English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2014, 09:04   #1
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,511
Looking at buying an Amiga A4000/040

Hi all,

A couple of Amiga 4000's have come on the market near to where I am.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/v...-746428238.htm
http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/v...-746435465.htm

I don't have any experience with Amiga computers pretty much at all though so I'm not really sure if they're worth bidding on (starting price is approx 150 pound or 250 USD), and which one I should get. I note that one appears to have a VGA card and the other has a CD-ROM drive, if I get the VGA one I presume it'll take a standard PC IDE CD-ROM?


Thanks in advance
earok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2014, 09:29   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
US$250 is a decent price for a working A4000/040. Whether you should pay much more than that depends on what expansions exactly are installed. The old video editing related stuff isn't particularly valuable these days, unless of course that is exactly what you are after. Accelerator boards and graphics cards on the other hand are always in demand.

The CD/DVD drives that the A4000 uses are indeed standard IDE drives, not worth paying extra for.
ajk is offline  
Old 26 June 2014, 12:02   #3
Ze Emulatron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Otorohanga, New Zealand
Posts: 174
I am going to see the seller on Monday to pick up an auction I won for a Powermac 8500. I was going to see if I could help identify the specs of the machines, but I wont be bidding because they are out of my price range.
Ze Emulatron is offline  
Old 26 June 2014, 13:17   #4
Thalion
Amiga Collector

Thalion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 34
Posts: 643
As far as i can tell from the description it's a fair and good starting price for a A4000. So it's a bit of a pitty that you don't have the money for at least one of them. If i could i would buy one as its one of the models i still miss in my collection
Thalion is offline  
Old 26 June 2014, 19:14   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 829
Very reasonable compared to this offer:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...item27e5705d1d
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 26 June 2014, 20:57   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Very reasonable compared to this offer:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...item27e5705d1d
Jesus Christ, my eyes, I'm blind
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 07:00   #7
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,511
Thanks for the advice all, I appreciate it!

Kia Ora @Ze Emulatron, please let us know what you think of them.
earok is offline  
Old 27 June 2014, 10:28   #8
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Very reasonable compared to this offer:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...item27e5705d1d
So this guy is asking 225 plus your old A4000 case?

Does he believe to be Andy Warhol or one of those fancy modern artists whose their production, no matter how horrible, costs in the hundreds or thousands?
jbenam is offline  
Old 30 June 2014, 09:05   #9
Ze Emulatron
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Otorohanga, New Zealand
Posts: 174
I was told the last time the person had seen them working was in 2003 and then they went into storage.

The white Amiga 4000 seemed relatively ok, the battery looked like it had been replaced at some stage but it is still the barrel type, but the extra memory wasn't working. It had 5 memory sticks in the 5 slots. We took them out and tried them all in the Chip MEM slot and the computer booted up to the boot selection screen (both mouse buttons held down fine) we booted workbench with 1 of the 4 SIMMS without boot sequence and we believe that they are 1MB SIMMS. Having just got home I believe the jumper for SIMM SIZE was on the wrong setting, it was set to 1MB x 32 which is apparently for 4MB SIMMS not 1MB SIMMS so this might be why it wasnt detecting the 4 SIMMS in slots 0 - 4.

Workbench on the HDD was loaded with a whole load of rubbish and when it had finished loading there was only about 200K chip mem remaining out of 2MB before any folders were opened.

The Chinon 357A internal floppy drive didn't like my floppys, when I needed to boot from floppy I had to use my external floppy, I tried to format a new HD floppy disk and it had a problem formatting sector 0 and stopped. I could understand it not liking the other disks I had with me because they are HD disks formatted to DD with the hole taped over. We tried a couple of disks from the disks she had and they didn't work and made the drive screech a bit. It is possible it might be alright after a clean.

There are two IDE HDDs in the computer 1 was split into 3 partitions, 61MB free with 51MB used, about 500KB free with 10MB used, I cant remember whether the next partition was 112 MB free or 112 MB used , the other was split into 2 partitions 1575 MB free, 510MB used and 738MB partition that I couldn't open, possibly due to a lack of memory or needs to be formatted again. Not sure of the overall size of the drives and didn't record their model numbers. The partitions might not be listed in the correct order

It has an Emplant Card http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/emplant this had an Apple 160MB SCSI HDD attached, but the HDD wasn't screwed into the case it was attached via double sided tape to the 5 1/4" drive bay. It didn't show up in the amiga and didn't sound very healthy when it tried to start up. So we took it out to stop it getting damaged if it does work and if it needs to be shipped.

A Cybervision 64 Graphic Card http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/cybervision64 didnt test this with any monitor.


The sunfaded Amiga 4000 unfortunately has battery damage. The seller has uploaded some more photos to the auction to try and show the damage.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/v...-746428238.htm

It has an Oktagon 2008 SCSI card Rev 7 with Seagate ST3600N Drive and a Sony CDU765 CD Drive connected.

It has a Seagate ST31220A connected to the IDE.
Floppy Drive.

We didn't test the components in this Amiga because of the battery damage and we had just put the other Amiga 4000 back together again.

Last edited by Ze Emulatron; 30 June 2014 at 09:13.
Ze Emulatron is offline  
Old 30 June 2014, 11:45   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
That battery damage is extensive. I'd be surprised if a repair was feasible.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 30 June 2014, 11:54   #11
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
That battery damage is extensive. I'd be surprised if a repair was feasible.
While nasty looking, doesn't seem too bad either.

If you have a lot of patience it's definitely repairable
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 040 for A4000 Desktop magnetic MarketPlace 0 07 December 2010 01:42
WTB: 040 or 060 for A4000 MagerValp MarketPlace 0 16 August 2009 19:46
[For Sale] A4000/040 RetroMan MarketPlace 0 01 April 2004 01:15
Got hold of an A4000/040, but... SilentBob support.Hardware 9 28 November 2003 15:34
alienbreed 3d re: a4000 040 torr support.Games 10 09 August 2002 17:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22803 seconds with 11 queries