English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2014, 23:15   #221
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Just a quick thanks from here,too.
So many ArtEffect plugins,Wildfire modules and Raytracers that utilize PPC.
WipeOut and so many demos or just vizualizations for AmigaAmp/ANR.
I'm eager to try them once it's all done.
I really hope that all the help you get here and the thank you posts encourage you to finish the efford.
PPC cards have been so expensive back in the days that I've been allways to stingy get one. And to be honest I still am.
Michael Sykes is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 August 2014, 00:06   #222
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Once everything is in place, I'll try booting from my A4000T PPC's SYS partion.

And I hope this will bring the prices of PPC cards down because it really bothers me that they are so expensive and I never will have the heart to sell mine. :P
ancalimon is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 00:07   #223
themamboman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta, USA
Posts: 136
Two questions: (sorry, been reading this thread quickly... very cool stuff!)

1) I would have thought the CStormPPC and BPPC would have been under Expansions, but the only thing I found was a dropdown in the RAM settings window. Is that how we enable these emulated expansions?

2) Is the PearPC CPU included in the latest build? The one I downloaded was dated 8/1/2014. The dropdown mentioned in #1 still says NO PPC CPU!

Thanks again! Looking forward to trying WarpOS and PowerUP software one day!
themamboman is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 13:32   #224
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by themamboman View Post
1) I would have thought the CStormPPC and BPPC would have been under Expansions, but the only thing I found was a dropdown in the RAM settings window. Is that how we enable these emulated expansions?
It is in RAM panel because board emulation originally started as Blizzard 1230/1240/1260 emulation because it has special RAM mapping. RAM mapping emulation was the only goal at that point.. Then came warp engine and Blizzard 2060 and then cyberstorms and then it really went totally crazy with PPC..

It may be moved later..

Quote:
2) Is the PearPC CPU included in the latest build? The one I downloaded was dated 8/1/2014. The dropdown mentioned in #1 still says NO PPC CPU!
No. It is in next beta.

Quote:
Thanks again! Looking forward to trying WarpOS and PowerUP software one day!
We'll see if it actually usable or only "works"..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 August 2014, 16:28   #225
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Toni , you're crazy , but as good.

I think i have to donate some more money.
huepper is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 19:44   #226
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2900b9.zip

Beta 9: PPC emulation that was supposed to never happen has happened. Sorry

- PearPC PPC emulator core added. Only because it was very easy to add, it may not be compatible enough. (and it isn't, at least not fully compatible, at least it has some unimplemented instructions, some programs or operating system surely won't work)
- PPC disassembler added to debugger ("dp", PPC mode is remembered, use "do" to switch back to m68k)
- Windowed mode status bar shows PPC state (if CyberStorm PPC or Blizzard PPC selected). Shows 4 possible states: STOP (inactive), RUN (executing instructions), SLEEP (low power state, waiting for interrupt), CRASH (CPU emulator detected something bad, like invalid instruction etc)
- BlizzardPPC memory GUI adjustment fixed.
- Fixed 68020/030 CE + fastest possible hang if program executed loop that didn't do any memory accesses.
- 68040/060 CINVx instruction was still disassembled strangely.
- Adjusted 68040/060 "cycle-exact" mode timing, also if data cache is enabled, emulate all data memory accesses as immediate. (until data cache is emulated fully)
- CyberStorm MKII F0 ROM section of flash rom is now flashable. (third party mk2diag flash updater works)
- Blizzard PPC flash rom chip emulation now works correctly (was wrong mapping and wrong flash chip device code..)
- Added special JIT indirect CPU core that supports code execution from non-linear and/or aliased memory. Technically also should allow to emulate A2091/A590 but it still crashes for some reason. (But at least now it executes some ROM code before accessing invalid memory. A2091/A590 is perfect test case because it does not copy driver code from autoconfig ROM to RAM like most other HD controller drivers do, code runs directly from ROM and same memory "bank" also has IO registers)
- Memory allocation source clean up. Can break nearly anything..
- SCSI CD READ CD command didn't read audio tracks 2+.
- Entering debugger forze the emulator if m68k CPU was stopped with STOP instruction and all interrupts disabled.
- NCR53C770 emulation tweaks, fixes netbsd hang. Now it gets unexpected interrupt, no fix available yet.
- Version bumped to 2.9.0

