English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 April 2014, 23:28   #1
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 42
Would an A1200 cpu slot to A4000 cpu slot work ?

Hello, my first post here, I did ask the below question at Amibay but didn't get much feedback. Since this place seems to be the birthplace of some recent interesting hacks and hardware projects i'll try it here. It interests me.

Just something I wonder ... I saw busboards for A1200 that accept an A4000 accelerator. But would it work backwards ? An new ACA1200 with 128Mb ram on the cpuslot of an A4000 or even A3000 ? or maybe a blizzardPPC ? Can't be that expensive to produce if it works.
SimonV is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 April 2014, 09:24   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,945
AFAIK A1200 trapdoor slot has pins for full 32-bit address space but only 24 are connected in both Amiga and accelerator side. (Cheaper boards, cheaper memory controller)

24-bit CPU address space limit in A4000 would not allow access to A4000 mainboard fast ram or to any Z3 boards.

It probably would "work" but it would make mostly useless A4000.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 09:53   #3
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
Are the remaining 7 address lines present on the A1200 motherboard? ...lack of time to look at PDF.

Last edited by delshay; 23 April 2014 at 10:16.
delshay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a Zorro II port to an A1000 via CPU slot Paul_s Hardware mods 12 01 November 2009 20:04
Amiga A4000 video slot pinout alexh support.Hardware 14 29 October 2008 09:50
Help converting an 8bit ISA slot to 16bit ISA slot Smiley support.Hardware 4 25 April 2006 12:20
Dragon1200 busboard with Coldfire in cpu slot Effy News 6 19 April 2005 23:05
Which slot is the video slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 13 21 November 2003 13:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11795 seconds with 11 queries