English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 April 2014, 16:51   #281
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
This is the serial log from my flash attempt.
The Flash loader demo sends 7F to the gotek and gets back a 00

------------------------------------------------------------------------

The device has just been connected to the system.
000002: Create Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.750 +14.449 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
Process 0x1294 (<Unable to retrieve process name>) attempted to open the device
000003: Create Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.050 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
Process 0x1294 (<Unable to retrieve process name>) create request status: 0x00000000
000004: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_TIMEOUTS: Set timeouts
ReadIntervalTimeout=5000
ReadTotalTimeoutMultiplier=5000
ReadTotalTimeoutConstant=5000
WriteTotalTimeoutMultiplier=5000
WriteTotalTimeoutConstant=5000
000006: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_QUEUE_SIZE: Set queue size
InSize=2048
OutSize=2048

000009: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_BAUD_RATE: Retrieve Baud Rate
Baud Rate=115200

000011: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_LINE_CONTROL: Retrieve line control
WordLength=8
StopBits=1 stop bit
Parity=Even parity

000013: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_CHARS: Retrieve special characters
EofChar=0x0
ErrorChar=0x0
BreakChar=0x0
EventChar=0x0
XonChar=0x11
XoffChar=0x13
000015: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_HANDFLOW: Retrieve handshake information
ControlHandShake=0
FlowReplace=0
XonLimit=2048
XoffLimit=512

000017: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_BAUD_RATE: Retrieve Baud Rate
Baud Rate=115200

000019: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_LINE_CONTROL: Retrieve line control
WordLength=8
StopBits=1 stop bit
Parity=Even parity

000021: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_CHARS: Retrieve special characters
EofChar=0x0
ErrorChar=0x0
BreakChar=0x0
EventChar=0x0
XonChar=0x11
XoffChar=0x13
000023: I/O Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_GET_HANDFLOW: Retrieve handshake information
ControlHandShake=0
FlowReplace=0
XonLimit=2048
XoffLimit=512

000024: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.800 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_BAUD_RATE: Set baud rate
Baud Rate=115200

000026: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_CLR_RTS: Clear RTS

000028: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_CLR_DTR: Clear DTR

000030: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_LINE_CONTROL: Set line control
WordLength=8
StopBits=1 stop bit
Parity=Even parity

000032: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_CHARS: Set special characters
EofChar=0x0
ErrorChar=0x0
BreakChar=0x0
EventChar=0x0
XonChar=0x11
XoffChar=0x13
000034: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_HANDFLOW: Set handshake information
ControlHandShake=0
FlowReplace=0
XonLimit=2048
XoffLimit=512

000036: I/O Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
IOCTL_SERIAL_SET_TIMEOUTS: Set timeouts
ReadIntervalTimeout=4000
ReadTotalTimeoutMultiplier=4000
ReadTotalTimeoutConstant=4000
WriteTotalTimeoutMultiplier=4000
WriteTotalTimeoutConstant=4000

000038: Write Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
Buffer size: 0x1 bytes
7F 

000041: Read Request (UP), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
Buffer size: 0x2 bytes
Status: 0x00000000
00 00 ..

000044: Close Request (DOWN), 02.04.2014 15:45:45.810 +0.0 (1. Device: Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM8))
Buffer size: 0x0 bytes
voyager is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 April 2014, 17:25   #282
Mounty
Hardware Design Engineer

Mounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: www.KMTech.co.uk
Posts: 372
Mini external floppy adapter for Gotek drive

I'm just in the middle of developing an external diskette drive adapter aimed at the Gotek drive, but it should work with other drives too.

It is very compact, similar in design to our PS/2 mouse adapters as the pcb is directly attached to the dsub connector.

Awaiting the PCBs from the board house (about a week to go).
Mounty is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 17:47   #283
e5frog
Green
e5frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Älvängen / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 261
Send a message via MSN to e5frog
Flashed mine yesterday, only needed to reset end re-connect once on my Windows XP system after deprotecting it.

Used an old 16MB (yes MegaByte) USB memory to test it out, had been using it to boot HDClone before. Stuffed the SELECTOR.ADF there and a few old favorite games from some Tosec archive...

Amiga 2000 booted the initial ADF fine and after the initial disappointment that the cortex intro didn't have any music I noticed the "FS init error !" on the last row, so "half way there" right?

Any tips here, I'm planning to reformat the USB memory and try just adding the SELECTOR.ADF and a single game with the standard 8+3 character layout just to be sure.


That speaker mod seems nice, I have a few of those piezo-speakers in a plastic housing that gives a slight volume boost, if needed.

Last edited by e5frog; 02 April 2014 at 18:00.
e5frog is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 18:02   #284
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Mmmm I can read the gotek sometime with stm32flash for windows, but looking at the dump file with a hex editor it does not look the same to the 1.04 version.
voyager is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 19:54   #285
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
@voyager

My Gotek did the same as yours but resetting the drive did the trick.
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 21:12   #286
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
I tried but noway, separate 5v used etc, it does not get the response it is waiting for, the drive sends back 2 bytes 00 00 and the flash tool closes the connection.

