English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2014, 21:40   #81
aszu
Registered User

aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 96
great job! thanks a lot!
aszu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 July 2014, 21:52   #82
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Looking good on my Pandora

Nice, thanks to all involved..

stainy is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 22:18   #83
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 628
Well done, big thanks to all involved. Very nice crack intro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grazey View Post
I wonder if there are any other ST games left worth porting.
This is the question. I spent today few hours to find something interesting exclusive game. Interesting for me of course, mean shmup or platform game. And nothing. Some small Atari ST gem would be perfect.
Asman is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 22:34   #84
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 832
@Galahad/FLT I believed in you ! Well done. Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 22:46   #85
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
@Galahad/FLT I believed in you ! Well done. Kamelito
haha, eventually
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 23:43   #86
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 1,029
Congrats You have done awesome thing
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 00:51   #87
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I don't know if its just me but the direction controls seem wrong. I push right on my joypad and was expecting the character to walk to the bottom right corner but instead he walks to the top right corner. Similarly pushing down makes him walk to the bottom right corner instead of the bottom left. The controls in this seem very odd and unintuitive to me. Maybe thats just me though.
Me,too. But maybe it means:


Today I confirmed "The Great Esape"(ZX Spectrum version), a previous adventure game by Denton.
It was the same control so we have to get used to this control.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asman View Post
This is the question. I spent today few hours to find something interesting exclusive game. Interesting for me of course, mean shmup or platform game. And nothing. Some small Atari ST gem would be perfect.
How do you think "Verminator" ? I think it is one of worthy platform games as ST exclusive.
And original disk won't boot using ST emulator for 68k-020 Amigas...

Last edited by nittamituaki; 26 December 2015 at 03:33. Reason: changed URL of image.
nittamituaki is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 01:05   #88
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Waiting for it to be WHDLoadified before I play it on my 060

Looks amazing! Great work
Amicol is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 01:13   #89
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
Waiting for it to be WHDLoadified before I play it on my 060

Looks amazing! Great work
Should work on all Amigas, irrespective of processor
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 05:21   #90
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
You didn't rewrite the all code, then it's normal you lost some speed, it's a choice and you did the job on your free time because you love the amiga without asking for money, nothing to laugh about.
every guys involved can be proud of them, thank you guys.
If atari fan boys laugh, it's always by jealousy... they should try to port kidchaos on atari st and we will see who will laugh.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
If they knew the work required to get it working, I can conceive of NO reason why anyone would 'laugh' at the minimum system specs.

After all, it was because of the minimum system specs for the Spectrum version that meant it couldn't be converted to the C64

And in comparison to the ST version, on the A500 its only slightly slower, but still playable. Pressing fire button and direction makes the character run and the game moves quicker as well.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 13:24   #91
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Thanks Galahad.. Oids? Maybe next?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 13:51   #92
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Thanks Galahad.. Oids? Maybe next?
Already done by Meynef

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=72992
alexh is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 15:51   #93
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
WHDLoad version and pre-installed zip archive are now in the zone. Wepl is away on holiday so it won't appear on the site until he's back, unless one of his minions adds it

As for the north facing controls etc, it could easily be switched but then the cursor control in the item select screen would then be all crazy! Dentons designed it that way, probably going to have to get used to it!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 16:01   #94
Zandig
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 212
Brilliant!
Amazing to see this happen.
Thank you to all involved
Zandig is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 16:25   #95
clebin
Registered User
clebin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 256
Looks great, Galahad - will try this as soon as my Mist machine arrives.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nittamituaki View Post
Today I confirmed "The Great Esape"(ZX Spectrum version), a previous adventure game by Denton.
It was the same control so we have to get used to this control.
Never understood why they did this. On the Spectrum I used to redefine the keys so that the character controlled properly, though that made other things awkward. This would be a great option to add to the port, since Denton Designs got that wrong in both games IMO.

As an aside, the Great Escape is a stone cold classic and I'd love to see a 16-bit port. WTSS gives a pretty good template of what an Amiga version might have looked like...

Chris
clebin is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 17:11   #96
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,019
Congratulations! Good job. A high quality release, as always. Thanks for your hard work.

I think it's quite playable on A500/68000 and it flies on Minimig in turbo mode. I just wondered why my A3000/060 seems slower. Also Photon's very nice intro alternates between two (slow) frame rates there, while a 500 has no problem.
phx is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 17:56   #97
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
Thinking of making a map for this one - in a similar vein to this one that I did for WoS:

ftp://ftp.worldofspectrum.org/pub/si...oodStill_4.png

Any interest in this?

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 18:16   #98
Phantomz
Registered User
Phantomz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Should work on all Amigas, irrespective of processor
It might just be my Blizzard 1260 being fussy, but it crashes at the " A TOS Brothers Production " screen for me, the power light flashes and it resets.

The game runs fine from floppy disk if I hold down 2 to turn off the 060.

Anyway, I've got the WHDLoad version to play with now.

Just thought I'd mention it, like I said, might just be my 060 being fussy or something.
Phantomz is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 20:11   #99
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Thinking of making a map for this one - in a similar vein to this one that I did for WoS:

ftp://ftp.worldofspectrum.org/pub/si...oodStill_4.png

Any interest in this?

D.
I've done most of the map already with Maptapper and some ASM, but it wasn't easy. The game uses 12 different areas for the tiles, so you scroll into a region and suddenly the tileset appears to change due to the map changing. The second map that uses the tiles itself is run-length-encoded so it's hard to extract from memory. Also the tiles near the edges of each of the 12 sections are not identical.

I can send you what I have if you wish to add extras to it such as the WOS map, as the one I have ripped is just the land. It does show the 2 tiles which appear to be incorrect graphics near the right side of the map.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 22:15   #100
subone
Registered User
subone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 89
Thanks for that release

it doesn't work on A500 or A1200 with hfe format. (Guru Error after title screen)
Does anybody try with HxC ?
subone is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where Time Stood Still - Video or wait? Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 83 31 July 2014 12:42
Where Time Stood Still nearly done - Musician(s) needed Galahad/FLT News 107 23 June 2014 20:49
LAG meeting 38 will be held on Saturday the 5th of July 2014. rockape News 6 01 June 2014 15:05
TOSEC Release (2014-02-28) Cassiel project.TOSEC (amiga only) 13 06 April 2014 22:20
Where Time Stood Still Advert Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 23 27 January 2014 22:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23583 seconds with 12 queries