparent from the video:

[ Show youtube player ]
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 20:38   #150
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrdesign View Post
In my a600 3.1, after the scoopex intro it gave me a "4096 color palette screen" even without my apollo620 (020 882 25mhz). any advice about?
disk error
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 22:26   #151
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
disk error
Short and clear: Thanks!
adrdesign is offline  
Old 25 March 2015, 22:35   #152
Vollldo
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
What are your machine specs?
I will launch sysinfos and will take you a picture .
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where Time Stood Still - Video or wait? Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 83 31 July 2014 12:42
Where Time Stood Still nearly done - Musician(s) needed Galahad/FLT News 107 23 June 2014 20:49
LAG meeting 38 will be held on Saturday the 5th of July 2014. rockape News 6 01 June 2014 15:05
TOSEC Release (2014-02-28) Cassiel project.TOSEC (amiga only) 13 06 April 2014 22:20
Where Time Stood Still Advert Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 23 27 January 2014 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.45232 seconds with 12 queries