English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 May 2014, 14:54   #1
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 131
WinUAE and music software

Does WinUAE support MIDI port emulation ?
Does anybody use it to run Music software such as Music-X , MusicMouse or Bars and Pipes ?
I seem to remember that Bars And Pipes had a 3 out MIDI box called Triple Play Plus , a quick Google says
"It can also be used with any software that supports the CAMD MIDI library via a special driver"
This would give 48 channels of MIDI , does anybody know if Music-X or MusicMouse support this ?

So many questions , I know what I'm doing with Mac and PC Music software , but I only ever used Music-X with a single MIDI port back in the hardware days !
willbloke is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 May 2014, 17:53   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,650
I just made a little a1200 030/881 JIT 2MB chip 32 MB Z3fast ram setup.
using default workbench kickstart 3.1 installed music-x 2.0 and VirtualMidiSynth - this one uses soundfonts.
i'm using here SGM-V2.01 soundfont.
once installed, in winuae you set "VirtualMidiSynth" at "IO Ports" as Midi out.
winuae will delay loading a bit - it will start the VirtualMidiSynth mixer/soundfonts first.
in music-x you can load for example imagine.perf - this will use the midi device.
if you have a midi-keyboard you choose your driver instead of "VirtualMidiSynth" in winuas "IO ports".
emufan is offline  
Old 01 May 2014, 18:49   #3
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 131
Cool , I've got the original install discs for Music-X , rather embarrassingly one of the few pieces of software I ever purchased .

Got a MOTU 128 express and a stack of MIDI Synths at work , will have a play !

Be good if I can get MusicMouse working as well .

Cheers emufan !
willbloke is offline  
Old 05 May 2014, 23:32   #4
Ricebug
 
Posts: n/a
I'm running B&P Pro through Amiga Forever. I didn't have much luck with the CAMD version, as it constantly crashed. What a shame, since it's so much prettier. Been a B&P Pro user since the software came out in the late 80's.

Anyway, it's a Win7 Pro AMD machine, 8-core 5 ghz CPU. Using a Roland M-GS64 synth. A4000 emulation. Sweet.
 
Old 06 May 2014, 16:38   #5
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Tried VirtualMidiSynth with some old software and it is indeed great.
I used the Evanessence2.sfpack wich I think is really great.But it has 1.2 !gigabyte! when decruched. So expext WinUAE to lag for a second or two if the midi port is enabled the first time.

Octamed Bars&Pipes and MusicX work fine.

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 11 May 2014 at 19:10.
Michael Sykes is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any good amiga piano music software? AmigaBoingBall Amiga scene 8 04 July 2009 08:24
Banzai (Swedish Software) music mai request.Modules 6 11 September 2008 21:48
FS: Soundscape & Dr T. music software manuals coze MarketPlace 0 12 February 2007 13:22
Dr. T's Music Software - X-oR thinlega request.Apps 7 07 February 2006 19:45
Complete Amiga Software-Packs (graphic/music) on eBay astuermer MarketPlace 0 04 June 2005 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14276 seconds with 11 queries