English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2014, 08:05   #1
MASH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
CDTV only works with ISO files and not BIN since WinUAE v2.4.2b7

Since WinUAE v2.4.2 Beta 7 (winuae_2420b7.zip) i cannot start CDTV games like 'Defender Of The Crown'
if the CD image has the extension ".bin".
It only works if i change it to .iso and the file info in the .cue to 'FILE "DefenderOfTheCrownCDTV.iso" BINARY'.
MASH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 June 2014, 08:43   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
I can't duplicate. Name of image in .cue is only a file name (FILE "filename" BINARY), it is not processed in any way or checked for extension.

Check the log for possible warning or error messages.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 June 2014, 09:14   #3
MASH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
I forgot to say that the .cue and bin are in a zip (Defender Of The Crown (CDTV).zip)

Zipfile:
DefenderOfTheCrownCDTV.cue (129 Byte - CRC-32: e312a46d)
DefenderOfTheCrownCDTV.bin (258 MB - CRC-32: 078a69d4)

CUE file:
FILE "DefenderOfTheCrownCDTV.bin" BINARY
TRACK 01 MODE1/2352
INDEX 01 00:00:00
TRACK 02 AUDIO
INDEX 01 00:58:00


The winuaelog.txt log file stops at:
56-437 [0 000=000]: CUE TOC: 'D:\X-Burn\X-Emulatoren\Amiga\Games\CDTV\Defender Of The Crown (CDTV).zip'

I used Windows XP and it also crashed with VirtualBox (XP).

Last edited by MASH; 19 June 2014 at 09:52.
MASH is offline  
Old 19 June 2014, 11:08   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,543
I renamed DOTC files to .bin, edited cue and zipped them. It still works.

You sure it is rename causing the problem and not different zip method or some other unrelated "something"?

EDIT: and 242b7 does not have any internal file handling or cd image changes either. Weird.

EDIT2: 242b7 has new memory allocation system, perhaps you run out of process address space memory (nothing to do with amount of physical memory) when zip unpack is in progress. This can easily happen with large zip files (400M+) under 32-bit Windows. Possibly new vs old zip file have different compression options and "old" required (much) more memory to unpack.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 19 June 2014 at 11:24.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 June 2014, 13:13   #5
MASH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
They work when i recompress them or renamed them intern to iso and
changed it back to bin. Seem that 7Zip did update the old file
Thanks for helping!
MASH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burned ISO. on Commodore CDTV j_sntos Amiga scene 7 09 March 2012 12:46
REQ: Defender of the Crown 2 ISO (CD32 or CDTV) booyah171 request.Old Rare Games 23 24 January 2011 17:36
ISO/Zipped CDTV & CD32 Compatability TEOL request.UAE Wishlist 5 31 August 2009 08:27
Xenon 2 CDTV ISO Vars191 request.Old Rare Games 4 13 April 2009 07:42
Raffles CDTV ISO haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 22 25 March 2007 09:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17596 seconds with 11 queries