English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 September 2014, 18:52   #601
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
Hello, Is only OS4 for classics supported? Or any OS4 be run through Winuae?
Have someone tried Morphos for classics?
amigappc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 September 2014, 18:56   #602
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
-> http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=74710

And better wait for QEMU PPC core first.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 September 2014, 16:33   #603
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2900b15.zip

Beta 15:

- "ROM disabled" A2091/A590 ROM option was not visible (b14)
- Blizzard board ROM code was ignored (b14)
- Log window was opened when PPC CPU started (b14)
- Dragging adf file over window mode bottom bar HD led didn't mount it as a harddrive.
- Mounting adf as a harddrive uses adf's real volume name instead of host-side file name.
- Added support for sub memory banks, can divide normal 64k UAE memory bank in to smaller sub memory banks. Mainly needed to properly map PPC CyberStorm MK3/PPC SCSI IO and SCRIPTS RAM for QEMU PPC.
- SCSI CD emulation via NCR SCSI (53C94/FAS216 or NCR53C710+) chip didn't flash CD led.
- Added hack that prevents Picasso IV switching temporarily to RTG mode immediately after reset. (Picasso IV does not use simple signal passthrough like other cards)
- Switch to/from hardware RTG mode only after mode has been stable at least 0.5 seconds.
- Show CD insert/eject messages in new status bar message area. (Should it show real volume name instead of file name?)
- Quickstart CD eject button was always disabled.
- Status bar NVRAM led also shows accelerator board flash write accesses. Includes also writes that only enable chip ID read mode.

- PPC IO access completely rewritten, most IO areas are now directly accessible and only special regions (custom chipset and CIA require locking. Very slow IO message passing system is completely gone.
- QEMU PPC core support. Read separate notes!

QEMU PPC instructions and information: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=975129
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 September 2014, 17:06   #604
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Toni, this is excellent, thanks for updating this. Amiga OS 4 loads considerably faster, but what's even better is that so far PPC doom and quake are actually playable. I didn't run any tests to see PPC speed but it is significantly faster. Thanks!
esc is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 19:13   #605
Nickman1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Östersund
Posts: 23
Great stuff! Can confirm that OS4 wb feels as quick as on my PPC603 210 Mhz.
Nickman1200 is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 20:44   #606
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Two observations for b15 + PPC.
PPC status is always on 'Run' & CPU is 100%
Pressing F12 freezes WinUAE.

Other than that it works fine.
Arnie is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 20:57   #607
klesterjr
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Two observations for b15 + PPC.
PPC status is always on 'Run' & CPU is 100%
Pressing F12 freezes WinUAE.

Other than that it works fine.
It runs on my WinXP machine (albeit too slowly to be useful), but never finishes loading on my Win7 machine.

It sometimes stops at the pink screen, but most of the time after the 4.1 boot logo has disappeared (as is the case in the attached logs). I also tried 4.0 and got the same results.

As noted above, F12 also freezes WinUAE here.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (15.4 KB, 56 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (29.9 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by klesterjr; 10 September 2014 at 21:03. Reason: Added winuaelog
klesterjr is offline  
Old 10 September 2014, 21:29   #608
klesterjr
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by klesterjr View Post
It runs on my WinXP machine (albeit too slowly to be useful), but never finishes loading on my Win7 machine.

It sometimes stops at the pink screen, but most of the time after the 4.1 boot logo has disappeared (as is the case in the attached logs). I also tried 4.0 and got the same results.

As noted above, F12 also freezes WinUAE here.
I don't know if it's useful, but here are logs from when it never made it past the pink screen.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (14.4 KB, 59 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (26.1 KB, 57 views)
klesterjr is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 03:33   #609
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
The QEMU PPC core support (b15) doesn't work on my WinXP SP3 32-bit.
It seems WinUAE is not able to finish the loading and hangs on the pink screen.
The required files for the QEMU PPC core are already in the root of my WinUAE folder.

PS: My hard drive image (*.HDF/*.CHD) with installed AmigaOS 4.0 is working on b12/b13/b14
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (21.6 KB, 55 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (15.6 KB, 48 views)

Last edited by AnnaWu; 11 September 2014 at 03:51.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 06:19   #610
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
Hey Toni, betas 14 & 15 crash when launching my usual 020/JIT config.
All previous releases are no problem. Logs & output window attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	beta15.JPG
Views:	222
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	41485  
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (17.5 KB, 49 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (10.8 KB, 59 views)
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 10:38   #611
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
F12/Pause/reset hang confirmed.

