English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2014, 23:24   #161
Amiten
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 519
Congratulations

I try in windows an android, I have to say "CONGRATULATONS" darkfalzx

In windows Core duo 1.86GZ I little bit Slow but playable need to see in i7 or AMD

Its Great Result, my Respects Cool Result , For Remake SOB its not a easy Task

I´d like your work, noto only SOB the others projects are Good as well.

Continue like this !

All the Best
Amiten
Amiten is offline  
Old 28 September 2014, 01:05   #162
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiten View Post
In windows Core duo 1.86GZ I little bit Slow but playable need to see in i7 or AMD
Dude - it slows down on your system? What shaders are you using if any?
The game runs fine on my Intel Atom netbook, so I assume it should run great on pretty much any PC capable of running a modern OS.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 29 September 2014, 20:54   #163
Artlace
 
Posts: n/a
I still suck at playing even Beast I. without trainers but I have tried the castle, tree, skeleton boss and I am still very impressed!

It's the sounds that should be resolved somehow....the original engine was very clever filtering the samples. I wonder if the player can be hacked with an Action Replay or similar, to turn the channels off somehow. It would really make a difference.
Also I noticed some pauses in the music or - again - was it just me? I am sure it was a hell of a job to capture all the music and then piece it together.


Still top job, I can't praise it enough!
 
Old 30 September 2014, 07:33   #164
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Man - it seems the shaders are killing my compatibility with older systems. I might take them out and replace them with software ghetto-shaders after all.
The machines most affected are older Intel graphics netbooks and cheapo office PCs.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 30 September 2014, 18:07   #165
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,492
The CRT shader is very ugly and very slow on my Nexus7 2013

A small bug - when starting the android build in portrait mode, the display gets very stretched and pixellated. Starting in Landscape mode fixes it nicely - might be an idea to force Landscape mode on startup?

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 30 September 2014, 19:31   #166
Artlace
 
Posts: n/a
I also vote for the ghetto shaders, at least that would be predictable. I still hope one day it will be available for alternative platforms - although I don't know how.
 
Old 01 October 2014, 00:23   #167
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Updated the build.
All improvements are to the engine, no game progress.

* Removed shaders, replacing them with software filters. The game can now run on much older machines with rudimentary shader support or even no shader support at all.
* Optimized video settings. At x1 window even in full screen the game will run full speed on any PC from the past 10 years.
* Android and Ouya now have separate builds. In my experience Ouya packages don't play nice with stock Android devices.

Windows build
Ouya console build
General Android build (The touch-screen controls are invisible, and incomplete)
Ubuntu Linux build
Mac build

Last edited by darkfalzx; 06 October 2014 at 18:20.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 01 October 2014, 01:13   #168
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,157
A bit disappointing but your decision. Filters looks like 12+ years ago. Anyway, the game itself is important. I will try Beast III when you've completed it.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 October 2014, 02:16   #169
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
A bit disappointing but your decision. Filters looks like 12+ years ago. Anyway, the game itself is important. I will try Beast III when you've completed it.
I am a bit bummed myself - it took effort to get the shaders to work properly. Unfortunately the game completely stopped working on machines with older videocards. I kept trying to preserve this functionality - but it was pretty much impossible to be sure. Besides - the only shader that was worth a damn was the HQx4, and the CRT one was kind of universally hated. I'd take being able to run the game on more machines over having these shaders any day of the week.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 01 October 2014, 02:48   #170
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,808
Would it not be possible to have an option for choice of shader?

Old machine - software filters
New machine - new shaders

Neil79 is offline  
Old 02 October 2014, 07:12   #171
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 946
The Mac build appears to be broken. I managed to get it to launch using LLDB but otherwise no luck.
ant512 is offline  
Old 02 October 2014, 21:17   #172
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 43
Posts: 1,406
Tried on android good stuff, controls are fine too.
nobody is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 18:26   #173
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
I'll look into the Mac problems.
Meanwhile - did some larger website run a story about this?
Woke up this morning to Dropbox suspending the public downloads.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 18:42   #174
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkfalzx View Post
I'll look into the Mac problems.
Meanwhile - did some larger website run a story about this?
Woke up this morning to Dropbox suspending the public downloads.

We did another update http://www.indieretronews.com/2014/1...ar-remake.html

109 facebook shares, over 2000 article views so erm yeh
Neil79 is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 18:50   #175
Djemps
Registered User

Djemps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkfalzx View Post
I'll look into the Mac problems.
Meanwhile - did some larger website run a story about this?
Woke up this morning to Dropbox suspending the public downloads.
A few recent mentions turned up in Google:

Indie Retro News' update concerning the most recent build HERE

And THIS little snippet on the GE Force forums.

Which references a quick post on BOINGBOING

Maybe it's the Boingboing article that did the trick?
Djemps is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 19:11   #176
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,808
wow cool, never knew it went that far Awesome
Neil79 is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 20:42   #177
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Yeah - it sort of exploded. Not sure how I feel about that, because there is pressure now to finish it: )
I have upped the game to medіafire - so now there should be no more issues with my Dropbox crapping out. EAB doesn't allow me to even say "medіafire" without using alt characters, much less link to it, so I guess you guys are stuck with my Dropbox for now.

ATTENTION MAC USERS! By default your machine might suggest that the file is "damaged and should be put in trash", this is due to your security settings. Apple are clever, by default they prevent all apps not downloaded through the appstore from running unless I pay them to put me on a "registered developer" list. Go to your System Preferences>Security & Privacy>General tab. Click the lock icon in the lower-left. This will prompt you to enter password. Now - change the "Allow apps downloaded from:" to Anywhere. Run my game once. Now you can change your security settings back to the way they were - your OS will remember to trust my game.

Windows build
Ouya console build
General Android build (The touch-screen controls are invisible, and incomplete)
Ubuntu Linux build
Mac build

Last edited by darkfalzx; 06 October 2014 at 18:20.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 21:06   #178
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,808
What's updated in the latest build? Just Mac fixes?

EDIT : Your download links are broken
Neil79 is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 21:16   #179
darkfalzx
Developer extraordinaire

darkfalzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ocean, NJ USA
Age: 42
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to darkfalzx
Well - this is bad - it's the EAB censuring my links! I guess I can't link medіafire to from here.
And no - the build is the same as before - no changes yet.

Last edited by darkfalzx; 03 October 2014 at 21:27.
darkfalzx is offline  
Old 03 October 2014, 21:17   #180
Neil79
IndieRetroNews
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkfalzx View Post
Well - this is bad - it's the EAB censuring my links! I guess I can't link to from here.
Use Bit.ly
Neil79 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shadow of the Beast AF2013 project.Sprites 9 04 May 2017 17:02
Which was the best shadow of the beast? magnox Nostalgia & memories 87 01 January 2008 04:18
shadow of the beast HELP!!! cmarcel23 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 11 August 2002 03:14
Shadow of the Beast Twistin'Ghost Amiga websites reviews 17 05 July 2002 22:12
Shadow of the beast Amiga 500+ support.WinUAE 1 18 April 2002 00:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09788 seconds with 13 queries