PPC Notes:

- Only a proof of concept currently.
- Automatically enabled when CyberStorm PPC or Blizzard PPC emulation is selected.
- Only PearPC interpretive PPC emulation is currently supported. Speed is totally irrelevant at this point.
- PPC emulator runs in separate thread, it requires special handling with PPC IO accesses, IO accesses are serialized and sent to m68k-side. Plain memory accesses are direct. (This assumes M68K is still doing Amiga housekeeping duties and PPC is mainly used as a co-processor, probably will cause huge performance hit if PPC does everything, for example when running PPC-only operating systems)
- Should be fully m68k JIT compatible, at least in indirect mode.
- Dual core CPU or better required. If you don't have one, you are not allowed to report anything, sorry.
- PowerUP kernel does not work (hardware is not fully emulated). WarpOS appears to work.
- Do not use BlizzardPPC, it has (currently incompatible) PowerUP in flash and it runs at boot.
- Make sure CPU speed is fastest possible. PPC IO access serialization will be slowed down if m68k is waiting for chipset.

(Donations would be nice because PPC stuff is even more boring than "normal" stuff. Thanks)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 August 2014, 20:31   #227
Nickman1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Östersund
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_2900b9.zip

Beta 9: PPC emulation that was supposed to never happen has happened. Sorry
(Donations would be nice because PPC stuff is even more boring than "normal" stuff. Thanks)
donated!
Nickman1200 is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 20:43   #228
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickman1200 View Post
donated!
Me too
fryguy is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 21:36   #229
ShK
Apollo Team
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 256
Also, thank you so much your work Toni!
ShK is online now  
Old 07 August 2014, 21:42   #230
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Awesome work, and its a great start to a long requested feature

The emulation seems really slow (yes i did read "speed is irrelevant") at this early stage (maybe 7mhz like an A500 ) but it does seem to be working. Warp datatypes including os39 ppc picture.datatype and Amidi (WarpOS) are working for me atm, just quite slowly.

WarpSCUMM is working as well.

Most notable issue is the emu crashes in very bad way when trying to reset the emulation. crash box appears but the mouse is stuck in the winuae window. I have to alt tab a few times and middle mouse in order to get to task manager to forcibly quit uae.

EDIT: ADoomWOS is Working, but the game detects PPC is 0mhz so using so needs to be launch with 'ADoomWOS -Bus 40000000' adding -directcgx -mmu doesn't hurt either.

ADoomPPC (PowerUP) also working via emulated ppc.library for WarpOS.

NightlongPPC seems to hang once the initial game screen is opened before any anim is played.

EDIT2: fxPaint seems to happily detect and run in WarpOS mode.

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 08 August 2014 at 00:51.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 21:56   #231
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,123
Thanks Toni,
could it launch ppc games or amiga os 4 classic or is it too soon ?
turrican3 is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 21:57   #232
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Awesome work, and its a great start to a long requested feature

The emulation seems really slow (yes i did read "speed is irrelevant") at this early stage (maybe 7mhz like an A500 ) but it does seem to be working. Warp datatypes including os39 ppc picture.datatype and Amidi (WarpOS) are working for me atm, just quite slowly.
SManWOS (mandelbrot program from Aminet) at least seems to be "not slow". Check that log is not filled with strange messages and also make sure m68k CPU settings are as fast as possible (68060, fastest possible, no mmu, jit can be enabled, no cpu idle)

Quote:
Most notable issue is the emu crashes in very bad way when trying to reset the emulation. crash box appears but the mouse is stuck in the winuae window. I have to alt tab a few times and middle mouse in order to get to task manager to forcibly quit uae.
I don't think I tested this at all..

EDIT: Confirmed, will be fixed in next beta. PPC CPU in sleeping state wasn't woken up causing deadlock while waiting for CPU emulator to stop..

EDIT2: NCR53C770 spurious interrupt will be also fixed.


