English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2014, 16:13   #21
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I like this, .
[ Show youtube player ]
Thanks That is a recording from AsmOne, but I already have it working on the DE1 board, and it will be ported to the original minimig soon
chaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 April 2014, 17:32   #22
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
Thanks That is a recording from AsmOne, but I already have it working on the DE1 board, and it will be ported to the original minimig soon
Is there any quick setup guides for FPGA Arcade?
Have one here, Mike was supposed to get back to me last year, but never did.
They were having trouble with the menu core, from what I remember then I heard nothing and still havent to this day.

Was hoping to show it at retro replay blackpool this year.


Any chance a mod can split topic, think we have drifted off topic.
Sorry.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 18:19   #23
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
FOL: sorry, don't know much about the FPGAArcade, all I know is it is about to be ready soon Best to ask Mike at fpgaarcade.com forum.
chaos is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 19:42   #24
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
FOL: sorry, don't know much about the FPGAArcade.
Niether do I thats the problem. ok, Ill email mike again.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 19:47   #25
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 455
I dont understand to have AGA support and no '020 code...
A bit useless. What do you think?
tolkien is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 20:11   #26
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
Thanks That is a recording from AsmOne, but I already have it working on the DE1 board, and it will be ported to the original minimig soon
Superb boot menu
lolafg is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 21:05   #27
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
For interesting me, he need to have the power of a 68040/50mhz but any improvement is welcome.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 21:21   #28
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Yaqube even ;-)
My mistake : Yaqube of course , thanks Alexh
lolafg is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 07:39   #29
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
chaos am I right in thinking there's a more up to date (2010) (non ARM version) core download on this page http://code.google.com/p/minimig/downloads/list

PGL100818_AltCoreSel.zip - PGL100818 Pic firmware supporting FYQ100818 FPGA core adding support for alternate core loading but without support for turbo keyboard switching - Oct 2010
PGL100818.zip- PGL100818 Pic firmware supporting FYQ100818 FPGA core - Oct 2010
FYQ100818.zip - YQ100818 FPGA core file - Aug 2010

NovaCoder where did amiga-news.de get their info for this new board version, correct me if I'm wrong but it's not even on the ACube Systems Website

the Minimig+ pictures are linked from http://www.soft3dev.net/hardware-images/
Seems all a bit April Fools to me, although I hope it's not

Last edited by Kitty; 08 April 2014 at 08:05.
Kitty is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 11:20   #30
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
I dont understand to have AGA support and no '020 code...
A bit useless. What do you think?
I doubt they have an AGA core, they're just saying the board *could* run AGA core. AFAIK there is no publicly accessible / opensource AGA core. The only one is from Yaqube for the FPGA arcade, and it isn't certain when / if that will be available for others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
chaos am I right in thinking there's a more up to date (2010) (non ARM version) core download on this page http://code.google.com/p/minimig/downloads/list

PGL100818_AltCoreSel.zip - PGL100818 Pic firmware supporting FYQ100818 FPGA core adding support for alternate core loading but without support for turbo keyboard switching - Oct 2010
PGL100818.zip- PGL100818 Pic firmware supporting FYQ100818 FPGA core - Oct 2010
FYQ100818.zip - YQ100818 FPGA core file - Aug 2010
Looks like it Sorry, I'm not too familiar with the original PIC firmware and I never worked on it. The PIC is also a little too slow to support most of the advanced features of minimig, especially the hard disk support is much slower than with ARM, but it is available.

Last edited by prowler; 08 April 2014 at 23:52. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
chaos is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 11:32   #31
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
this new board version, correct me if I'm wrong but it's not even on the ACube Systems Website

the Minimig+ pictures are linked from http://www.soft3dev.net/hardware-images/
Seems all a bit April Fools to me, although I hope it's not
As every good news site, they always link to the source - even if it's not too clear (it's on the left of every news)

http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/...order=0#732076

There you go, my friend
jbenam is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 14:27   #32
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
The PIC is also a little too slow to support most of the advanced features of minimig, especially the hard disk support is much slower than with ARM, but it is available.
Incorrect, . Its only slow if you have a massive HDF image, .
Use 500MB and its very quick, you'll be saying "ARM, whats that".
FOL is offline  
Old 23 April 2014, 23:57   #33
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
So how does this work? You boot up the Kickstart ROM then use a AutoConfig Rom to patch all the calls to the dragonball chips? Is the Gfx Mode planar or Chunky? What's the sound like? 4 chans?
redblade is offline  
Old 24 April 2014, 03:49   #34
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
The FPGA Arcade Replay core for the Amiga emulation has full AGA support along with the 020 instruction set.