OS 4 not booting: try without A2065 (or any other non-Z3 expansion). QEMU memory mapping is not dynamic yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Two observations for b15 + PPC.
PPC status is always on 'Run' & CPU is 100%
Pressing F12 freezes WinUAE.
PPC "sleep" is not implemented in QEMU yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
Hey Toni, betas 14 & 15 crash when launching my usual 020/JIT config.
All previous releases are no problem. Logs & output window attached.
Include config please. (btw, it is not a real crash)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2014, 12:10   #612
ED-209
Registered User

ED-209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: OCP
Age: 37
Posts: 960
"Crash" was probably not the best choice of word.. config attached
Attached Files
File Type: uae A1200 RTG HD JIT.uae (19.8 KB, 63 views)
ED-209 is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 13:07   #613
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
OS 4 not booting: try without A2065 (or any other non-Z3 expansion). QEMU memory mapping is not dynamic yet.
If I use my config without A2065 I have the same result.
The FPS rate on b15 is much lower compared with b12/b13/b14
Maybe my hardware (DELL Latitude C840) is too weak to run the new QEMU PPC core.

Last edited by AnnaWu; 11 September 2014 at 13:31.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 14:10   #614
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
If I use my config without A2065 I have the same result.
The FPS rate on b15 is much lower compared with b12/b13/b14
Maybe my hardware (DELL Latitude C840) is too weak to run the new QEMU PPC core.
Requirements are still the same: least true dual core CPU is required and now it is really required, sorry.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2014, 14:20   #615
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Requirements are still the same: least true dual core CPU is required and now it is really required, sorry.
Ok, this is may the reason. Exist a possibility to switch between the new QEMU PPC core and the older PPC core (b14) for user which doesn't have a dual core CPU?

At moment I use b14 for the PPC mode but not like the additional Log window.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 15:31   #616
klesterjr
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
OS 4 not booting: try without A2065 (or any other non-Z3 expansion). QEMU memory mapping is not dynamic yet
Disabling A2065 doesn't seem to change anything for me.

I tried repeatedly booting last night and was able to get it to boot ONCE, however it ran much more slowly than previous betas and I was not able to get it to boot again.

It appears to be stuck in an endless loop, rather than an actual crash or freeze (unless you press F12).

My system: Win7, i7 4770K, GTX 650 Ti

Last edited by klesterjr; 11 September 2014 at 15:33. Reason: Added my system specs.
klesterjr is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 18:05   #617
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by klesterjr View Post
Disabling A2065 doesn't seem to change anything for me.

I tried repeatedly booting last night and was able to get it to boot ONCE, however it ran much more slowly than previous betas and I was not able to get it to boot again.

It appears to be stuck in an endless loop, rather than an actual crash or freeze (unless you press F12).

My system: Win7, i7 4770K, GTX 650 Ti
B15 worked fine on my existing setup (i5 Macbook). Splash screen was way faster, but I didn't notice a change in speed after workbench loads, although I did not test it much yet. I need to try it on my i7 at home which is much faster than this i5. Hardfile access may be a bottleneck. Zorro 3 memory showed up properly as a pager and I do have C= 2065 configured, no issue there.

Darren
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 11 September 2014, 18:23   #618
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
I don't know why OS4 boot hangs. Probably better wait for next beta that will include dynamic memory mapping, perhaps it helps. Comparing between working and non-working logs and config files may also help.

(At least it can't be host CPU, i7 4770k here and OS4 works fine)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ED-209 View Post
"Crash" was probably not the best choice of word.. config attached
Thanks, fixed. uaegfx RTG in Z2 mode memory mapping was wrong.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 September 2014, 18:54   #619
SID-6581
 
Posts: n/a
I get this messages when i activate PPC:

"One of the following expansion boot ROMs is required:
-Blizzard PPC 68060 (512k)"

or

"One of the following expansion boot ROMs is required:
-CyberStorm PPC (128k)"


Do anybody know where to download that roms?


Kind Regards
SID-6581
 
Old 11 September 2014, 19:07   #620
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 573
@SID-6581, check this; How to get access to The Zone? Look for the file accelerator_roms.zip
ma693541 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35065 seconds with 12 queries