English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 September 2014, 18:27   #721
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you see any difference between different new CPU idle settings? Only need to check leftmost, second step from left and rightmost step.
It's 2sec quicker using 2nd step from left and 4sec quicker using rightmost step.

No noticeable difference in the speed of Workbench opening drawers.

I'm still new to OS4 so I don't know what programs to test with yet.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2014, 18:29   #722
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 168
Sometimes will FX Paint run realy fast and sometimes it is slow like hell oder will not start.
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 21 September 2014, 22:48   #723
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you see any difference between different new CPU idle settings? Only need to check leftmost, second step from left and rightmost step.
I find it faster with it all the way to the right, however I can no longer boot if I do. It hangs on pink screen, if I slide it full left it boots after leaving menu.
Once loaded though I can slide it to right.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 00:14   #724
acd2001
Zone Friend
acd2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 35
WinUae beta 14-17 hangs when you press pag-up for Action Replay Mode.
Beta 13 is last working version.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (12.6 KB, 48 views)
acd2001 is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 03:00   #725
Ami_GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA North America
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlachtwerk View Post
Sometimes will FX Paint run realy fast and sometimes it is slow like hell oder will not start.
I am getting very erratic behavior from FXpaint and from VHI studio which is also from IO Spirit. I am using FXpaint 2.01. I assume it is due to some fault or defeciency in the Qemu emulation. It worked fine in the pre Qemu betas but was extremely slow. All the other PPC software I have tried has worked very well with Qemu except these two IO Spirit programs. There is a slight improvement from beta 16 and I usually get both programs to start but they both freeze at some point. VHI studio usually gets a bit further and I get to the point where it seems to be working but it freezes when I try to do something. FXPaint freezes on loading but I can still use the workbench and other software with a partially loaded FX screen.
Ami_GFX is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 13:08   #726
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Nice update, thanks toni.
I have set PPC model to G3, no my reset issue after kernel is fixed.
Ill keep playing, see what others work.
Where do you set the PPC model in WinUAE?
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 13:53   #727
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 148
Hello
(Beta17 works here too)

some questions
1) In the "Cpu and Fpu" settings : Does the "PPC CPU Options" are the only options that impact ppc emulation/speed ? Or does some options impact both 68k and ppc ?
2)From amiga side is there a way to obtain a 32 bit wb screen (not 16/24bits) ? using an other RTG card ?

Thanks

Alain Thellier
thellier is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 14:26   #728
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
Where do you set the PPC model in WinUAE?
Read changelog.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thellier View Post
1) In the "Cpu and Fpu" settings : Does the "PPC CPU Options" are the only options that impact ppc emulation/speed ? Or does some options impact both 68k and ppc ?
Yes but there can be some differences when both CPUs are active. JIT for example can slow down PPC in some situations.

There is no difference if m68k is stopped.

Quote:
2)From amiga side is there a way to obtain a 32 bit wb screen (not 16/24bits) ? using an other RTG card ?
Do you mean using hardware (cirrus logic) emulation? Yes but it is restricted to max resolution 800x600 or so. old hardware == pixel clock rate and memory bandwidth was quite low.

Emulated hardware won't have any bandwidth restrictions but you need to patch existing drivers to allow selection of higher modes that original hardware does not support.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 14:52   #729
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
Where do you set the PPC model in WinUAE?
Open the config in notepad and edit it manually.
Will edit below text later at home.

32 bits "classic" PowerPC */ /* PowerPC MPC603 microcontrollers */
{ "MPC8240", "603" },

