English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2014, 02:29   #1
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 39
bootable drive?

Hi,

I am trying to create a single HDD from data from 3 others on WinUAE.
I am doing this by partitioning and formatting the larger drive, into WORK and SYSTEM, like the originals, then drive by drive - copying the data across.

I cant get the single drive to boot though!

This shows an original drive attached to a booting WB, with the `work` and `system` shown. This boots fine.
Click image for larger version

Name:	good.png
Views:	87
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	40560

This shows what I end up with - disc icons instead of system icons.
Why is this ? as this drive does not boot properly - it just starts a shell, where all commands are unknown.
Click image for larger version

Name:	no good.png
Views:	77
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	40559


Another problem I have in Winuae, is when I`m copying the data across, sometimes - often - the HD activity that flashes red, stops flashing, and the system is crashed.
I have to restart WinUAE and then continue the copy where I left off.

Any ideas?

Simon
simon_m74 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 July 2014, 03:15   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_m74 View Post
Another problem I have in Winuae, is when I`m copying the data across, sometimes - often - the HD activity that flashes red, stops flashing, and the system is crashed.
I have to restart WinUAE and then continue the copy where I left off.
Do you work directly from the card or from an image of it? Unstable card reader/USB connection? Every time it crashes it will likely have corrupted the file system which should be fixed before continuing.

In my experience, FFS does not handle crashes well and then if your source partition is using FFS with errors, it could easily crash the system when you are trying to copy files from it.
demolition is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 03:30   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
I have a similar issue with the COPY shell command on WinUAE booted without startup-sequence and PFS3AIO in RDB. But for me the AmigaOS stops responding but it not GURUs.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 19 July 2014 at 06:31.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 08:45   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
I am doing this by partitioning and formatting the larger drive, into WORK and SYSTEM, like the originals, then drive by drive - copying the data across.
winuaelog.txt needed (Boot priority? Drives with same names?)

Recursive Copy requires lots of stack or it will crash sooner or later.

"Stack 100000" before copy should help.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 10:14   #5
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Do you work directly from the card or from an image of it? Unstable card reader/USB connection? Every time it crashes it will likely have corrupted the file system which should be fixed before continuing.

In my experience, FFS does not handle crashes well and then if your source partition is using FFS with errors, it could easily crash the system when you are trying to copy files from it.
I am copying the original data from old original scsi HDD (50Mb and 100mb drives) from an A3000, to a `working` drawer on my workbench drive that sits on my PC.
Once all data was copied to the working folder, I attach the larger single drive - also original scsi (1GB)

I tried to format the drive with FFS and without. same problem.

My biggest issue is to get the drive to boot - what am I missing ?
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 10:18   #6
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuaelog.txt needed (Boot priority? Drives with same names?)

Recursive Copy requires lots of stack or it will crash sooner or later.

"Stack 100000" before copy should help.
I cant find the txt file?

Also, I`m as my part of memory that stores `how to use workbench` is almost lost, I`m just doing a very basic copy, of opening two windows, and dragging icons from one to another - one at a time!
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 19 July 2014, 10:58   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_m74 View Post
I`m just doing a very basic copy, of opening two windows, and dragging icons from one to another - one at a time!
You don't see all icons if you don't select "window -> show -> all files" from the menu. And even then drag and drop is not a 1:1 copy. Workbench always changes icon positions and such when moving icons.

Missing files cause the empty boot window.

The icon you'll never see in Workbench is disk.info. That's the file which holds the drive icon. You have to copy this from a Shell.

You can copy all files from the shell. Select "execute command" from the menu and enter newshell.

Then enter

Code:
copy dh0: to dh1: all clone
Replace dh0 and dh1 by the names of your partitions. That's a real 1:1 copy.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench 1.3 Hard Drive Bootable garak0410 support.WinUAE 7 31 March 2010 16:08
Bootable disk error xaero1 support.WinUAE 2 19 December 2008 11:50
Bootable Cygnus Ed MajicMushroom request.Apps 2 20 November 2005 14:52
Bootable cd32 disc lpopman Coders. General 3 22 December 2004 13:46
how to make bootable HD on kickstart 2.04 bigly support.WinUAE 4 28 October 2002 13:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16075 seconds with 12 queries