English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2002, 22:12   #1
Bobbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Voyage / Razor 1911 won't work with any emu

I downloaded the demo from Razor's homepage and then tried it with Fellow and the latest UAE. UAE just keeps on reseting, sometimes giving me the Guru, depending on the memory settings it seems. But I couldn't find any config it would work with. Fellow won't even boot the disc (I tried State Of The Art, worked fine). Any suggestions?
Bobbin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 November 2002, 10:24   #2
Bobbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Windows versions both, sorry for not writing it before. Also used the latest versions - WinUAE 0.8.22R3, WinFellow alpha 0.4.3 build 1 snapshot 2001-11-15.
Bobbin is offline  
Old 02 December 2002, 23:04   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,527
Try this one!

aga_voy.lha

Search for the above string on Aminet and you will find my AGA fix version that should work.

The disk version has some nasty encryption in the bootblock that might stop it working in emulators

Its not a disk image by the way, you will need to set up a hard file partition
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 19:55   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,668
Thanks for bug report.
Bug was fixed, Voyage will work in next WinUAE release.

Bootblock decryption code will require cycle-exact mode but it can be switched off after demo starts.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 December 2002, 20:01   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,527
..

Being one of the best Amiga demos ever, its a shame thats all that was stopping it for so long!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 07 January 2003, 15:18   #6
malino
 
Posts: n/a
yeah... Razor 1911 rocks !
 
Old 21 January 2003, 17:08   #7
Bobbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Haven't looked in this thread for a while. Thanks for the fix Toni!
Bobbin is offline  
Old 20 January 2004, 11:54   #8
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 633
there is a WHDLoad install which may run better...
Wepl is offline  
Old 02 February 2004, 10:27   #9
Melroc
Junior Member
Melroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: (void)
Age: 41
Posts: 91
Send a message via ICQ to Melroc
:eek
i can't believe, toni was not aware of this bug.
the voyage-crash was not such a secret, or maybe it was?
Melroc is offline  
Old 02 February 2004, 10:34   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,668
It is known problem, unfortunately it wasn't that easy to fix..

Proper fix will need 100% exact CPU, CIA and bus timing emulation and that information is not very well documented.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 February 2004, 10:36   #11
Melroc
Junior Member
Melroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: (void)
Age: 41
Posts: 91
Send a message via ICQ to Melroc
ah... ok.
again thx for this fix
Melroc is offline  
Old 17 April 2006, 02:42   #12
Ray Norrish
Registered User
Ray Norrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cheshire, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 300
Send a message via ICQ to Ray Norrish
so, is it fixed yet? I haven't checked, but I managed to get it to work with various tweeks part way through.. but not 100%
Ray Norrish is offline  
Old 27 June 2006, 23:01   #13
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Norrish
so, is it fixed yet? I haven't checked, but I managed to get it to work with various tweeks part way through.. but not 100%
I watched Voyage a few weeks ago under WinUAE 1.2 and I don't remember having any problem.
z00mba is offline  
Old 27 June 2006, 23:12   #14
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,661
geez - I had trouble getting that demo to work years ago on my A1200 (or was it A500?), can't remember now... I assumed I just had a dodgy disk.

Anyhow... can someone upload Voyage / Razor 1911 to The Zone! again so I finally view it from beginning to end after waiting all those years? Please?
quahappy is offline  
Old 27 June 2006, 23:28   #15
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Grab it from there:
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=3521

First link is the original version in ADF; second one is the AGA fixed executable by Galahad.
z00mba is offline  
Old 28 June 2006, 00:30   #16
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,661
Thanks for the links zOOmba!

So this is the demo that had the excellent running man in a wired-framed box. Brill! Fantastic mods too.

There has been many a demo I've had from various PD sources over the years, and I can never remember half the names of 'em. One of them had a very fast techno mod playing while three (I think) large cogs/gears were revolving. Another is a type of picture slide show with graphics in the style of caricature. One day I'll remember them!
quahappy is offline  
Old 29 June 2006, 19:37   #17
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Someone who regularly visits pouet.net PLEASE hand the guys over a decent screenshot ... this one is soooo crappy. I think that's because it never ran on any emulator years ago.
andreas is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 14:42   #18
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
lol... I'm wondering how many peoples did try to call this board since that screenshot is online ;P
z00mba is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 16:39   #19
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
"That" screenshot looks to me like an original (real) Amiga screen copy.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pegasus won't work. Any of them. apachacha support.WinUAE 13 09 November 2012 22:05
Razor 1911 Razor/Cartel/Abnormal Partypack 1988 menace request.Demos 15 07 November 2009 01:58
Pegasus won't work Tim Janssen support.WinUAE 7 13 May 2004 09:39
miami won`t work jambamiga support.WinUAE 4 01 November 2002 03:53
HD emulation won't work Grimlock126 support.WinUAE 7 06 July 2001 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20746 seconds with 12 queries