English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2014, 13:22   #581
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Can't say I blame him, neither do I, too many people simply wanting to contact you for no reason.
It's mainly for press purposes

Back on topic then I guess
Neil79 is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 September 2014, 14:49   #582
klesterjr
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Run the new Beta 14 with the same settings as "functional" than previous releases, I request that this also closes if I closed WinUAE, I need to change some particular setting?

EDIT

With OS3.x Beta 14 no problem? the request appears only with OS4.0 Classic
Same here.
klesterjr is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 17:15   #583
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,123
Toni: QEMU PPC is still work in progress (by Frode and me), QEMU-side is not yet included. It run for the first time few days ago. It is not stable enough yet but hopefully soon...

whaouh, thanks Toni , which speed could we expect ???
turrican3 is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 18:00   #584
21stcentury
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Hi ! is someone can send me an adf of AOS4.1 classic boot disk if it's permitted of course. I'm actually creating a "configurations pack PPC" for to help people but I don't have OS4.1 and I would like to supply them for to make it easier.

And same thing for me about last beta...
21stcentury is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 18:47   #585
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
QEMU PPC is still work in progress
great, which speed could we expect ???
Let me answer ...

According to PearPC about page -> http://pearpc.sourceforge.net/about.html

PearPPC emulated CPU runs at speed 1/500th (generic, currently implemented into WinUAE) or 1/15th (JIT-X86, canceled for WinUAE in exchange for QEMU) than the host.


Well, according to above the speed difference is 500/15 = 33 in favor of JIT engine.

Although QEMU JIT engine is much more accurate, I hope there should not be much difference in speed in relation to the canceled PearPPC JIT engine.


Someone somewhere mentioned that he had a feeling that the current (generic) WinUAE PPC emulation runs on 7MHz !?

Therefore, theoretically it could mean that future PPC JIT emulation could work on 7 x 33 => 230 MHz !!! (also depending on the PC processor speed)

I hope that the expectations regarding the JIT-PPC emulation speed is somewhere close enough.


p.s.

According to http://amiga.resource.cx/

Blizzard PPC = PowerPC 603e @ 160 / 200 / 240 MHz

CyberStorm PPC = PowerPC 604e @ 150 / 180 / 200 / 233 MHz


p.s.2.
It might even be possible that emulated PPC is faster than the original, which depends on how modern PC CPU will run.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 19:05   #586
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Wait until it is working, assuming or speculating is pointless.

Quote:
With OS3.x Beta 14 no problem? the request appears only with OS4.0 Classic
No logs. No help.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 September 2014, 19:13   #587
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Of course, this is all just in theory, so maybe better not to have too high expectations ... because just like in real life, with great expectations usually comes up big disappointment. (and vice versa)

Last edited by amilo3438; 02 September 2014 at 19:32.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 19:58   #588
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- Removed A590/A2091 and A4091 Expansion panel checkboxes, enable/disable is now ROM selection. (ROM selected = enabled, ROM selection empty = not enabled)
Does that change mean it's no longer possible to emulate an A2091 with auto-boot disabled (e.g. for use with Kickstart 1.2)?
mark_k is online now  
Old 02 September 2014, 20:57   #589
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Wait until it is working, assuming or speculating is pointless.
No logs. No help.
He apologizes Toni, I thought that the only request was sufficient, attach log

Last edited by prowler; 10 September 2016 at 22:40. Reason: Removed attachment.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 20:58   #590
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 171
@mark_k, I guess this is just a GUI change, nothing more... if in doubt, try it.

BTW, QEMU-based PPC emulation could be really interesting with non-JIT m68k emulation settings: high compatibility with games/demos, slow operations (like decoding JPGs) could be offloaded to a high-performance PPC emulator; just like on real Blizzard/Cyberstorm equipped Amiga
Romanujan is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 21:21   #591
Nickman1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Östersund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2900b14.zip

Beta 14:

QEMU PPC is still work in progress (by Frode and me), QEMU-side is not yet included. It run for the first time few days ago. It is not stable enough yet but hopefully soon...
Excellent news. Will donate again at first beta.
Nickman1200 is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 22:31   #592
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickman1200 View Post
Excellent news. Will donate again at first beta.
Also, and immediately followed would donate for a better (more accurate) A1200 emulation if I knew it could help ... it is much easier to pay than to spend time. (Although some say that time is money, it seems that you get more respect if you pay/donate than spend time/donate ... I'll never figure out the reason for it.)

