English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2014, 02:28   #1
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Would it be possible...

...to add a function to bsdsocket emulation that renders a website newer than html3 into pictures of clickable single frames?

I came across that blog and my first thought was cool that could revive IBrowse and AWeb but its just a pyton script for mac.

http://virtuallyfun.superglobalmegacorp.com/?p=3910
Michael Sykes is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 April 2014, 18:29   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Complete HTML parser in bsdsocket.library? No thanks It also wouldn't work, bsdsocket.library is too low level. (No way to know if it is browser requesting some url and if url1 and url2 are supposed to be shown in same browser window or different windows..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 April 2014, 22:56   #3
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Ahh I see. Thanks for the quick answer.
Lets hope that netsurf gets some upgrades within the next decade or so...
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 04 April 2014, 23:06   #4
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 152
Best way to implement that proxy is to setup a virtual machine (using VMWare Player or VirtualBox) with linux or whatever and run the proxy on that, with bridged networking. Then just configure the Amiga navigator to use it as a proxy and you're done. No need to pollute WinUAE's code with that kind of thing...
Noth is offline  
Old 05 April 2014, 00:44   #5
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
No need to mess with UAE code.Just creating a dll on the windows side that parses the html and sends the data to an emulated proxy on the amiga side would do the trick.
But I guess the details and problems attached to that matter are far beyond my understanding.
The solution you suggested seems doable but emulating a whole PC on a PC to feed an ancient Amiga Browser in an emulator on the very same PC with proper information is a bit too over the top even for me.
On the other hand I did the same thing to have Firefox in RDesktop on the emulated Amiga since XP had some strange restrictions I don't remember and it did not work anymore like before on 2000.
BTW: Workbench in P96 and set to the same as windows resolution + full window in emu settings + Allways on top checked + firefox open on win side redered this redundant.
Just press alt-tab and firefox is on the workbench.

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 05 April 2014 at 00:57.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 05 April 2014, 01:26   #6
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 448
You can go to this site with IBrowse e.t.c. and enter the address of the site you want to view:

http://pici.picidae.net/
James is offline  
Old 05 April 2014, 02:54   #7
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
A bit slow but it works great with IBrowse. Thanks James.
Michael Sykes is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16577 seconds with 10 queries