English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2016, 23:41   #121
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
So does connecting a USB-PS2 adapter and PS pad work out of the box without doing much else using this adapter as a CD32 7 button pad?
Features of Ryś



  • support for mouses using both USB HID and USB-PS/2,
  • support for USB HID joysticks,
  • support for USB HID pads,
  • support for both USB HID and USB-PS/2 keyboards,
  • ready for use with every Amiga (although some models may require additional adapters),
  • ready for use with Commodore 64 (without support for mouse),
  • ready for use with Atari ST (require additional adapters),
  • built-in USB stack,
  • „Bootloader” function facilitating future firmware upgrades,
  • „Status” indicator LED providing information about device’s state,
  • built-in EEPROM memory enabling user preferences storage,







  • built around 16-bit Microchip microcontroller utilizing nanoWatt technology,
  • 3 mouse emulation modes,
  • joystick mode (emulating original joystick behavior),
  • pad mode (emulating original pad bahavior),
  • CD32 pad mode (original CD32 pad emulation mode),
spidi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 January 2016, 20:05   #122
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,686
Ryś MKII is now available from AmigaKit.com here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1272
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 13 January 2016, 19:33   #123
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 51
Hi is this any help in getting wireless controllers to work ?
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 18:06   #124
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
Just ordered a Rys adapter from Amigakit.

I'm looking to get a wireless mouse for the CDTV and I've narrowed it down to 2 choices:

Logitech M185
or
Tracer Fiber RF TRM-170W

Has anyone any experience (good or bad) in using either of these mice with the Rys MK2?

For the looks and the resemblance to the CDTV mouse I'm leaning towards the Tracer but if the Logitec works better then I'll get that one.

Last edited by Arnie; 04 February 2016 at 18:15. Reason: coz i can
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 13:19   #125
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Anybody tried an original SNES pad+USB adapter with the Rys MK II? I don't like the PSX/PSX style pads because the d-pads aren't good enough. Would be nice to know it if can use a SNES pad as a CD32 pad replacement since the buttons fits.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 12 February 2016 at 14:31.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 17:19   #126
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
I have tried the Logitech wireless rumble pack game pad and it works really well.
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 18:43   #127
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Anybody tried an original SNES pad+USB adapter with the Rys MK II? I don't like the PSX/PSX style pads because the d-pads aren't good enough. Would be nice to know it if can use a SNES pad as a CD32 pad replacement since the buttons fits.
[ Show youtube player ] works well with the new firmware.
spidi is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 18:49   #128
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Nice, so chances are good that an original SNES + Tomee USB adapter works fine in CD32 pad mode too?

Have you tested WHDLoad games which have full CD32 controller support, like Hybris, Battle Squadron, Midnight Resistance, Slam Tilt etc. This would be my main reason to buy it.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 12 February 2016 at 18:54.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 19:01   #129
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Nice, so chances are good that an original SNES + Tomee USB adapter works fine in CD32 pad mode too?
There is a good chance that it will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Have you tested WHDLoad games which have full CD32 controller support, like Hybris, Battle Squadron, Midnight Resistance, Slam Tilt etc. This would be my main reason to buy it.
Ryś works with games that offer full support for the CD32 controller.
spidi is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 19:03   #130
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Great, so i will try it. Vesalia sells your adapter too. Will report then if it works as expected. If not i'm sure you can fix it with a new firmware.

