English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 April 2014, 05:09   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
MiniMig+ (ACube)

Anyone know more details about this sucker?



Looks interesting, sounds like it might have AGA and use the 020 softcore
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 April 2014, 10:46   #2
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 456
I think we need this type of hardware. Our old Amigas start to fail. I have fear if all our Amigas died and the world become dark and cold.
eeeerm....any info?
tolkien is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 10:52   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
I think we need this type of hardware. Our old Amigas start to fail. I have fear if all our Amigas died and the world become dark and cold.
eeeerm....any info?
Yep they aren't going to last forever

Quote:
ACube Systems: Pictures of Minimig-Plus board
Massimiliano Tretene by ACube Systems has published two pictures of the "Minimig +". In November the FPGA-board with a DragonBall-Super-VZ-processor was announced and is supposed to have the power of a 68030-processor with 30 MHz and unlike its previous issue providing sufficient space for an AGA-core.

Additional to 32 MB RAM (extensible up to 64 MB) and 8 MB Chip-RAM, it features two USB-ports, network connection, realtime clock, two SD-card reader and 18-Bit video output.
http://www.amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-...-00009-EN.html
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 11:05   #4
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Looks interesting indeed

It's great that all the connectors are on one side, looks like there's ethernet and USB. I wonder about that DIP socket, I hope it's not meant for a PIC Probably not, the upper right corner looks like an ARM cpu. I wonder what the expansion ports are for, the smaller one could be clockport maybe?

The choice of the CPU is interesting: http://www.soft3dev.net/hardware-ima...g_Plus_CPU.jpg, too bad it's not something like a '030. And I hope they used something better than a Xilinx Spartan 3

EDIT: thanks to the info provided from NovaCoder, I don't have to guess anymore about most of the stuff on the board
chaos is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 13:57   #5
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
66 MHz, 10.8 MIPS for Super VZ.
The Minimig+ incorporates Super Z cpu are 66 mhz, no 30
is what I read
Amiga DragonBall !!
vitux is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 14:53   #6
Yakumo9275
Registered User
Yakumo9275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lexington VA
Posts: 94
The MC68SZ328 SuperVZ is end of lifed. Freescale dont manufacture them anymore
Yakumo9275 is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 19:32   #7
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakumo9275 View Post
The MC68SZ328 SuperVZ is end of lifed. Freescale dont manufacture them anymore
I don't think we should worry about this. Surely there is at least a thousand of these CPUs around. And I seriously doubt anyone can sell more than one thousand Amiga boards. So... I welcome this MiniMig +.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 21:24   #8
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Just one hope : Yagube !

Will surely buy this one !
lolafg is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 09:07   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolafg View Post
Just one hope : Yagube !
Yaqube even ;-)
alexh is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 09:14   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
030? Pffft, no thanks.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 12:30   #11
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
But is the DragonBall fully 68k compatible?

Anyway lovely to see something which isn't always the same ol' rehash of the original MiniMig design.
jbenam is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 14:00   #12
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Already I understand
is a 68000-66 MHz and equivalent to a 030-30
jbenam according to wikip is fully supported.
Hewitson, I want a new Amiga 060
Instead of continuing where we were, let back down again
vitux is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 14:25   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitux View Post
Already I understand
is a 68000-66 MHz and equivalent to a 030-30
It is in MIPS, it might actually be a bit quicker though when you take into account the faster memory access (possibly equivalent to a the fastest 030 in a real A1200).

The problem is that it doesn't support 020 instructions that most AGA games require, so even if you load the AGA core into the FPGA (apparently it will fit) you still won't be able to play most of the AGA games on it

It's a shame that it doesn't have a bigger FPGA so that you could load the 020 softcore into it along with the AGA core
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 14:37   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Shame they didn't use a Zynq FPGA with integrated ARM
alexh is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 14:40   #15
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Novacoder, in mips is 10.8 MIPS, frequency is 66 for SuperVZ
yes, these additions can improve functionality
vitux is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 15:20   #16
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
I am interested in what firmware this will run, seeing as the original Minimig firmware (without ARM Controller board support) has been in limbo since the FPGA Arcade Replay came out and hasn't been updated in years.
I have hope for this though, will be cheaper than FPGA Arcade board and should be powerful enough to run whdload with no issues, subscribed to thread
Kitty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 15:27   #17
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Kitty:

There is (at least) some development going on on both the original PIC cpu, the ARM and the Verilog code, if you're interested, you can check out http://minimig.net.

As for the PIC/ARM side, MMrobinsonb5 made some nice updates to the ARM code, which, if I'm not mistaken, were back-ported to the PIC.

Of course, these are not 'official' updates, but at least some people are still working on it.
chaos is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 15:28   #18
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
It needs AGA support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos View Post
Kitty:

There is (at least) some development going on on both the original PIC cpu, the ARM and the Verilog code, if you're interested, you can check out http://minimig.net.

As for the PIC/ARM side, MMrobinsonb5 made some nice updates to the ARM code, which, if I'm not mistaken, were back-ported to the PIC.

Of course, these are not 'official' updates, but at least some people are still working on it.
Beat me to it.


I like this, .
[ Show youtube player ]
FOL is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 15:52   #19
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos
There is (at least) some development going on on both the original PIC cpu, the ARM and the Verilog code, if you're interested, you can check out http://minimig.net.

As for the PIC/ARM side, MMrobinsonb5 made some nice updates to the ARM code, which, if I'm not mistaken, were back-ported to the PIC.

Of course, these are not 'official' updates, but at least some people are still working on it.
thank you chaos , could you point me specifically to the right thread, I can't seem to find it

Last edited by Kitty; 07 April 2014 at 16:05.
Kitty is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 16:07   #20
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
Kitty:

after a quick search, I believe these are the latest releases for the original minimig board:

PIC: http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=272
ARM: http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=584
FPGA: http://www.minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=605

Please read the linked topics, as not all firmware / FPGA versions work together.
chaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acube systems and postage from Italy to UK DDNI MarketPlace 3 16 July 2012 23:26
ACUBE Offer Complete SAM system with case £361/Ä409 Mikey_C Amiga scene 2 16 January 2010 16:11
ACube Systems Bundles AROS with Motherboard Sune Salminen News 8 31 July 2008 00:47
Minimig / Acube systems cosmiq Amiga scene 39 25 March 2008 12:17
Acube systems announces the availability os Amiga OS 4.0 Ultron News 16 27 April 2007 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44354 seconds with 11 queries