English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 May 2014, 19:57   #41
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,010
Just downloaded it. Now going to install it on my 040 A2000 and try it out. Sounds good.
ptyerman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 May 2014, 19:58   #42
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by demether View Post
Thanks !

For me the important things are :

Whdload installed
Anti-floppyclick (even if in the next weeks, I'll probably swap the floppy drive for a Gotek)
pcmcia compact flash adapter and FAT "drivers" installed for my PC>amiga transferts

And...That's pretty all I need, I believe.
Whdload is not installed., but you can install it without troubles.
anti-floppyclick is an option present in the DOSPrefs commodity.
FAT95 is already installed, but you need to install cfdevice yourself.
gulliver is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 20:56   #43
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
arg. Bad news. I really suck using Amigaos. Really. I already ruined my setup (classicWB) 3 times trying to modify or install this or that. ^^
demether is offline  
Old 25 May 2014, 15:15   #44
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
Hi,

yesterday night ( yes, I have nothing else to do on staturday night than trying new configs on my amiga ) I made a try with BetterWb.

I like it, even if I miss the apps I was speaking about. I'm also a Dopus fan, so I 'd probably install it too.

I'm currently asking myself, what is the easiest way ? Install a light system like BetterWb, and add the things I need, or install a more complete (and complex) pack and remove what I don't need (I tried this way twice, and ruined my installed system ).

So I believe I'll take my chance with BetterWb. Is there a specific support topic, or should I post on EAB "regular" forums ?

thanks
demether is offline  
Old 25 May 2014, 15:29   #45
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
If you want BetterWB support, you are welcome to post here
gulliver is offline  
Old 25 May 2014, 16:54   #46
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
Thank you !

I'll work on it now, and come back later with my inevitable questions
demether is offline  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:30   #47
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
I'm configuring my CF card on winUAE first, so I just installled BetterWb with glowicons (16colors).

Before anything else, I decided to test this bare system on my real amiga 1200 (stock machine, 8mb fast), in the objective resolution (640x512, since I will swap my old 1085s for a vga lcd soon). And I'm really surprised of the result. I opened prefs workbench, prefs, system, utilities, tools windows + work:/games/a folder with about 20 or 30 folders icons : everything stills near as fast (maybe as fast, I can't remember when I opened so many windows on my miga) as if I was using normal stock 3.1 icons

Really impressive optimization


Now, time for serious work. First, install Dopus with arcextract button inside it
demether is offline  
Old 25 May 2014, 20:29   #48
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
After a complete afternoon of a terrible fight, I surrender. A full custom configuration takes too much time, even starting with BetterWB. I almost made no progress (installed virusZ, a few libraries, and a half working version of Dopus).

I'll go for a ClassicWB lite version, and keep it as is. Otherwise, next year I'll still be struggling with workbench configuration (I know it's a hobby for a lot of amigans, but not me I'm afraid).

thanks anyway, BetterWb still a really cool pack !
demether is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 02:26   #49
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
Last update for the week end : I installed classicwb, and even if some of the features I wanted are already installed (dOpus, whdload), other ones are really difficult (for a lame amigan like me) to disable.

Some other tweak I'd like to add are impossible to do because they cause conflicts (as far as I understand) with the tweaks already installed too.

So finally, maybe creating my "perfect wb" from a BetterWB installation will be easier.

I'll keep you informed of the next (fascinating) episode of my AMigaOS reborn.

EDIT : by the way, in BetterWB Dopus-like program, when I want to unarc a LHA archive, there is an error saying something like "error Lz L command unknow". So I went into prefs and changed it to "lha x". THen, it worked. I don't know if it's a bug or not.
demether is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 02:31   #50
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
It sounds you have lots of troubles with AmigaOS.

If you want, just tell me which Amiga you have, with which hardware expansions, and I can help you with Dopus, Whdload, VirusZ and cfdevice on BetterWB.

I can only feel sorry for you, and also feel an Amigan duty to help you out
gulliver is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 14:00   #51
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
Thanks for you help !

