English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 July 2014, 18:03   #101
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by pucci View Post
why no CyberStorm MK3, CyberStorm PPC, Blizzard PPC configuration in rommgr.cpp?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It can't work (flash based).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 3:
- Added Picasso IV flash rom v7.4 image to rom scanner. It does not need to be called picasso_iv_flash.rom anymore.
Well, didnt Picasso IV is also flash based but its anyway in rom scanner ?!

And also exists "Picasso IV flash update v7.1" and "Picasso IV flash update v7.4" files on following link: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/picasso4

Wonder does the flashing should work for Picasso IV card also? (as it works for BlizzardPPC and CSIII/PPC accelerators)
amilo3438 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 July 2014, 18:24   #102
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Well, didnt Picasso IV is also flash based but its anyway in rom scanner ?!

And also exists "Picasso IV flash update v7.1" and "Picasso IV flash update v7.4" files on following link: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/picasso4

Wonder does the flashing should work for Picasso IV card also? (as it works for BlizzardPPC and CSIII/PPC accelerators)
It is not same thing. Picasso does not change flash rom (by saving settings) and official flash file is available for download, no board unique information included.

Accelerator boards save [boot menu] config to flash (did you read what I said in change log?) and there is no official (can't be) flash file because it also contains serial number and hardware spec flags (scsi/no scsi, PPC speed rating etc..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 July 2014, 18:34   #103
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Beta 5:

Big accelerator board emulation update:

Added CyberStorm MK3, CyberStorm PPC and Blizzard PPC. ! There is no PPC CPU ! Technically it emulates board with PPC CPU removed. (Which surprisingly does not seem to cause any problems, at least under emulation, real hardware may get confused if PPC chip is removed). SCSI fully supported, boot menu works, boot menu options can be modified and saved to flash, flash updater works. Map rom should work, including BlizKick.
As you wrote above: quote "flash updater works" ... so I only wonder does it works for Picasso IV card too, thats all.

EDIT2: Unfortunately flash updater fails but gives very funny error 52! (see on pic. below)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
and there is no official (can't be) flash file because it also contains serial number and hardware spec flags (scsi/no scsi, PPC speed rating etc..)
On below link it said "Last official release 44.67 30.03.1999". (6th file from bottom) -> http://phase5.a1k.org/index.php?driverslibraries

EDIT: In addition: Blizzard PPC cards can be identified by its serial number -> http://powerup.amigaworld.de/index.php?lang=en&page=31
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BlizzardPPC_FlashUpdate.png
Views:	448
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	40693  

Last edited by amilo3438; 27 July 2014 at 21:00.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 16:23   #104
kkgarbod
The Human/Gray Hybrid

kkgarbod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Posts: 294
A boring questioon :

But is it possible to disable the beta warningV
kkgarbod is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 18:21   #105
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
As you wrote above: quote "flash updater works" ... so I only wonder does it works for Picasso IV card too, thats all.
It does not. Every board has different flash protection and memory mapping. No plans to implement it, not that important.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkgarbod View Post
A boring questioon :

But is it possible to disable the beta warningV
Yes but if anyone replices how to do it in public: it gets changed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 July 2014, 18:54   #106
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2820b6.zip

Beta 6:

EDIT: DO NOT USE NCR53C94/FAS216 SCSI emulation. Writes are broken! (Blizzard 2060, SCSI Kit)

(See below for new PPC information)

