English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 July 2014, 11:02   #1
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,321
Question Amiga Mouse Movement over VNC

Whilst away from my main machine I tried to configure my Amiga inside WinUAE over VNC but it seems this creates major problems with the mouse. Instead of it moving smoothly like usual, it seems to be incredibly low resolution, as if the mouse itself is moving within a 20x20 point grid on the Amiga, making it impossible to move it over certain buttons as it simply jumps over them.

Toni has responded to previous issues like this but the options he recommends enabling/disabling don't seem to exist anymore. Is there any way of using WinUAE over VNC currently?
Enverex is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
It is now called "Install virtual mouse driver" in gameports panel.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:10   #3
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,321
Ah, the Amiga has to be stopped to enable that, that's why I couldn't turn it on before.

Anyway, with that enabled the mouse no-longer moves at all...
Enverex is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:15   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
Try switching mouse type ("windows mouse" vs something else).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:25   #5
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,321
It doesn't list anything VNC related there, only the HID mouse (the one actually connected to the machine), my gamepad and then virtual mouse devices like X-Arcade, etc.
Enverex is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:42   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
But mouse named "Windows mouse" should be always listed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:44   #7
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,321
It is, that's what it was set to by default and what I normally use.
Enverex is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:48   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
Does mouse still work without VNC? (with mouse driver checked) Does it still work in early boot menu?

What WinUAE version? (Some versions had some problems with special mouse options)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 11:55   #9
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,321
Mouse works fine normally but I've never tried using "Install Mouse Driver" whilst physically on that PC. I'm not there right now so I can't confirm whether it works locally with that ticked.

WinUAE is version 2.8.1.
Enverex is offline  
Old 15 March 2015, 16:20   #10
hayesmaker
 
Posts: n/a
i have the same problem, windows mouse is the selected device in Game ports. Install virtual mouse driver is greyed out.
 
Old 15 March 2015, 19:28   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayesmaker View Post
i have the same problem, windows mouse is the selected device in Game ports. Install virtual mouse driver is greyed out.
It is only greyed out if emulation is already running.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mouse movement too fast and "choppy" kwah support.WinUAE 2 14 January 2010 11:41
Amiga keys from Mac VNC client nOw2 support.WinUAE 0 10 January 2010 16:34
Mouse no horizontal movement - a1200 TomVS support.Hardware 8 13 November 2009 08:57
APC&TCP / Amiga Future: Movement To New Server Finished AndreasM News 0 29 September 2006 18:26
Jerky mouse movement andreas support.WinUAE 3 02 June 2002 20:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14998 seconds with 11 queries