English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2014, 20:17   #741
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulder77 View Post
I encountering several freezes in the OS 4.0 environment since switch to b17.
I can access settings with F12 without any problem and I can restart WinUAE.

I used to configure the emu starting clean with Amiga 4000 profile and setting the known options.

Any ideas?
It happens here too.
ancalimon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:18   #742
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Do I really have to remind again that "not working" "reports" ARE NOT ALLOWED!

EDIT: It is very important to include everything possible (config, logs all) because I won't do any PPC debugging, especially OS4!

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 September 2014 at 20:24.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:35   #743
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Possible reason for possible hangs found, does this fix it?

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

EDIT: and updated. If you didn't see this message, redownload!

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 22 September 2014 at 20:41.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:45   #744
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Just wanted to say that disabling fasterrtg inside misc setting seems to fix the freezes at the moment... But emulation is running much faster as well. As if it's running in Direct3d mode (although I'm using directdraw mode at the moment)
ancalimon is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:47   #745
Ultron
Something

Ultron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amigaland, Nostalgia
Age: 42
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do I really have to remind again that "not working" "reports" ARE NOT ALLOWED!

EDIT: It is very important to include everything possible (config, logs all) because I won't do any PPC debugging, especially OS4!
Ever thought of dumping all these files to a zip, timestamped on filename, then people will just attach that.

Or create a Debug folder on WinUAE folder, and subdirs, date time stamped, with all the logs \ conf.

It's human nature, there's always going to be something missing
Ultron is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 21:09   #746
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultron View Post
Ever thought of dumping all these files to a zip, timestamped on filename, then people will just attach that.

Or create a Debug folder on WinUAE folder, and subdirs, date time stamped, with all the logs \ conf.

It's human nature, there's always going to be something missing
You can already, click save all and it puts all logs in one file.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 21:24   #747
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Possible reason for possible hangs found, does this fix it?

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

EDIT: and updated. If you didn't see this message, redownload!
Hey Toni, i'm online and writing this with IBrowse 2.4 under OS4.0 Classic.
Amazing work, using you latest winuae.zip.
All is fine at the moment, i can switch to windows (alt+tab) and back, reboot the emulation and so on.

Also the speed is fantastic, think its faster than a real CSPPC@233MHz.

Great job, time to donate some more money.

EDIT: now edit with OWB 3.32, it works. (but we need more memory )

EDIT2: here is my config file as requested
Attached Files
File Type: uae A4000_OS40.uae (20.1 KB, 69 views)

Last edited by huepper; 22 September 2014 at 23:07.
huepper is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 21:49   #748
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Just wanted to say that disabling fasterrtg inside misc setting seems to fix the freezes at the moment... But emulation is running much faster as well. As if it's running in Direct3d mode (although I'm using directdraw mode at the moment)
Hmm.. It shouldn't have any effect. But entering GUI even once could have caused strange things to happen. winuae.zip updated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huepper View Post
EDIT: now edit with OWB 3.32, it works. (but we need more memory )
I need someone who has BlizzardPPC with full 256M to confirm full physical memory layout. (Assuming OS4 for classics supports it) Unfortunately BPPC SCSI is not supported so HD speed won't be that good..

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
You can already, click save all and it puts all logs in one file.
Small but important correction: tick logging checkbox in paths panel, then and only then start emulation. winuaelog.txt is not generated by default because it can slow down emulation in some situations.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 22:51   #749
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do I really have to remind again that "not working" "reports" ARE NOT ALLOWED!

EDIT: It is very important to include everything possible (config, logs all) because I won't do any PPC debugging, especially OS4!

Here are the logs from the last time WinUAE froze. It sometimes continues working after a minute or two. I also have seen it continue running after pressing f12 and then clicking ok.

By the way.. Is full window mode allowed or should we all run it in Window mode?

Also if I change aspect ratio from automatic to disabled (from expansions tab), lots of mouse pointers appear randomly on screen while moving mouse.

Before trying the two updated Winuae.zip files, it was running for at least 10 minutes without any freezes: [ Show youtube player ]


EDIT: After reporting this, I tried running OS4 once again and it got suck at purple screen. I tried "f12 + ok" and it did not change anything. Then I changed DirectDraw (was trying Non Local Mem option) to Direct3d and it suddenly started booting but everything was slow and sound played in slow motion and crackled. I then changed to DirectDraw and everything became smooth immediately)

EDIT2: Then I click the full window on my second monitor and saw that everything was frozen. I pressed F12 and switched back to direct3d and it WinUAE suddenly was unpaused and it was working again.