The stm32flash dos version I get more response out of the gotek, but I need to know the correct commands for flashing the firmware.

still.. this is also a very irregular thing, I can read the software, it resets the drive but if I give the same command the second time it can not communicate with the drive.

Its not only that I want my gotek flashed but I want to find out why this happens to so many people. I think the next step will be a linux try, but I'am very bad with linux :-)
voyager is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 22:59   #287
e5frog
Green
e5frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Älvängen / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 261
Send a message via MSN to e5frog
Perhaps speed is too high? Mine was set to 115200 but on the authors page 19200 is mentioned as trouble free.

I was annoyed today when trying to start Pinball Dreams, it didn't seem to start after the boot text. :-(
e5frog is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 01:29   #288
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
I've flashed my second gotek yesterday. It was the same as with the first one, for some reason it didn't work with USB2.0 ports, but when I plugged my USB TTL to USB3.0 it worked from first try and flashing was done in 10 seconds.

I installed the first one in A500 and it's kinda tiresome to get up (I put near the TV) and prod the buttons inside with a screwdriver every so often. So here's the solution, IR remote for gotek

[ Show youtube player ]

This here is just a prototype/concept test with Arduino Uno, final goal is to have small board with ATtiny MCU and fitted inside Gotek. Remote is 1$ mini universal remote from ebay. Only few buttons, but more than enough for gotek .
For starters I'l probably fit it inside, right of the buttons, final board should be only about 1.5 cm x 3 cm so it will fit there. It depends on sensitivity of IR reciever, if it's sensitive enough it could catch signals even without direct line of sight.

Only downside is that display is still not visible. But if need be it can be moved outside along with IR sensor in some small case.
Solo761 is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 01:31   #289
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
It's not surprising that usb3 ports work and many usb2 ports don't, usb3 is designed to supply a lot more current so it can charge tablets and power external drives etc.
dJOS is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 01:59   #290
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
True, but I'm not sure if it can give more than standard 500 mA to USB2 devices.

I even tried with powered USB hub but it didn't help with.
Solo761 is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 02:18   #291
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo761 View Post
True, but I'm not sure if it can give more than standard 500 mA to USB2 devices.

I even tried with powered USB hub but it didn't help with.

Usb2 is .5-.9amps, usb3 is 5amps
dJOS is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 17:23   #292
e5frog
Green
e5frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Älvängen / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 261
Send a message via MSN to e5frog
Why power it from the programmer at all? I powered mine from a plain FDD power connector directly from the PC and then hooked the RX, TX and GND from the programmer.
e5frog is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 17:57   #293
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Tried that, powering from a external PSU still noting. But I still think it's something different.
You can see in the log that there is communication between the software and the gotek. But the gotek gives a answer that the software don't understands.
voyager is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 18:27   #294
Turran
Registered User

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 917
I have to use an external ATX but if I do, I have to connect the ground from the USB programmer to ground on the floppy connector on the Gotek. If I do not connect ground, I can not program it.

This, and a x86 WinXP laptop and it works 50% of the times. If I get "can not connect", I shut off the ATX PSU, power it on again after a few seconds and it works.

http://www.grandis.nu/images/GOTEK_PROGRAMMING.jpg
Turran is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 18:47   #295
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Time to build a windows XP machine again ;-)
voyager is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 19:54   #296
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 37
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by e5frog View Post
Why power it from the programmer at all? I powered mine from a plain FDD power connector directly from the PC and then hooked the RX, TX and GND from the programmer.
Because PSU is inside of the case and gotek is on the desk?
Solo761 is offline  
Old 06 April 2014, 20:49   #297
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
I phased out all forms of optical media some years ago.. right try installing windows XP then

I dusted off my old mill-spec laptop, installed XP, installed the gotek software and the prolific drivers. Thank (insert god name here) the usb ports were recognized in XP. And there you go one successfully update :-)


Last edited by voyager; 07 April 2014 at 00:20.
voyager is offline  
Old 07 April 2014, 23:54   #298
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
I dusted off my old mill-spec laptop
WOW, military specs indeed!
Supamax is offline  
Old 09 April 2014, 21:19   #299
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
isn't it cheaper to buy a old external drive and replace the floppy drive itself?

I think it was reported that x-copy does not work correctly but I can be wrong. There are still some gremlins in the gotek firmware.
voyager is offline  
Old 12 April 2014, 15:09   #300
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 310
Hi All,

Flashed one of the Gotek units tonight using the 10.5a firmware.

I used a PL2303HX serial adapter:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/380739018514
and the SFR1M44-U100K model gotek:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/130704647782

Couldn't get the STM software to recognise the emulator at all under Win7_X64.

Tried the STM software in a WindowsXP virtual machine using VMware, recognised the emulator first go.
Didn't require a separate 5V power supply, just used the 5V from the USB-Serial adapter.

Formatted a 4GB USB stick in FAT32, and copied the selector.adf to the root directory.

Worked exactly as expected on my 500, 600.

On my unexpanded 1200, the selector program fails to load with a return code of "10". Oddly, running it a second time from the CLI works without error.

A great, and very inexpensive solution.

Thanks again H.M.!!

Cheers,
Red
RedskullDC is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 15:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 10:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23439 seconds with 12 queries