English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2014, 00:10   #21
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 652
If you can excuse my ignorance, what improvements does this add to the a600, it goes faster? Does it improve internet browsing?

Ok, so the phoenix core adds a 3d core to the a600?
Adrian Browne is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2014, 01:32   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
It adds a replacement MC68000 CPU in the form of an FPGA. Higher clock rate, probably single cycle instructions. Offering better performance than TG68k.C (another 68000 FPGA core)

For internet browsing you really should use something other than an Amiga.

No, it does not add 3D.

There was discussion Pheonix would add hardware C2P.

Last edited by alexh; 19 May 2014 at 01:42.
alexh is offline  
Old 19 May 2014, 01:32   #23
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Browne View Post
If you can excuse my ignorance, what improvements does this add to the a600, it goes faster? Does it improve internet browsing?
Yes, it goes much faster than the 68000. Web browsing should be much faster. It is not fully 68020 compatible so you would be limited to browsers that run on the 68000 which isn't many. It does have enough memory to run a capable browser if compiled for the 68000.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Browne View Post
Ok, so the phoenix core adds a 3d core to the a600?
There is no 3D core. A CPU can be called a core sometimes. A dual core CPU has 2 cores for example. There is no improvement in graphics other than increased speed.
matthey is offline  
Old 04 June 2014, 23:13   #24
Gunnar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Well, you sure got my like
Is it possible to run this demo on a stock A600 ? Or 2CHIP+ 4FAST one ?
Yes the demo only needs 128 KB
Gunnar is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 14:35   #25
CMTX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mallorca es Funki
Posts: 34
They already managed to boot CLI and some games with the Phoenix core!! That's exciting :P

http://www.apollo-core.com/bringup
CMTX is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 20:16   #26
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
going fully open source is what's needed. Documentation, pcb schematics & layout , hdl and synthesis scripts, plus firmware.

None of this closed source... "released when its ready" rubbish
+1 !!
wXR is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 21:38   #27
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 114
Am I blind? I can't find an update....
AMike is offline  
Old 02 September 2014, 21:59   #28
CMTX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mallorca es Funki
Posts: 34
@AMike scroll down to the bottom of this page:

http://www.apollo-core.com/bringup
CMTX is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Demo Coder Challenge - Vampire Beta Project ! Gunnar Coders. Asm / Hardware 342 29 July 2015 17:42
Swap CPU for a cooler running 68030 in ACA630 Photon support.Hardware 25 24 July 2013 03:58
I think my CPU is fried (A600) Redwood support.Hardware 6 06 September 2012 02:12
A600 Motorola 68010 cpu. lolafg Hardware mods 32 16 October 2009 05:53
Running X-Copy demo Kodoichi support.Demos 4 31 January 2004 13:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20343 seconds with 11 queries