English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 May 2014, 13:00   #441
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
I wouldn't be surprised if he got fed up with people profiting on his work. I know I would be. I'm not talking about those few people that sell them for few $ profit, but people like this, and there are few of them like that.

Maybe he should add text to selector that stated if you paid more than $25-$30 you were ripped of as it's free to download. Or something...
Solo761 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 May 2014, 13:38   #442
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Ouch, I agree that bloke is profiteering big time!!!
dJOS is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 14:43   #443
mamejay
 
Posts: n/a
I was reading the comments on his blog and he mentioned that he is close to having cpc and Atari st firmware ready. He mentioned that once he nails the st firmware the cpc will follow.
 
Old 26 May 2014, 14:49   #444
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,235
Mine arrived today.

Removed protection, needed device reset (as warned), flashed firmware & it's great!

Reads, writes & acts just like an FDD...nothing new to add, but I'm just really happy with how well this works

Just remember if you alter/reformat/etc the "disk" (.adf) it will retain the same name in .adf form & will need to be changed manually for menu/emu purposes, but aside from that, it's just like a floppy 100%

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 26 May 2014, 23:28   #445
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
I've tried piezo speaker mod today and it was kinda failure. It seems 2cm buzzers are too small, sound is barely audible . I should have assembled it on bread board first to experiment with resistor values. That's next on my to do list. Just fyi
Solo761 is offline  
Old 27 May 2014, 03:34   #446
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo761 View Post
I've tried piezo speaker mod today and it was kinda failure. It seems 2cm buzzers are too small, sound is barely audible . I should have assembled it on bread board first to experiment with resistor values. That's next on my to do list. Just fyi
which mod did you try with what type of buzzer, piezo buzzer will not work with my mod, only the magnetic type. Also, the buzzer is polarity conscious so the "+" terminal should be connected to the 5v side of the wiring

Last edited by kipper2k; 27 May 2014 at 04:23.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 May 2014, 09:32   #447
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
I used "old" mod, from robinsonb5. I finally had all the parts. It works, but it's really quiet, I'll have to play with resistor values a bit.

I might try your mod, I've pulled one buzzer from ITX case few days ago. I just need to look up it's rating to see if it'll work with +5V.
Solo761 is offline  
Old 27 May 2014, 13:18   #448
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo761 View Post
I used "old" mod, from robinsonb5. I finally had all the parts. It works, but it's really quiet, I'll have to play with resistor values a bit.

I might try your mod, I've pulled one buzzer from ITX case few days ago. I just need to look up it's rating to see if it'll work with +5V.
it should work fine, the first attempt i did was with a buzzer pulled from a motherboard and it worked fine
kipper2k is offline  
Old 27 May 2014, 14:23   #449
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
It should be easy to set up, I've used 3 pin plug from one old fan so I could get easily to +5V, GND and step, it'll come in handy for experiments like these

*edit*

Connected it and works fine, if a bit too loud (never satisfied ). But when put inside Gotek an inside A500 I guess it will be just right. Tried with 4k6 ohm resistor and it is quieter, but I think I'll stay with 1k resistor to be on the safe side. Only thing I'm not sure of is buzzer's voltage rating. I think motherboard buzzers are 5V rated.

Last edited by Solo761; 27 May 2014 at 19:47.
Solo761 is offline  
Old 13 June 2014, 17:11   #450
af0l
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigo-mexicano View Post
Thanks Johan1973. I will re-check the soldering (it has soldered pins and a jumper) when I get home.

I hope that works because I am going mad haha
I'm guessing that didn't help. Because it's either going to the programming mode or not.

What did help for me was the following.

You have to use linux (possibly osx) and stm32flash.

1. connect the cables to your gotek
2. connect the usb cable to the computer
3. enter stm32flash -k -b 115200 /dev/ttyUSB0 into the console and DO NOT PRESS ENTER!
4. reset the GOTEK (connect RST and GND)
5. Now IMMEDIATELY press ENTER.

You should get something like :
Code:
root@SERVER:~/stm32flash# stm32flash -k -b 115200 /dev/ttyUSB0
stm32flash - http://stm32flash.googlecode.com/

Serial Config: 115200 8E1
Version      : 0x22
Option 1     : 0x00
Option 2     : 0x00
Device ID    : 0x0418 (Connectivity line)
- RAM        : 64KiB  (4096b reserved by bootloader)
- Flash      : 256KiB (sector size: 2x2048)
- Option RAM : 16b
- System RAM : 18KiB
Read-UnProtecting flash
Done.
Repeat steps 3-5 if it didn't work.
All should be well from here.