- Added NCR53C94/FAS216 SCSI chip emulation (from QEMU)
- Added Blizzard1230IV/Blizzard1260 + Blizzard SCSI Kit IV emulation. SCSI Kit v8.5 ROM added to rom scanner.
- Added CyberStorm MK1 and CyberStorm MK2 emulation, map rom and SCSI included.
- Blizzard 2060 (map rom not emulated) and Warp Engine works now.
- CyberStorm PPC and Blizzard PPC 0xFFF00000 mapping improved, now switches correctly between KS map rom and PPC boot code locations. BPPC now correctly attempts to start flash built-in PPC support code during boot and hangs because PPC won't respond.
- Added warning message when BlizzardPPC or CyberStormPPC PPC CPU gets booted.
- Remap UAE Boot ROM (if needed) to secondary backup location if Blizzard PPC is enabled, if MMU emulation is enabled BPPC will remap normal boot ROM backup location causing boot hang.
- Added CyberStorm MK2 flash rom chip emulation, map rom and disable key support (=HALT4).
- Added CyberStorm MK2 full 128k rom image support (64k of autoconfig rom and 64k of diag rom)
- Flash chip emulation compatibility improved, fixed CSMK2 flasher infinite loop.
- Accelerator memory option now automatically changes CPU board memory if accelerator uses same memory type.
- Added keyboard to help Phase5 boot rom key detection, it still wasn't realiable enough with some boards.
- Added one second boot delay option to misc panel, allows easy access to boot menus without need to slow CPU emulation speed.
- Added 'Te' command to debugger, shows expansion autoconfig board information.
- CPU slot memory region was accidentally removed from mman list, causing random crashes in some JIT configurations.
- 68040+ more compatible / "cycle-exact" mode cache flush instructions didn't do anything.

About PPC emulation. It is now possible, at least technically, all other pieces are now done (at least partially). QEMU has license compatible and apparently very good PPC CPU emulator, including MMU and dynamic translation and it is proven to boot at least Linux.

Only need someone who knows QEMU inside out and can create standalone PPC emulator module that is black box that only needs few functions: read physical address, write physical address, reset PPC, set interrupt level, set CPU parameters. There appears to be some kind of CPU API/class but because it is unstable, internal only API, there is no documentation.

Note that I still don't care what happens will happens in PPC side. If/when Blizzard PPC/CyberStorm PPC can run some small PPC programs = it is done.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 29 July 2014 at 16:13.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 July 2014, 21:24   #107
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Hmm, for some reason in this beta6 it doesnt save changes to flash f.e. boot menu noMapROM/MapROM (BPPC, CSMK3/CSPPC) ?! (it worked fine in last test beta5)

EDIT: If f.e. in beta6 CSMK3 enter into boot menu, change to MapROM, use, save ... quit WinUAE, load again, enter into boot menu -> no changes ?!
But also if now try with last beta5 test WinUAE enter into CSMK3 boot menu and try to save it - it doesnt work ?! (seems flash was corrupted from beta 6)
If use now new renamed one CSMK3 flash, it works/saves again fine in last test beta 5.

Last edited by amilo3438; 28 July 2014 at 21:36.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 22:04   #108
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,578
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

About PPC emulation. It is now possible, at least technically, all other pieces are now done (at least partially). QEMU has license compatible and apparently very good PPC CPU emulator, including MMU and dynamic translation and it is proven to boot at least Linux.

Only need someone who knows QEMU inside out and can create standalone PPC emulator module that is black box that only needs few functions: read physical address, write physical address, reset PPC, set interrupt level, set CPU parameters. There appears to be some kind of CPU API/class but because it is unstable, internal only API, there is no documentation.

Note that I still don't care what happens will happens in PPC side. If/when Blizzard PPC/CyberStorm PPC can run some small PPC programs = it is done.
You are on fire, no doubt

I hope you can also emulate the BVision someday.

Last edited by Retrofan; 28 July 2014 at 22:56.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 22:31   #109
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Hi Tony,
When active a acceleration board CMK3 crach winue.
Progress of Crach (If use rtg card uae zIII)...
I have test with or not Jitter
I have update rtg.library from Amiga Programs Directory
I have use picasso 2.0 driver (with picasso 2.1c always crash)

If use this libray crach winuae
http://phase5.a1k.org/index.php?driverslibraries
68040old.library 18.01.1993
68040new.library 19.10.1999
68040.library 19.10.1999
68060.library 19.10.1999
winuae_2.8.2_b6_2014.07.28_21.01.35.dmp


If user this Library
http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/Mu680x0Libs of aminet not crush, but appaer this screen:
Click image for larger version

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	285
Size:	248.5 KB
ID:	40704


Conf: test_mk3.uae

Last edited by Zilog; 29 July 2014 at 01:59. Reason: Fixed quote.
Zilog is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 02:17   #110
SaphirJD
Registered User
SaphirJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 66
Something seems to be wrong with Cycle exact mode in the newest Beta 6. Using Quickstart Config mode A4000 with 68030 CPU and cycle exact. Tested with the TBL demo Glow - Sound is distorted, with the same settings under Beta 5 it works as it should.
SaphirJD is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 07:15   #111
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
@Tony PPC emulation, CD32 FMV.. never say never huh
Love your work, huge respect

On a side note, I wasn't going to mention but that on-the-fly switching bug causing emulation crash is still present.. I had it happen 3 times yesterday launching Stardust WHD using beta 5.