I've got a basic a1200 with 8mb fast ram, and a pcmcia compact flash adapter. Soon I'll receive a GBS8200 converter to plug it on a LCD vga screen (and then, I'll use a 640x512 resolution).

Basically, all I need are :

Dopus 4.x (I can't remember the classicwb version number, but I'm used to it for files managing and unarc)

Whdload preinstalled (I've got amiga forever for the legal roms) and the "thing" to see the nice whdload games icons (but if I remember correctly, BetterWb already have it)

CF "driver" so I can use my CF card (for transferts pc>amiga)

VirusZ (to check amiga files I download on PC before using them on the real amiga)

THen I "should" be able to add myself the last things I'll need (basically, anticlick, black border, and a games frontend), and of course my games and apps (but for this, only a few of them "resisted" me )


thank you !
demether is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 14:53   #52
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Do you want classic 4 color icons or prefer glowicons in 16 colors (or even more colors)?

Which kickstart rom do you have? 3.1 (40.68) or 3.0 (39.106)?
If you dont know, just open a shell window and type "version" without the "" and press enter.

Last edited by gulliver; 26 May 2014 at 15:00.
gulliver is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 15:10   #53
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
Hi,

I've got roms 3.0 ! I just readed the chips on the motherboard, since I opened it to take the CF harddrive (I prepare it on winUAE, that's the only thing I achieved to do correctly! ).

GlowIcons in 16colors seems to be quite fast on my real amiga (I tested it during week end), so it will be a nice addition, especially since I'll go for higher res soon.

thanks !
demether is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 17:46   #54
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Okay, it is done.

You have private message

Let me know if you need any adjustment.
gulliver is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 17:59   #55
demether
Registered User
demether's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: france
Posts: 104
thanks !
demether is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 22:03   #56
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 862
Is there a version that uses MagicWB icons? I can't stand the newicons/glowicons look

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 23:41   #57
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Is there a version that uses MagicWB icons? I can't stand the newicons/glowicons look

D.
No, no MagicWB iconset yet.
If you dont like GlowIcons, you still have the classic 4 color icons set as default.
gulliver is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 07:01   #58
ajack
Registered User
ajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 114
I am experiencing a weird bug with BetterWB 3.6 and hope somebody can help me fix this.

I have an Amiga 500 (PAL, rev 6A), modded to have 1MB Chip RAM, and have installed Kipper2k's A508 which gives me a CF-IDE and 8MB Fast RAM. I also have a 68010 processor on this unit.

I installed Workbench 3.1 and have 3 partitions on my 4GB CF card at 320MB (DH0), 1.7GB (DH1) and 1.7GB (DH2). When I switch over to GlowIcons, I am unable to create a folder (drawer) via Workbench or more correctly, I can create one (using RA-N), but when I try to open the folder with a double-click, the whole workbench hangs on me. However, switching over to the standard icons and this problem goes away. I can also just use GlowIcons, but must remember to create my folders via shell.

Anybody have this problem or have a solution? I love glowicons as the workbench looks pretty boring without 'em but have this strange problem. Any advice on this is greatly appreciated!

Last edited by ajack; 17 July 2014 at 07:18. Reason: Updated info...
ajack is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 14:03   #59
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
Hi, I have been able to reproduce that erratic behaviour and managed to fix it:

Download and install a new version of icon.library.
Get it from here http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=814987&postcount=1
It is the "IconLib_46.4.360.lha" attachment in that post
Rename the 68000 version as "icon.library" and copy, replacing your old one into your Libs: folder.

Alternatively you can wait a couple of days when I release a new version of BetterWB and use the corresponding update to fix this.

BTW, thank you for the report.
gulliver is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 16:21   #60
ajack
Registered User
ajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 114
Wow! That was fast, will try it when I get home, having dinner now...
ajack is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BetterWB 3.4 gulliver News 21 17 April 2014 20:55
BetterWB 3.3 gulliver News 6 22 February 2014 13:38
BetterWB 3.2 released gulliver News 16 01 January 2014 20:33
BetterWB - release 2.0 gulliver support.Other 32 27 January 2012 23:35
BetterWB - release 1.0 gulliver support.Other 28 20 May 2011 17:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32123 seconds with 12 queries