I am the North American distributor for this product, and I am helping to work on it.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 24 April 2014, 03:59   #35
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
The FPGA Arcade Replay core for the Amiga emulation has full AGA support along with the 020 instruction set.
But when will it be finished?

This (very interesting board) has been 'almost' retail ready for the past 4 years.....we're not getting any younger here
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 19:00   #36
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
The boards themselves have been done and sitting around for a LONG time. Mike should be checking in one of the last versions of the Floppy/HD support this weekend. It looks like the last AGA timing bug has been fixed. It's been demo'd all over the world running various hardcore AGA demoscene stuff, so it's quite compatible for sure. So, it should not be long.

There are already numerous arcade game machines done and available for it, along with a VIC-20 emulator and a C64 emulator that is nearly completed. There are plans for an Atari ST emulator (which won't be much of a stretch with the 680x0 core already completed for the Amiga emulation).
JimDrew is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 20:14   #37
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
So, can you go now and buy an FPGA Arcade Replay board and then upgrade it with the AGA core when it comes out?
I saw a demo at Datastorm and it seemed pretty cool, but full of bugs.
Akira is offline  
Old 25 April 2014, 22:53   #38
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 496
ALL of the cores are just software that is uploaded to the board. So, updates are just a matter of copying the new core on to the SD card. You select the core you want to run using a built-in menu system.

The board has an open source library for its video, audio, etc. so anyone can port any existing FPGA project to the board. Several people have already ported their projects over to the board, giving us Atari 800 emulation among others.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 12:23   #39
DyLucke
Cookie Muncher
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spain
Age: 42
Posts: 232
Hmmmm, i guess i have to ask something.

For now i feel this Minimig+ is insufficient, it seems it could just perform like an average 030, plus, as Nova pointed if it's a mere 68000 core, it will lose the instructions needed for many AGA programs to run.

I have a question for experts here.

We have seen several attempts of implementation in the last years.
Many ideas... We even have seen the attempt to build new hardware from scratch.

We have concluded that actual hardware can't implement a "fast enough core" to effectivelly retire our old "fast" hardware.

But, what about using several cores?

I mean... What about a low-cost PPC as a CPU having two operating modes selected by user (native PPC and emulated 68K) and have audio and video emulated thru two different implementations over two different chips?

It's clear it would come with a more expensive price, but i'm not sure it would be more expensive than a full-fledged A1200 including 060 board and such.

I guess there won't be problems to implement AGA (with extra modes and features) over some FPGAs, and audio would be much easier... About the CPU core, i guess the 020 core included in UAE could do the task... And could run quite well on a low-cost PPC if selected.

However, as i'm not an expert, i don't know if this idea has serious drawbacks.

Cheers.
DyLucke is offline  
Old 26 April 2014, 13:46   #40
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
DyLucke:

there are no hardware limitations making a soft-core 68k CPU that would at least approach a real 060 speed, but someone would have to write it, which is quite a lot of work for a single person.

Also, I think using PPC CPUs nowadays is not really a good idea for many reasons, especially the price.

I believe the best way forward are the new 'SOC' FPGAs, with a fast hard-IP ARM core, which should be capable enough to run a software emulation of a 68k CPU, the custom chips can than be implemented in the FPGA.
chaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acube systems and postage from Italy to UK DDNI MarketPlace 3 16 July 2012 23:26
ACUBE Offer Complete SAM system with case £361/Ä409 Mikey_C Amiga scene 2 16 January 2010 16:11
ACube Systems Bundles AROS with Motherboard Sune Salminen News 8 31 July 2008 00:47
Minimig / Acube systems cosmiq Amiga scene 39 25 March 2008 12:17
Acube systems announces the availability os Amiga OS 4.0 Ultron News 16 27 April 2007 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39567 seconds with 11 queries