English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 March 2014, 17:58   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,124
sharpened display ?

could it be possible to have a way to have sharpened display with winuae, i mean like we change the contrast etc ... ???
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2014, 19:45   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,544
Every single pixel is visible so what we can sharp? You can adjust that with your monitor, not emulator.
s2325 is online now  
Old 01 March 2014, 20:39   #3
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
How about to get yourself some glasses ?!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 20:40   #4
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Every single pixel is visible so what we can sharp? You can adjust that with your monitor, not emulator.
Apply a simple sharpening box filter? Could probably find a shader to do that.

Even with all pixels visible, a sharpen filter enhances the edges between regions of contrasting colour and can look quite good on the right kind of image.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 20:44   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,634
Though a contrast, gamma, saturation panel for WinUAE would be nice. Toni said iirc someday, if he can find a decent algorithm for it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 01 March 2014, 21:06   #6
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,167
I would like a panel for contrast, gamma, saturation and hue too: with a fictional image like it is the one on screen in any amiga game it would be cool to drastically change colors
Marcuz is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 21:08   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Check Display panel. (But why? Use display card control panel to adjust colors, it works much better because it may not be limited to 8-bits per color channel)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 March 2014, 21:17   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,634
The current panel in "Display" tab isn't good enough imo, especially for color look/vibrance.


Quote:
But why? Use display card control panel to adjust colors, it works much better because it may not be limited to 8-bits per color channel
I prefer more cooler display colors in PC OS, more warmer/vibrant in emulators. So, it would be an annoying switch between them.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 02 March 2014, 00:18   #9
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
The current panel in "Display" tab isn't good enough imo, especially for color look/vibrance.
I think the panel should be complete (with saturation, hue, etc.), even if the algorithms used to implement they, are not optimized for quality. But I am happy with what Toni will decide.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 02 March 2014 at 01:28.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 00:48   #10
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,167
I have a reason why not to use card controls that selfish: because the PC where I have Winuae is the one I use to work too, and I prefer not to fiddle with profiles there, I need to keep color correction safe, plus the control on my monitor are almost unusable, as the brightness and contrast there are so high by factory that if I don't keep them really low I suffer headaches in minutes of work.

This is no reason that should apply to everybody, and admittedly it's not a feature that would have large use, I'm just saying it would be cool to try it.
Marcuz is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 09:02   #11
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcuz View Post
I would like a panel for contrast, gamma, saturation and hue too: with a fictional image like it is the one on screen in any amiga game it would be cool to drastically change colors
I always wondered what it would be like to use the YIQ color space the Amiga was intended to have originally.

HAM would have been really great.
mc6809e is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 13:48   #12
Tsak
Registered User

Tsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Athens
Posts: 201
Not exactly sure if that's what turrican3 meant by "sharpened winuae display" but truth is that UAE generates loads of blurness when screen resolution is set to something like 800x600 e.t.c.
Set your display at a resolution like 1280x1024 (full screen) or 640x512 (windowed) and display will automatically become much sharper.
Tsak is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 17:09   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,634
For LCD you have to select the native resolution of you display, then there is no blurry image due to scaling/interpolation. 800x600 or 1024x768 is something for CRT monitors or very very old LCDs, which have this native resolution.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Display in OS 3.9 videofx support.Apps 4 24 July 2013 18:45
display problem! help please! Gordon support.Hardware 3 06 September 2009 22:09
Display problems ginge73 support.Hardware 8 20 July 2009 10:21
Winuae 1.6.1 display pb dlfrsilver support.WinUAE 17 21 June 2009 13:09
Display problem abelthorne support.WinUAE 1 25 November 2003 13:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16530 seconds with 11 queries