Issue the following:

Code:
stm32flash -b 115200 -w CortexAmigaFloppyEmulator_1.05a.hex /dev/ttyUSB0
to flash the darn thing
 
Old 13 June 2014, 17:16   #451
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Any news on the Amstrad gotek firmware yet?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 14 June 2014, 14:17   #452
zharn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 147
another gotek fdd emu converted to cortex firmware. had to use xp and prolific's driver, and didnt like the first usb stick i tried. but working well now
zharn is offline  
Old 14 June 2014, 15:13   #453
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
I like XP, i still have a computer that i have with Win98 and a parallel port ... "just in case"
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 June 2014, 15:20   #454
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
I had to use xp with the prolific usb adapter. However how do those 6 wire easy flash ones work that i have seen people selling on ebay. What else do they supply to put it into programming mode.

I had to do the reset even with xp with the goteks to get them to program. Except for one i accidentally applied reverse polarity power to. Whoops! teach me to talk to my mum while flashing them. That one when i put the right polarity went into programming mode straight away.
Vot is offline  
Old 16 June 2014, 11:05   #455
Johan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
They provide +3.3V to the Boot pin. As easy as that. I have a cheap USB to TTL adapter that works even with windows 8, and provides +5V and +3.3V. Hooked it up to supply 3.3V to the boot pin, instead of jumpering 3.3V on the drive to boot, and voila, it is in programming mode when I attach it to pc for programming.

This is the one I use and which I see are sold with those "easy to program" goteks..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1pcs-New-USB...item5d411e9ab1

Last edited by Johan1973; 16 June 2014 at 11:36.
Johan1973 is offline  
Old 28 June 2014, 09:21   #456
steevsee
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigo-mexicano View Post
I am still in problems to connect the device successfully. I was using the protec usb adapter, bought a second one that comes all covered in black plastic, and I just received a third one, this time a CP2102 one.

And the gotek behaves EXACTLY like it was before, when connecting the green Tx light is very dim, and it is not recognized, not in windows and not even in linux. When I try to connect to it, the dim green light goes off (just the red power light stays on). If I reset, the device goes back to dim green Tx and bright power leds.

The adapter itself shows fine on /dev/ on linux (tty and cu) and also on windows, the driver install OK and it shows on the configuration, I was using COM4.

If I test the adapter, in fact I tested al three, making a bridge from tx to rx, it gives me echo commands on a serial terminal.

So, the gotek I got could be damaged? Weird thing is that I bought two, one with display and buttons and one without them, to test. Both do the same thing.

I saw on some ebay auction that the 3.3v line was also connected, what is that for? Is not used just to reset? Check here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gotek-Floppy...item19ecf5ab58

It says: "Here we have a CP2102-based USB to TTL programmer, especially modified to work with the Gotek floppy emulator. An extra connector has been fitted to the 3.3 volt line so that the device can easily be set into programming mode."

SPECIALLY MODIFIED? It's not supposed to work without any modification, just as-is?

Any ideas? I am completely stuck here...
I was having the exact same problem with connecting until I set the baud rate to the lowest speed. Now connects every time, though it takes about 10 minutes to flash.
 
Old 29 June 2014, 00:24   #457
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Any news on Amstrad yet?
Neil79 is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 00:45   #458
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
Anything new on the DiskCopy + Write to ADF failures ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 01 July 2014, 02:37   #459
MoreBITS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 50
After having some issues with the firmware flash step, I now have two Goteks flashed.

At least according to the flash loader, reached the end successfully.

I loaded the SELECTOR.ADF onto an 8gb and a 1gb usb stick in the root of the stick.

When I connect the emulator to the amiga, or to a power supply the display just shows "---"

This is on both emulators, with either stick.

I have the connections for flashing all removed, and the jumper set to S0.

I have connected it to both floppy connectors on my Amiga 2000, but it never boots from the emulator, and the display on the emulator never shows 000 or H-C

Any ideas? What is the boot sequence of the LED display supposed to be?
MoreBITS is offline  
Old 01 July 2014, 13:46   #460
JanciB
Registered User
JanciB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bratislava / Slovakia
Posts: 188
I got --- on gotek too. Or I got number on it but it was not possible to change position with the buttons.

I then quick formatted the usb stick with 32k block size. And that worked out.

J.
JanciB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 15:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 10:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36455 seconds with 12 queries