English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2014, 18:29   #141
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It does not! There is reason why it is mentioned in changelogs. It may appear to work but map rom memory is still in system free list and sooner or later whole system crashes.. B2060 memory mapping is complex and I am not sure how it works.
All right then...

When "MapROM" were checked in rom option the B2060 in SysInfo showed memory reduced for last 512k so I hoped maybe MapROM is working, but unfortunately it only appeared to work.
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 July 2014, 18:30   #142
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
I have new/old problem; i have crash of winuae with use Rtg if use at Warp Engine A4000 configuration with or without Jitter; perhaps is same problem with "z3 jit direct compatibile....".

winuae_2.8.2_b7_2014.07.30_18.24.17.dmp
Zilog is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 21:59   #143
Arling
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

About PPC emulation. It is now possible, at least technically, all other pieces are now done (at least partially). QEMU has license compatible and apparently very good PPC CPU emulator, including MMU and dynamic translation and it is proven to boot at least Linux.

Only need someone who knows QEMU inside out and can create standalone PPC emulator module that is black box that only needs few functions: read physical address, write physical address, reset PPC, set interrupt level, set CPU parameters.
Sounds Great . Here it would also be Fantastic / Great if The PPC CPU will get it's own threat too.
 
Old 31 July 2014, 13:03   #144
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arling View Post
Sounds Great . Here it would also be Fantastic / Great if The PPC CPU will get it's own threat too.
(PPC emulation may be a threat to someone but I guess we are talking about threads )

It really depends, the more there is PPC CPU IO accesses (IO accesses that require recalculation of emulator state variables, like access to CIA timers, most custom chipset registers, etc..), the slower it will be due to required cross-thread syncronization (You don't want both threads to calculate state variables at the same time..). Only pure RAM accesses can be unsynchronized and IO accesses that don't cause side-effects (like reading mouse button state)

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
All right then...
When "MapROM" were checked in rom option the B2060 in SysInfo showed memory reduced for last 512k so I hoped maybe MapROM is working, but unfortunately it only appeared to work.
At least rom code does not detect map rom correctly and automatically do the rom copy to fast ram even if "jumper" is set. Perhaps it still allocates the memory (at least in some situations) but it isn't really doing anything else.

Anyone have Blizzard 2060 and can do some quick tests?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
I have new/old problem; i have crash of winuae with use Rtg if use at Warp Engine A4000 configuration with or without Jitter; perhaps is same problem with "z3 jit direct compatibile....".
Yes, same problem. Z3 autoconfig + RTG board is annoying to handle with current code, probably needs better design first..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 July 2014, 15:40   #145
Arling
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

(PPC emulation may be a threat to someone but I guess we are talking about threads )
He he Toni .

Yes I know: I made a Spelling-error.
 
Old 31 July 2014, 19:00   #146
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Hey Toni, just wanted to say thanks for all the work you've done. Also, I'm throwing windows on one of my laptops now simply to use WinUAE.
esc is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 20:33   #147
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2820b8.zip

Beta 8:

- When loading old config which has both cycle-exact and fastest possible enabled: disable fastest possible. Previously this combination was invalid but some for some reason old configs can have both set.
- One second boot delay was always active, even when restoring statefile..
- "Fastest possible" with cycle-exact now works as designed, removes all CPU internal processing cycles, only affects 68000, 68020 and 68030 models. (68040+ and 68030 MMU is always internally immediate). This should be better option (uses less CPU time) than using MHz adjustment if you want fast CPU in cycle-exact mode.
- Immediate blitter is now selectable in cycle-exact modes.
- Some more Z3 autoconfig mapping tweaks. (Warp Engine..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 July 2014, 21:29   #148
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Beta 8:

- Some more Z3 autoconfig mapping tweaks. (Warp Engine..)
Not again. Crash also beta 8 version.

winuae_2.8.2_b8_2014.07.31_21.27.45.dmp
Zilog is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 21:32   #149
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Not again. Crash also beta 8 version.

Attachment 40751
It is not ever going to work in all situations. Don't do it, it is not really worth the trouble, this is very special situation. (also, dump is always useless in this situation but config may help)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 July 2014, 21:38   #150
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by toni wilen View Post
it is not ever going to work in all situations. Don't do it, it is not really worth the trouble, this is very special situation. (also, dump is always useless in this situation but config may help)
test.uae
Zilog is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 21:38   #151
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Hi there Toni. I am testing latest winuae_2820b8.zip and is it a bug that causes huge speedup (QS A1200+4MB fast) or is it just me? When opening drawers in WB (HD) they are opening almost on the fly and i have 1816MHz vs 14.2 (2820b7) in WhichAmiga app... PS. Great that we have Immediate Blitter on CE!