It is happening rarely in all 2.8.2 betas, I don't recall it happening in 2.8.0 but it's possible.. since it is so random. Because of this I don't expect it to be fixed, unless you you might have an idea what change between 2.8.0 and the current beta could be the cause.
ED-209 is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 14:43   #112
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Just a note to mention to be careful with that blizzard scsi emulation. I switched my config from ide to accelerator scsi to boot my hardfile which worked fine and sysinfo confirms like 30 meg a second compared with usual 800k ide transfer. Them, I wrote to it which instantly made the partition written to as ndos.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 14:47   #113
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Beta 6:

- Blizzard 2060 (map rom not emulated) and Warp Engine works now.
Hmm, also in beta 6 got following message for B2060 (see on pic below), but same config works fine in last test beta 5 version ?!

p.s. There (in accelerators zip archive from zone) exists only two v8.5_hi/lo 32k files! (seems it ask now for one 64k file - why ?)


EDIT: Also A4000 Warp Engine seems to work fine now with "JIT Direct compatible Z3 memory mapping" = ON! Nice.

It works only when "JIT Direct compatible Z3 memory mapping" = OFF ! (my mistake, I change it to ON and did reset ... but if run from clean start with ON it doesnt work)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B2060.png
Views:	217
Size:	7.4 KB
ID:	40716  
Attached Files
File Type: uae A2000-B Blizzard 2060 (060@noJIT)(3.1)(16MB SIMM).uae (17.8 KB, 102 views)

Last edited by amilo3438; 29 July 2014 at 15:50.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:13   #114
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Just a note to mention to be careful with that blizzard scsi emulation. I switched my config from ide to accelerator scsi to boot my hardfile which worked fine and sysinfo confirms like 30 meg a second compared with usual 800k ide transfer. Them, I wrote to it which instantly made the partition written to as ndos.
Oops.. NCR93C94/FAS216 emulation writes didn't work, data that was written to disk was something else than that was supposed to be written.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:15   #115
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Hmm, also in beta 6 got following message for B2060 (see on pic below), but same config works fine in last test beta 5 version ?!
You did run rom scanner first? (Single 64k or 2x32k both will work)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:37   #116
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Hmm, for some reason in this beta6 it doesnt save changes to flash f.e. boot menu noMapROM/MapROM (BPPC, CSMK3/CSPPC) ?! (it worked fine in last test beta5)
It got broken. MK3/CSPPC/BPPC use different way to detect when flash erase has finished (there are 2 ways) and it worked only accidentally in previous beta.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:37   #117
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zilog View Post
Progress of Crach (If use rtg card uae zIII)...
Crash is in DirectDraw code. Do you get crash also if you select Direct3D mode? (Misc panel)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:42   #118
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You did run rom scanner first? (Single 64k or 2x32k both will work)
Yep, but still it shows same message.

Also, if go in paths folder and select manually (with ...) the rom folder, it scanes for roms and if after run the B2060 config it shows boot screen but in Early boot autoconfig boards is empty. Weird. (maybe to try with single file version, but cant find one)

p.s. But if repeat above with beta 5 last test version it works - got a nice colors rainbow!

Last edited by amilo3438; 29 July 2014 at 16:52.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:51   #119
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Crash is in DirectDraw code. Do you get crash also if you select Direct3D mode? (Misc panel)
Yes

winuae_2.8.2_b6_2014.07.29_16.50.39.dmp
Zilog is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 16:53   #120
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Yep, but still it shows same message.

Also, if go in paths folder and select manually (with ...) the rom folder, it scanes for roms and if after run the B2060 config it shows boot screen but in Early boot autoconfig boards is empty. Weird. (maybe to try with single file version, but cant find one)
It also got broken, new rom data (scsi kit) was added to wrong position in rom checksum table..
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28569 seconds with 12 queries