Last edited by amilo3438; 02 September 2014 at 22:44.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 22:58   #593
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
(Although some say that time is money, it seems that you get more respect if you pay/donate than spend time/donate ... I'll never figure out the reason for it.)
You'll figure it out once you try to buy things with time. Time = money when you get paid for your time. If Toni spends time on PPC emulation it's his choice and if he asks people to donate if they want him to continue that is fair enough I'd say. Donating time surely is appreciated, but in the end it doesn't pay the bills.
TCD is offline  
Old 03 September 2014, 08:10   #594
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
He apologizes Toni, I thought that the only request was sufficient, attach log
Unfortunately log shows nothing interesting. Does it only affect OS 4.0? (4.1 works?) When does it happen? Before OS4 boot screen appears?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Does that change mean it's no longer possible to emulate an A2091 with auto-boot disabled (e.g. for use with Kickstart 1.2)?
"ROM disabled" option seems to have disappeared from GUI.. Will be fixed in next beta.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Also, and immediately followed would donate for a better (more accurate) A1200 emulation if I knew it could help ... it is much easier to pay than to spend time. (Although some say that time is money, it seems that you get more respect if you pay/donate than spend time/donate ... I'll never figure out the reason for it.)
Donating probably won't help with this problem because I don't have any good ideas how to properly emulate it. I don't want to ask donations for some feature that may not happen. (Reason why I asked for PPC donations only after I knew it can work, to motivate me to actually finish it, which is quite boring task..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 September 2014, 13:40   #595
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I get the memory mapping output (as shown in post 577) as soon as anything activates the ppc. OS4.0 causes it yo open when the Booloader is resetting the amiga and is OS3 it opens once warpos is triggered (by datatype image backdrop image loading in my case.

Another possible issue is with Blizkick + BPPC combination. When blizkick resets the Amiga the emulation stops with HALT5. A keyboard reset will clear it, but I don't believe its normal? (uae booted with kick 3.1 and simple command "Blizzkick * Quiet" is used to copy the rom to maprom.)
Attached Files
File Type: uae A1200PPC.uae (23.4 KB, 66 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (18.9 KB, 57 views)
File Type: pdf winuaelog.txt.pdf (202.8 KB, 54 views)

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 03 September 2014 at 13:52.
Mad-Matt is online now  
Old 03 September 2014, 14:33   #596
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- Fastlane Z3 SCSI board emulation implemented, another FAS216 based SCSI controller. z3scsi.device from phase5.a1k.org in rom scanner, but it would be nicer to have full dump. SCSI part only, memory part ignored.
- Oktagon 2008 SCSI board emulated. This was interesting, it has "software DMA" (SCSI chip is told to do DMA transfer but "DMA controller" is IO space that CPU reads or writes), it also have 512 byte serial EEPROM used to store config (with only 15 bytes used). EEPROM data is internal, not saved to any file. 6.12 (last release?) boot ROM added to rom scanner. Autoconfig data is currently not confirmed. Support added only because it was quite different than most other SCSI controllers.
Out of interest, are FAS216, ESP216 and 53C94 compatible chips? Some models of Oktagon 2008 have Emulex ESP216, others AMD or NCR 53C94.
mark_k is online now  
Old 03 September 2014, 14:39   #597
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Out of interest, are FAS216, ESP216 and 53C94 compatible chips? Some models of Oktagon 2008 have Emulex ESP216, others AMD or NCR 53C94.
AFAIK they are practically fully compatible. 53C90 is slightly older revision, also mostly compatible but not fully.

Not sure about FAS4xx. Some Amiga HD controller (don't remember name) uses it but I couldn't find any documentation. (EDIT: FAS406 in Blizzard SCSI Kit III)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 03 September 2014 at 20:03.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 September 2014, 15:47   #598
klesterjr
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Unfortunately log shows nothing interesting. Does it only affect OS 4.0? (4.1 works?) When does it happen? Before OS4 boot screen appears?
The 'extra' window appears almost immediately when OS4x is launched. It doesn't seem to adversely affect anything, but if you close it, the emulation closes as well. Happens with both 4.0 and 4.1.

klesterjr is offline  
Old 03 September 2014, 20:04   #599
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by klesterjr View Post
The 'extra' window appears almost immediately when OS4x is launched. It doesn't seem to adversely affect anything, but if you close it, the emulation closes as well. Happens with both 4.0 and 4.1.
Ah, it is only wrong logging output type, I thought it was debugger window that also stops the emulation. Nothing serious.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 September 2014, 07:14   #600
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Ah, it is only wrong logging output type, I thought it was debugger window that also stops the emulation. Nothing serious.
No emulation is not stopped, even if the boot appears to be slower, the request appears after age colorat.
If there is interest I noticed that with the beta 14, the "Kickstart 3.1 40.68 A 1200.rom" does not detect the hardfile, as he did with the previous beta.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25098 seconds with 12 queries