Last questions for now: You have 4 different firmwares on your website. Are they all flashable into one adapter or is only one firmware at once allowed? Can i use an USB 3.0 A-A cable for the upgrade, or do i need a normal USB 2.0 A-A cable?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 12 February 2016 at 22:03.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 23:32   #131
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
^ The adapter has a USB 2 socket.
Arnie is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 23:41   #132
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Sure. But the only USB A-A cable i have here atm is a 3.0 one. I assume it should work if i plug it into a USB 2.0 port, right?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 23:42   #133
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Great, so i will try it. Vesalia sells your adapter too. Will report then if it works as expected. If not i'm sure you can fix it with a new firmware.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Last questions for now: You have 4 different firmwares on your website. Are they all flashable into one adapter or is only one firmware at once allowed? Can i use an USB 3.0 A-A cable for the upgrade, or do i need a normal USB 2.0 A-A cable?
Only one firmware.
USB 2.0 A-A cable.
spidi is offline  
Old 12 February 2016, 23:44   #134
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Ah ok. Thought the USB 3.0 cable would be backward compatible in a USB 2.0 port.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 February 2016, 00:56   #135
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Ah ok. Thought the USB 3.0 cable would be backward compatible in a USB 2.0 port.
Is your USB3 cable, A A, by any chance?

I can use USB3 External drives in USB2. The cable is different to normal USB2 cables.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 February 2016, 01:00   #136
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Ah ok. Thought the USB 3.0 cable would be backward compatible in a USB 2.0 port.
Is you USB3 cable A to A by any chance?

I can use USB3 External drives in USB2. The cable is different to normal USB2 cables (A to 10 pin micro b).
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 February 2016, 06:44   #137
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 45
Posts: 977
Hum, this makes me think back about my Saturn-to-USB adapter which the Rys doesn't seem to like. @Spidi, Is there anything I could provide in order to help you support it?

If you have for example a USB test program to run and analyze the inputs from that device that could help you figure out why it is not recognized as a proper controller (OS X has no issues recognizing and using the controller), I would be more than happy to do so and provide you back any data it would collect.

Just let me know.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 13 February 2016, 16:06   #138
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
@Arnie: Never mind. I already ordered a USB 2.0 cable.

@spidi: Can i use the adapter with Amiga firmware flashed on a C64 too or is it mandatory to flash the C64 firmware? Any chances that the original Sega Mega Drive 6-Button pad (MK-1653-50) + RetroLink USB adapter works too (Amiga 1200 as CD32 pad)?

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 13 February 2016 at 17:36.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 14:00   #139
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 10,241
Ok, got my adapter and flashed the latest Amiga firmware. Results are a mixed bag.

Mouse:

Microsoft wireless mouse 5000 = not detected

Joypads:

Sega Saturn original USB pad from Sega SLS = detected, but only the directions work. None of the buttons.

SNES original pad with Tomee USB adapter = works fine in joystick and gamepad mode but i can't switch to CD32 pad mode.

Mega Drive original 6-Button pad with Retrolink Adapter (2 ports) = detected but not properly. Sometimes the button work but the directions not, or the directions left+up are activated at once permanently.

Logitech Gamepad F310 with cable = works fine in joystick and gamepad mode. I can switch to CD32 pad mode. This works fine in Psygore's joystick test program and with original CD32 games via WHDLoad installed. BUT: The disk games patched for full CD32 pad support in WHDLoad acts mostly strange (tested with Giana Sisters, Slam Tilt, Hybris, Battle Squadron and Flashback. Though Midnight Resistance was fine). The four main buttons seems all the same and running in some kind of autofire. And the games freezes some times completely the machine.

Logitech Dual Action with cable = same like the F310.


Well, i hope you can fix some of this issues with a new firmware. Tell me what infos you need, spidi.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 16 February 2016 at 14:24.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 14:11   #140
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 58
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
The four main buttons seems all the same and running in some kind of autofire.
This happens with my Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2 when I switch modes.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga USB Mouse Adapter Amigan123 MarketPlace 35 18 March 2015 06:24
Dual Amiga joystick USB adapter sidchip Retrogaming General Discussion 0 19 January 2014 20:51
Amiga Joystick to USB Adapter Cable amigakit.com MarketPlace 21 16 July 2011 11:53
WTB: Amiga Joystick to USB Adapter mr.niceguy MarketPlace 9 20 February 2010 18:16
Amiga Joystick > USB adapter. Smiley Hardware pics 10 16 September 2009 18:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26787 seconds with 11 queries