{ "MPC52xx", "MPC5200" },
{ "MPC5200", "MPC5200_v12" },
{ "MPC5200B", "MPC5200B_v21" },

{ "MPC82xx", "MPC8280" },
{ "PowerQUICC-II", "MPC82xx" },
{ "MPC8241", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8245", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8247", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8248", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8250", "MPC8250_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8250_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8250_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8255", "MPC8255_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8255_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8255_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8260", "MPC8260_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8260_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8260_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8264", "MPC8264_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8264_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8264_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8265", "MPC8265_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8265_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8265_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8266", "MPC8266_HiP4" },
{ "MPC8266_HiP3", "G2HiP3" },
{ "MPC8266_HiP4", "G2HiP4" },
{ "MPC8270", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8271", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8272", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8275", "G2leGP3" },
{ "MPC8280", "G2leGP3" },
{ "e200", "e200z6" },
{ "e300", "e300c3" },
{ "MPC8347", "MPC8347T" },
{ "MPC8347A", "MPC8347AT" },
{ "MPC8347E", "MPC8347ET" },
{ "MPC8347EA", "MPC8347EAT" },
{ "e500", "e500v2_v22" },
{ "e500v1", "e500_v20" },
{ "e500v2", "e500v2_v22" },
{ "MPC8533", "MPC8533_v11" },
{ "MPC8533E", "MPC8533E_v11" },
{ "MPC8540", "MPC8540_v21" },
{ "MPC8541", "MPC8541_v11" },
{ "MPC8541E", "MPC8541E_v11" },
{ "MPC8543", "MPC8543_v21" },
{ "MPC8543E", "MPC8543E_v21" },
{ "MPC8544", "MPC8544_v11" },
{ "MPC8544E", "MPC8544E_v11" },
{ "MPC8545", "MPC8545_v21" },
{ "MPC8545E", "MPC8545E_v21" },
{ "MPC8547E", "MPC8547E_v21" },
{ "MPC8548", "MPC8548_v21" },
{ "MPC8548E", "MPC8548E_v21" },
{ "MPC8555", "MPC8555_v11" },
{ "MPC8555E", "MPC8555E_v11" },
{ "MPC8560", "MPC8560_v21" },
{ "601", "601_v2" },
{ "601v", "601_v2" },
{ "Vanilla", "603" },
{ "603e", "603e_v4.1" },
{ "Stretch", "603e" },
{ "Vaillant", "603e7v" },
{ "603r", "603e7t" },
{ "Goldeneye", "603r" },
{ "604e", "604e_v2.4" },
{ "Sirocco", "604e" },
{ "Mach5", "604r" },
{ "740", "740_v3.1" },
{ "Arthur", "740" },
{ "750", "750_v3.1" },
{ "Typhoon", "750" },
{ "G3", "750" },
{ "Conan/Doyle", "750p" },
{ "750cl", "750cl_v2.0" },
{ "750cx", "750cx_v2.2" },
{ "750cxe", "750cxe_v3.1b" },
{ "750fx", "750fx_v2.3" },
{ "750gx", "750gx_v1.2" },
{ "750l", "750l_v3.2" },
{ "LoneStar", "750l" },
{ "745", "745_v2.8" },
{ "755", "755_v2.8" },
{ "Goldfinger", "755" },
{ "7400", "7400_v2.9" },
{ "Max", "7400" },
{ "G4", "7400" },
{ "7410", "7410_v1.4" },
{ "Nitro", "7410" },
{ "7448", "7448_v2.1" },
{ "7450", "7450_v2.1" },
{ "Vger", "7450" },
{ "7441", "7441_v2.3" },
{ "7451", "7451_v2.3" },
{ "7445", "7445_v3.2" },
{ "7455", "7455_v3.2" },
{ "Apollo6", "7455" },
{ "7447", "7447_v1.2" },
{ "7457", "7457_v1.2" },
{ "Apollo7", "7457" },
{ "7447A", "7447A_v1.2" },
{ "7457A", "7457A_v1.2" },
{ "Apollo7PM", "7457A_v1.0" },
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 16:27   #730
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
I'm having problems getting AmigaOS4.1 run without freezing (and bringing WinUAE down with it). I can not use F12 and I have to press ctrlaltdel to return to desktop.

After OS4.1 starts, I can use it for a couple of seconds (between 10 and 40), I tried checking screenmode prefs and managed to choose and save 1024x768 16bit.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (21.7 KB, 49 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (46.8 KB, 61 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b17_2014.09.22_17.20.58.dmp (166.5 KB, 51 views)
File Type: uae OS41UAE.uae (33.8 KB, 45 views)
ancalimon is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 16:45   #731
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
I'm having problems getting AmigaOS4.1 run without freezing (and bringing WinUAE down with it). I can not use F12 and I have to press ctrlaltdel to return to desktop.

After OS4.1 starts, I can use it for a couple of seconds (between 10 and 40), I tried checking screenmode prefs and managed to choose and save 1024x768 16bit.
Switch to Direct3D mode. DirectDraw has problems with hardware RTG emulation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 16:55   #732
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Switch to Direct3D mode. DirectDraw has problems with hardware RTG emulation.
It's still happening

This time it happened without me doing anything (I did not even move the mouse pointer)
Attached Files
File Type: uae OS41UAE.uae (33.8 KB, 43 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b17_2014.09.22_17.53.44.dmp (161.1 KB, 43 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (21.6 KB, 52 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (47.5 KB, 51 views)
ancalimon is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 17:01   #733
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
It's still happening

This time it happened without me doing anything (I did not even move the mouse pointer)
Disable vsync! No Vsync, no extras, not nothing in non-m68k modes.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 17:20   #734
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Disable vsync! No Vsync, no extras, not nothing in non-m68k modes.
Working now Moving windows causes screen corruption on background after the left and right edges of windows when in fullscreen. I guess this is normal and happens for everyone?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 17:48   #735
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Working now Moving windows causes screen corruption on background after the left and right edges of windows when in fullscreen. I guess this is normal and happens for everyone?
I don't know. Screenshots needed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 18:58   #736
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Working now Moving windows causes screen corruption on background after the left and right edges of windows when in fullscreen. I guess this is normal and happens for everyone?
You talking about rainbow strips? if so, then its an OS4.1 thing with certain GFX setups.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 19:25   #737
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
where is the quemu library for winuae b17 ??????

I downloaded the one here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=75062 but not works

when I run some ppc programs says "ppc loading quemu library" I click ok then the ppc program works but no jit accel
Sandro is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 19:49   #738
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,521
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
where is the quemu library for winuae b17 ??????

I downloaded the one here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=75062 but not works

when I run some ppc programs says "ppc loading quemu library" I click ok then the ppc program works but no jit accel
First post of this thread.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 19:49   #739
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Display related crash seems to be caused by invalid sized cirrus logic chip blit that crosses end of VRAM which is not checked because original qemu checks are broken, they rejected many types of valid blits. Looks like better check is needed..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
where is the quemu library for winuae b17 ??????

I downloaded the one here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=75062 but not works

when I run some ppc programs says "ppc loading quemu library" I click ok then the ppc program works but no jit accel
I think you should read change log again, especially the part about changed paths.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:00   #740
mulder77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Petershagen/Germany
Posts: 38
I encountering several freezes in the OS 4.0 environment since switch to b17.
I can access settings with F12 without any problem and I can restart WinUAE.

I used to configure the emu starting clean with Amiga 4000 profile and setting the known options.

Any ideas?
mulder77 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.49867 seconds with 12 queries