English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2014, 19:38   #1
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
A gold star to the first Amigan who can work out what's going on in this pic..

Can you beat the Cube?

Never mind the Cube, check this out...


Last edited by TCD; 07 April 2014 at 22:42. Reason: Link to image conversion for obvious reasons...
Mounty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 April 2014, 19:47   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
external gotek board.
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 19:52   #3
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
external gotek board.
Correct!!!

Just passed functional testing, and will be on eBay tomorrow!

Happy days!!!
Mounty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 21:15   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Great, when do I get my gold star?

I'll swap it for one of those boards
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 21:20   #5
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
If im right thats df1:+ so most games wont work.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:05   #6
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
um there seems to be something pornographic in the "also" section...
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:16   #7
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
If im right thats df1:+ so most games wont work.
Nope you're not right, but good guess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
um there seems to be something pornographic in the "also" section...
Eh???

Last edited by prowler; 07 April 2014 at 22:19. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Mounty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:24   #8
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
lol!

Check the 'images you'll also enjoy' under the main pic'
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:35   #9
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
ahahaah i saw it too.... the guy looks like an alcoholic, and the girl looks like a whore of the seventies XD !!! ahaha :P just my 2 cts
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:36   #10
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-Byte View Post
lol!

Check the 'images you'll also enjoy' under the main pic'
Haha!!

I didn't notice that before! How did they get that camera into my bedroom???

Mounty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:38   #11
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
So it connects to df0?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:41   #12
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
So it connects to df0?
No, it appears as DF1:

You can boot from it from the early boot menu (at least on the A1200 you can).

Nothing wrong with DF1: thousands of games use it.
Mounty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:44   #13
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Thousnands? Sorry wrong most games or decent commercial games wont work - just a warning
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=695468#post695468
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=620381#post620381

Last edited by Retro1234; 07 April 2014 at 23:12.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 22:51   #14
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Thousnands? Sorry wrong most games or decent commercial games wont work - just a warning
My friend, I'm not going to get into an argument with you about how useful external drives can be.

It's all been said before many times.

Also, you don't think HM gave his firmware DF1: support for nothing do you?
Mounty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 23:22   #15
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Could these boards be used with a normal floppy drive? I have an external drive that needs a new board.

Would it be possible to create a board that suports HD disks?
Arnie is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 23:44   #16
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mounty View Post
My friend, I'm not going to get into an argument with you about how useful external drives can be.

It's all been said before many times.

Also, you don't think HM gave his firmware DF1: support for nothing do you?
Boo Boo has a point though. A LOT of trackloading games aren't going to work from DF1.

As a second drive for games that support disk 2 in DF1, probably very useful though. It was sweet having a second drive back in the day.
john1979 is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 07:16   #17
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Could these boards be used with a normal floppy drive? I have an external drive that needs a new board.

Would it be possible to create a board that suports HD disks?
That's one thing I'm going to be investigating today. My gut feeling is that it will work.

I don't think it would be possible to attach a HD to a floppy port directly, although you could attach one via a Gotek drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
Boo Boo has a point though. A LOT of trackloading games aren't going to work from DF1.

As a second drive for games that support disk 2 in DF1, probably very useful though. It was sweet having a second drive back in the day.
It's not just about games. Still, I would be interested in seeing a list of those games if anyone has compiled one. Perhaps this issue has been blown a little out of proportion.

Last edited by TCD; 08 April 2014 at 12:17. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged
Mounty is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 11:13   #18
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mounty View Post
It's not just about games. Still, I would be interested in seeing a list of those games if anyone has compiled one. Perhaps this issue has been blown a little out of proportion.
It hasn't. Many multi-disk games didn't even support a second drive. The list of single-disk games which won't run off a second drive is going to be absolutely HUGE.

Last edited by prowler; 09 April 2014 at 00:34. Reason: Fixed quote.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 11:41   #19
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
It hasn't. Many multi-disk games didn't even support a second drive. The list of single-disk games which won't run off a second drive is going to be absolutely HUGE.
That's why a lot of people have DF0:<->DF1: switches in place

If you want to use an external drive with track loader games you need to fool the Amiga in thinking that the external drive IS DF0:.
jbenam is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 11:52   #20
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
That's why a lot of people have DF0:<->DF1: switches in place

If you want to use an external drive with track loader games you need to fool the Amiga in thinking that the external drive IS DF0:.
LOL the moment Mounty brings out an external drive adapter the entire world goes anti-external drive.

Mounty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mutation Gold Compilation - only 2 out of 5 games work. MethodGit support.WinUAE 8 30 September 2013 20:38
Assange is an Amigan gilgamesh Amiga scene 23 10 October 2012 23:17
Scientific Amigan ehaapani AMR suggestions and feedback 3 28 March 2007 15:34
DMC Gold Version 3 / Disk Magazine Creator Gold Version 3 andy2004 request.Apps 2 12 September 2006 00:33
Does anyone have United PD Gold / UPD Gold CD? ferrycorsten request.Old Rare Games 11 11 April 2005 21:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21575 seconds with 11 queries