EDIT3: It did not work the third time. It was frozen for good.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (20.9 KB, 56 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (45.2 KB, 68 views)
File Type: uae OS41UAE.uae (33.9 KB, 57 views)

Last edited by ancalimon; 23 September 2014 at 00:24.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 23:56   #750
mulder77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Petershagen/Germany
Posts: 38
I can confirm that after such freeze, pausing with F12 and then continuing unfreezes OS4.
mulder77 is offline  
Old 23 September 2014, 08:04   #751
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Here are the logs from the last time WinUAE froze.
DirectDraw must not be used with hardware RTG.
Make sure display buffer is not set to triple buffer, some systems cause heavy slowdown if enabled.

You can use any mode you want but if there are any problems: MUST retest and confirm in windowed mode before reporting.

Use http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip

EDIT: Freezer cartridges also fixed.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 September 2014 at 16:02.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 September 2014, 21:00   #752
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
OS 4.1 freezes after some seconds. Emulation runs slow (especially sound) if using direct3d (this is weird because I think I remember that with beta17, using direct direct3d everything was running smooth and directdraw caused slow down and crackling sound)

I recorded a video. I will post a link once upload completes. (I only have 1mbit upload ) EDIT: [ Show youtube player ]

I tried it with the winuae.zip before "EDIT: Freezer cartridges also fixed.". Was anything else changed?

Also I'm using A4000T rom and A4000T configuration. Should I be using A4000 rom and A4000 configuration?

When using the official beta17 with directdraw instead of direct3d, everything runs very smooth and fast. The freezes happen much less and after freezing, OS41 can restart really fast by rebooting with ctrl a a.

EDIT2: I tried using a pal 640-512 screenmode and it is not freezing.
Attached Files
File Type: uae OS41UAE.uae (33.9 KB, 41 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (21.9 KB, 48 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (52.6 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by ancalimon; 23 September 2014 at 22:42.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 03:01   #753
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 203
I just did a fresh install of OS4.1 Classic using beta17. The only thing I changed was to using a VHD.

The install went fine and quick. But after a reboot it starts to load, then after a few seconds it just sits with the CD blue light on (floppy and ISO are ejected). It doesn't error/crash so don't know if logs will show anything. I rebooted the PC just in case, same thing.

Before I did this fresh install, when the screen saver would start I couldn't always "wake it up." Have to F12 and Restart. Didn't have that issue in beta16. (May have been fixed in your latest pre-beta18 release.)

Last edited by mritter0; 30 September 2014 at 00:30.
mritter0 is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 05:15   #754
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Did you eject the cd and floppy after reboot?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 08:02   #755
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
OS 4.1 freezes after some seconds. Emulation runs slow (especially sound) if using direct3d (this is weird because I think I remember that with beta17, using direct direct3d everything was running smooth and directdraw caused slow down and crackling sound)
Try switching RTG refresh rate to chipset (Expansion panel). Try also new PPC CPU idle option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mritter0 View Post
I just did a fresh install of OS4.1 Classic using beta17. The only thing I changed was to using a VHD.

The install went fine and quick. But after a reboot it starts to load, then after a few seconds it just sits with the CD blue light on (floppy and ISO are ejected). It doesn't error/crash so don't know if logs will show anything. I rebooted the PC just in case, same thing.
Add -log -scsiemulog command line parameters ("winuae.exe -log -scsiemulog" from command prompt) and attach winuaelog.txt after 10 seconds of nothing happening.

Then try with just boot drive enabled, I don't think SCSI has ever tested with that many devices enabled at the same time.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 September 2014, 12:14   #756
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Try switching RTG refresh rate to chipset (Expansion panel). Try also new PPC CPU idle option.
PPC CPU idle when not in leftmost position, causes freeze as soon as WB screen appears. It also happens when I try to change it after WinUAE is already running OS4.1.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 13:35   #757
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
PPC CPU idle when not in leftmost position, causes freeze as soon as WB screen appears. It also happens when I try to change it after WinUAE is already running OS4.1.
OS4 freeze only (F12 still works) or emulator freeze?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 September 2014, 19:22   #758
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
OS4 freeze only (F12 still works) or emulator freeze?
OS4 freeze (I can reboot). I can press f12 and change things to try if it will continue. Sometimes it does, sometimes WinUAE crashes.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 19:34   #759
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
OS4 freeze (I can reboot). I can press f12 and change things to try if it will continue. Sometimes it does, sometimes WinUAE crashes.
Unfortunately I can't duplicate any of them. You can also test if RTG is slow under OS3 + PicassoIV emulation. It is something I can debug

Wait for next beta and if you can still it crash, attach dump file.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 September 2014, 01:36   #760
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Add -log -scsiemulog command line parameters ("winuae.exe -log -scsiemulog" from command prompt) and attach winuaelog.txt after 10 seconds of nothing happening.

Then try with just boot drive enabled, I don't think SCSI has ever tested with that many devices enabled at the same time.
I removed all of the other devices, start, guru.

Last edited by mritter0; 30 September 2014 at 00:30.
mritter0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25036 seconds with 12 queries