Last edited by Snake79; 31 July 2014 at 21:49.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 22:08   #152
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake79 View Post
Hi there Toni. I am testing latest winuae_2820b8.zip and is it a bug that causes huge speedup (QS A1200+4MB fast) or is it just me? When opening drawers in WB (HD) they are opening almost on the fly and i have 1816MHz vs 14.2 (2820b7) in WhichAmiga app... PS. Great that we have Immediate Blitter on CE!
Hmm.. This can't be b8 "feature". What Quickstart speed/compatibility mode? Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip work the same?

EDIT: Warp Engine crash also fixed in winuae.zip. (Stupid bug)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 31 July 2014 at 22:17.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 July 2014, 22:19   #153
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Hmm.. This can't be b8 "feature". What Quickstart speed/compatibility mode? Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip work the same?

EDIT: Warp Engine crash also fixed in winuae.zip. (Stupid bug)
The "patched" version is working fine!
PS. Flink AGA CD32 (WHDLoad) works without graphical glitches on A1200 020 14.2MHz 8MB fast too! Earlier i had to use 040 8x... Thanks to Immediate Blitter with CE -> Thanks to You!

Last edited by Snake79; 31 July 2014 at 22:32.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 31 July 2014, 22:27   #154
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Hmm.. This can't be b8 "feature". What Quickstart speed/compatibility mode? Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip work the same?

EDIT: Warp Engine crash also fixed in winuae.zip. (Stupid bug)
Fixed, it Working!
Thanks Tony!
Zilog is offline  
Old 01 August 2014, 03:01   #155
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Getting strange behavior with the latest beta.
I ran Blood Money WHD (which now works well). When I quit the game I noticed it didn't switch from CE to JIT/fastest poss. properly. It was still in CE mode. It should switch because I have all the proper tooltypes set.

Then I run sysinfo in CE mode to check the CE exact speed of 030, and it reported about 8mhz instead of usual 24. So I manually switched back to JIT & fastest possible, then to CE without fastest poss again. Running the speed test this time froze sysinfo.

So after restarting winuae and going through the same process, this time it did switch back JIT/fastest possible correctly apon exit of blood money. However now running the sysinfo speed test with CE enabled on 020 or 030 results in a freeze every time.

I've attach logs doing exactly described as above.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (17.4 KB, 56 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (22.1 KB, 61 views)
ED-209 is offline  
Old 01 August 2014, 08:03   #156
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Getting strange behavior with the latest beta.
I ran Blood Money WHD (which now works well). When I quit the game I noticed it didn't switch from CE to JIT/fastest poss. properly. It was still in CE mode. It should switch because I have all the proper tooltypes set.
Include your whdload.prefs uae-configuration commands.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 August 2014, 09:52   #157
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
executestartup=uae-configuration cpu_speed real cachesize 0 cycle_exact true
executecleanup=uae-configuration cpu_speed max cachesize 8192 cycle_exact false
ED-209 is offline  
Old 01 August 2014, 11:21   #158
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Tiny PPC status report. I ripped PPC CPU core from PearPC (non-JIT version only at the moment). It probably was 1000x easier task than attempting to rip it from QEMU but I am not sure if core is good enough for this purpose, PearPC project appears to be dead.

We'll see in next few days..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 August 2014, 13:07   #159
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Tony, I tried creating a new config from scratch and still same problem.
Switching modes appear to be working, but enable CE and the sysinfo speed test will either crash - or hang for a long time (even uae on screen display freezes), then produce strange cpu frequency result of 16.2..
ED-209 is offline  
Old 01 August 2014, 13:27   #160
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Tony, I tried creating a new config from scratch and still same problem.
Switching modes appear to be working, but enable CE and the sysinfo speed test will either crash - or hang for a long time (even uae on screen display freezes), then produce strange cpu frequency result of 16.2..
winuae_2820b8: QS A1200 8MB fast + HD config, WB3.0 -> SysInfo is working (without freezes or hangs) with CE = 15.20MHz and without it = 11.80MHz, results as always... Better use WhichAmiga app (CE = 14.2MHz).
Snake79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24877 seconds with 12 queries