Thanks for donations

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 07 August 2014 at 22:18.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 August 2014, 21:59   #233
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
Thanks Toni,
could it launch ppc games or amiga os 4 classic or is it too soon ?
I don't know. Try it? Unimplemented instructions in PearPC emulation can cause problems with "full" operating systems.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 August 2014, 22:38   #234
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The emulation seems really slow (yes i did read "speed is irrelevant") at this early stage (maybe 7mhz like an A500 ) but it does seem to be working.
Yeah, maybe 7mhz if you have an 3.5GHz PC !!!

Because, according to PearPC site (http://pearpc.sourceforge.net/about.html) it runs about 500 times slower than the host.

Also, if using JITC-X86 (hopefully one day), the client will run about 15 times slower than the host ... what sounds much better -> f.ex. an 3.5GHz PC = 233MHz PPC.

p.s. Or even more, because of better efficiency of modern CPUs! ... but also not sure does PearPC JITC-PPC is faster than QEMU? (to be confirmed)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
PPC Notes:
- Dual core CPU or better required. If you don't have one, you are not allowed to report anything, sorry.
Cant help with PPC because of single core CPU in my PC-laptop, sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- CyberStorm MKII F0 ROM section of flash rom is now flashable. (third party mk2diag flash updater works)
- Blizzard PPC flash rom chip emulation now works correctly (was wrong mapping and wrong flash chip device code..)
Have checked and seems both works fine now! (BPCC boot menu saving too!)

Last edited by amilo3438; 08 August 2014 at 00:03.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 August 2014, 23:03   #235
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 232
Short test with OS4 Classic, it will not run at this time.

First of all, i have make a new winuae config.
Then i have made a new boot floppy for OS4.

1. If i try to boot from floppy, winuae will crash. (dumpfile done)

2. If i try to boot the cd from a workbench installation, first steps will done.
It loads from CD, then colorful flash an then ... red screen.
Thats all, seems winuae is running.

EDIT: i forgot, if i let the emulation run with red screen, the logfile will be bigger and bigger ... (can't uplaod the winuaelog_new.txt, 1.3 MByte and up)
EDIT2: with BPPC i tried 2nd step and winuae will crash like CSPPC with floppyboot
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b9_2014.08.07_22.55.45.dmp (92.0 KB, 83 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (17.6 KB, 119 views)
File Type: uae CSPPC.uae (20.3 KB, 94 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b9_2014.08.07_22.27.21.dmp (104.5 KB, 77 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b9_2014.08.07_22.45.32.dmp (119.1 KB, 74 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b9_2014.08.07_22.47.00.dmp (110.0 KB, 76 views)
File Type: dmp winuae_2.9.0_b9_2014.08.07_23.41.48.dmp (108.4 KB, 77 views)

Last edited by huepper; 07 August 2014 at 23:44.
huepper is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 00:06   #236
billt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(Donations would be nice because PPC stuff is even more boring than "normal" stuff. Thanks)
Donated! This PPC thing is pretty exciting to see happening, to whatever degree ti ends up as. I appreciate your plodding through the boring stuff.
billt is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 00:08   #237
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Great progress. Are there options when it comes to future PPC cores? Could QEMU or the Dolphin cores be used?
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 00:16   #238
Arling
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Beta 9: PPC emulation that was supposed to never happen has happened. Sorry
What do you mean ???

For ME it's simpel: If you don't like / want to Do PPC Emulation then ask someone else to do it.

Don't get me Wrong: It's G R E A T that you now Have done PPC Emulation

------

Now I have an excuse to buy a KryoFlux Set
 
Old 08 August 2014, 00:17   #239
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't know. Try it? Unimplemented instructions in PearPC emulation can cause problems with "full" operating systems.
Donation sent, Thanks Tony!

-Jeff
Magic is offline  
Old 08 August 2014, 00:26   #240
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
@arling

I think Toni is laughing at himself. For years he said PPC emulation would never be done by him.... Look at things now LOL
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 21 19 June 2013 11:54
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 1.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 54 18 June 2009 11:05
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27572 seconds with 12 queries