English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2014, 21:38   #1
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Amiga Midi Hardware Setup - How? Dummies guide needed

Hi All,

I decided to buy a Midi Music Master for my A1200.
It came today, serial interface only.

How do I get this thing working with my MT-32 or Sc-55?

Tried playing Space Quest 4 but nothing being received by the MT-32, I changed the driver to mt32.drv in resource.cfg but still nothing.

Do I need to set up a driver under OS3.9?

Any help appreciated....
Amicol is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 May 2014, 02:02   #2
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Still can't figure it out, I guess you need the driver disks.

Does anyone have them?

Device is made by Datel
Amicol is offline  
Old 20 May 2014, 12:11   #3
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...with-the-Amiga
johnim is offline  
Old 20 May 2014, 16:09   #4
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Thanks johnim,
Still no joy, not a peep out of the MT32.
Maybe it's a duff serial interface, although it was sold as working....
Amicol is offline  
Old 21 May 2014, 19:41   #5
Der Wanderer
Registered User

Der Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Mountain View / USA
Posts: 32
Can you describe what equipment you exactly have and how you have connected it?

I guess when Space Quest is "playing" MIDI music, it will sent the MIDI data to the onboard serial port. You need an MIDI interface to connect to the serial port and connect this MIDI interface via MIDI cable (din 5) to your MT-32.

A1200.serialport >> MIDI Interface.midi_out >> DIN5 cable >> MT-32.midi_in
Der Wanderer is offline  
Old 21 May 2014, 20:13   #6
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
@Der Wanderer
I took the Datel unit apart and noticed that someone had soldered a pin, on one of the chips, to an adjacent trace. I desoldered it and connected how the PCB intended. All now works perfect
It was indeed a hardware problem and not a software one.
Thanks anyway mate, appreciate the offer of assistance
Amicol is offline  
Old 21 May 2014, 23:07   #7
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,670
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I've got fourteen games working with the Roland. PM on the way.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 May 2014, 23:36   #8
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Fourteen! I only had 2!
Cheers my friend
Amicol is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amithlon Setup Guide Charlie project.Green Amiga Alien GUIDES 1152 07 December 2017 10:07
Quitkey setup for dummies? TroelsDK project.WHDLoad 5 03 July 2013 14:38
Any interest in a guide to using VSTi with MIDI? Madcrow support.WinUAE 8 26 September 2011 17:27
URGENTLY NEEDED: Amiga MIDI interface Akira MarketPlace 4 03 June 2010 20:03
I need a dummies guide to making a link with the Amiga & PC with a cable. MethodGit support.Hardware 18 01 November 2001 16:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19942 seconds with 11 queries