English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2014, 10:57   #521
tomse
We need more scans!

tomse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 42
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post
That is why I said that he can make "bounty" for firmware update, which will cover his work hours expenses.

However, I am a bit skeptical about it, since there are no news form the author for several months.

Do you think that current firmware status works good to justify buying Gotek? Is it suitable for fitting in A1200 internally without modifying case?

Thanks,
The current firmware has a few quirks, but it's in a good working order to be used.

you'll have to do some modding on the gotek drive plastic casing itself to make it fit in the desktop models. You can pull out the switches and attach them to a new becel in the back expansion port. You'll need to access those switches quite often for diskswapping. if you move the leds outside, all you need is space enough to be able to plug in the USB drive.
tomse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 November 2014, 11:09   #522
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post
However, I am a bit skeptical about it, since there are no news form the author for several months.
The last post from HM on his website was 23rd August. Hardly a long time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HM
This is not the end of the project, but I have to found another way for it to avoid such abuse.
Which to me means he's either going to license the SW (i.e. legally enforce resellers to pay) or produce his own floppy drive units which would not be binary compatible with Gotek.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 November 2014, 12:30   #523
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
or produce his own floppy drive units which would not be binary compatible with Gotek.
Resellers would just keep selling the old firmwares, which are "good enough" for the majority of users anyway
jbenam is offline  
Old 03 November 2014, 14:35   #524
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post

Do you think that current firmware status works good to justify buying Gotek? Is it suitable for fitting in A1200 internally without modifying case?

Thanks,
Is working well whit my A500+ i dont try yet on A1200, yes you can put it with out modifying case
Anemos is offline  
Old 04 November 2014, 00:25   #525
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
Aaaargh!

I've just spent hours arranging, sorting out my Amiga Demos into individual alphabetical folders and now when I enter into my Demo folder my Gotek doesn't see anything!

My MUSIC and GAMES folders are fine, I can browse the drive perfectly well and things load except for the DEMO folder.

Does anyone know what I've done wrong?

[EDIT]

My PC can see all the Demo folders, so I know they are actually on the USB drive.
stu232 is offline  
Old 04 November 2014, 00:57   #526
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 637
Back up your USB to your PC then reformat it. Put on everything again from your backup and see if it fixes it. For some reason the Gotek firmware doesn't put things in order if you add files later on.
Superman is offline  
Old 04 November 2014, 09:21   #527
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
The selector.adf, keeps some information after save list.
Must Not to add changing files - folders from PC, after the first save selector.adf.
If selector.adf crash Try rewrite it only this file, but the best solution is formating the usb stick and write new files - folders.
Anemos is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 21:15   #528
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
Thanks guys, I'll give that a try.

Just to be clear on this, once I've added files to the usb stick I shouldn't add any more as the Selector.adf will only see files which were present when it was first run?

[edit]

I replaced Selector.adf with a fresh copy but I have the same problem

I suppose I'll have to make a backup then reformat the usb.

Last edited by stu232; 07 November 2014 at 21:23.
stu232 is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 21:51   #529
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 637
You can add files but it wont put them alphabetically. It just chucks them to the bottom of the list of whatever directory you add them to. A fresh format and than re add from scratch is the only way. I always add new stuff to my backup and then when I want it on the Gotek I format and copy the whole lot again. Takes about 10 mins but its worth it to get the order listed correctly.
Superman is offline  
Old 11 November 2014, 00:22   #530
mamejay
 
Posts: n/a
You can sort out your USB drive via a windows pc.
Search for a program called fat sorter.
This will reorder your files correctly and includes sub directories.
 
Old 11 November 2014, 18:35   #531
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
I thought I'd just ad this info.

My Gotek(s) where acting up... Filenames were messed up, the boot menu froze at beginning, while assigning disks, on exit etc. and the Gotek it self froze or wouldn't load anything. I was beginning to think the drives, or I, was cursed..

I read through this entire thread, and on Herves blog, looking for someone with the same problem... Combining a few possible solutions from the later, I finally got everything working!

Since these were not mentioned here, I'll just put the info here, if others are having the same problem.

1. Not every release works! Examples. "FLT" version of Cannon Fodder (1) and B.C.Kid. Test another version! I found that "DC" version of B.C.Kid works, and "CSL" version of CF1 works.

2. The TOSEC names are waaaaay to long. Rename the file "Game name" + "Disk numbers", cut everything else!

3. If one version is BAD (point 1.), the selector gets corrupted, the drive freezes etc. Test ONE game at a time.

4. If you have assigned a game to #1, you can't overwrite it. You need to format the drive, get a clean selector.adf

Hope this will help others
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 12:46   #532
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Would be handy if there was an easy way to batch rename TOSEC sets to shorter names.... Any ideas?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 November 2014, 13:11   #533
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,183
Look for 'Ant renamer', simple yet brilliant batch file renamer, almost endless possibilities.
dirkies is offline  
Old 15 November 2014, 13:27   #534
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkies View Post
Look for 'Ant renamer', simple yet brilliant batch file renamer, almost endless possibilities.
If you have a Mac running OSX then Automator is brilliant for creating file renaming workflows and it comes with your OS.
dJOS is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 09:28   #535
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
Mine came yesterday, I soldered extra pins and flashed, it works Ok. Didnt have time to check for compatibility just tried two adfs. I suppose lots of them wont work because of kickstart 3.1? Any news from author about new firmware versions? Any news from him at all?
amigappc is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 09:30   #536
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post
Mine came yesterday, I soldered extra pins and flashed, it works Ok. Didnt have time to check for compatibility just tried two adfs. I suppose lots of them wont work because of kickstart 3.1? Any news from author about new firmware versions? Any news from him at all?

I pm'ed him with no response..
Vot is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 09:51   #537
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
I pm'ed him with no response..
He doesn't come here any more (since July) but he has posted to his website
alexh is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 23:06   #538
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
Where? I cannot see anything new? (besides the fact that he is pissed of that someone are selling preflashed devices)?

I sent him PM as well, asking that he open donation Paypal channel.

Anyway, I wanted to ask, is it secure to pull out USB till Amiga and Gotek are turned on (hotplug)? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
He doesn't come here any more (since July) but he has posted to his website
amigappc is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 01:45   #539
R-Typer
Registered User

R-Typer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Serbia/Subotica
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post

Anyway, I wanted to ask, is it secure to pull out USB till Amiga and Gotek are turned on (hotplug)? Thanks.

Its safe. Im doing this for a long time with several different usb sticks.
R-Typer is offline  
Old 23 November 2014, 22:33   #540
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
Author came online on his Blog after long time, and approved many comments. In case he reads this forums, I want to suggest few things:

1. Open some thread for firmware suggestions

I have some:
a) When you look at list of files in the adf launcher, if filenames are long, highlighted name should start to scroll (on initial screen, and slots screen)
b) possibility to rearrange files by name on initial screen
c) Possibility to create/format empty ADF disk from Workbench, in order to use as savegame disk
d) Possibility to use drives df0-df3 (or more) without manual switching of disks using buttons (if something like that is even possible?)
e) Possibility to delete adf file on USB directly from menu on Amiga
f) Possibility to select from which slot to start prior to restart ( Save, restart and start on X )
g) Option to clean (eject) all slots at once (useful if you mapped 50 adfs)

Last edited by amigappc; 24 November 2014 at 23:31.
amigappc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 15:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 10:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22820 seconds with 12 queries