English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2014, 03:18   #181
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
My wife texted me today, "You have a package from China."
WooHoo..
Get home, it's the Gotek drive emulator!

Still no USB/Serial cable from china, but this gives me time to solder in the header pins and play with how I'm going to fit it.

Haven't decided if I'm going to use it (assuming I get it working) in my A500 or A1000.
Probably the 500 for now, as it's easier to open and get at...

But if it works well, and works for my kickwork disk, I might move it to the A1000..

Man, more waiting.. ;-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 March 2014, 18:27   #182
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
Stupid question.... once the Gotek has been flashed, do I have to solder everytime I need to update the firmware, or this can be done via USB?

Thanks!
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 18:33   #183
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
there are no stupid questions only stupid answers :-)

If you solder a pin header , it's just connecting 4 wires and flash away.
voyager is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 19:01   #184
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
Ah ok, once it is flashed, do you have desolder it again?
Nostromo is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 19:02   #185
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
Ah ok, once it is flashed, do you have desolder it again?


nope, just solder a 4 pin header to the board to make it easier the next time if required
kipper2k is offline  
Old 04 March 2014, 20:27   #186
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,862
Mine arrived today. I have just flashed the drive and tested it on
my A1200. Works a treat with a 32gb Integral stick.
Arnie is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 04:59   #187
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,227
Very impressive! I saw this quite a while ago but had no idea how to use it for this purpose! Glad someone with the intelligence has finally managed to exploit this!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 07:26   #188
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
nope, just solder a 4 pin header to the board to make it easier the next time if required
Thanks a lot Kipper2k
Nostromo is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 08:42   #189
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 45
Posts: 1,068
Just a quick question. It seems there are at least two versions of the Gotek drive now available - one has the LCD display and two buttons (plus one green LED above them) and one has no LCD and no buttons (just holes where they should be) - but has the green LED above the holes. The question is - will the firmware work with the one without the buttons and the LCD - and if so - can one solder their own buttons to the board somewhere, since you need them for proper operation.

Here are the pics :





Also, will this kind of USB -> TTL RS232 converter work for programming or do I need something else ? Since people in this thread have mixed results :


Last edited by tomcat666; 05 March 2014 at 08:54.
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 17:18   #190
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
The electronics inside wil be the same, as the once's with the lcd display.

I orderd the same usb to TTL, did not use it yet, still waiting for the gotek.
I did do some loopback tests with it and it looks good. there are 3 led's on them for power TX and RX.

I Think that most of the flash problems are related to not having enough power on the usb port.
voyager is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 17:21   #191
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 45
Posts: 1,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
The electronics inside wil be the same, as the once's with the lcd display.

I orderd the same usb to TTL, did not use it yet, still waiting for the gotek.
I did do some loopback tests with it and it looks good. there are 3 led's on them for power TX and RX.

I Think that most of the flash problems are related to not having enough power on the usb port.
Ok, so I guess that the "motherboard" will just lack the buttons which could be soldered on to gain that functionality - did any1 try that ? Or did everyone buy the LCD ones ? I got an offer for the LCD/button-less version for 15 EUR a piece... but don't want to buy if it is not gonna work in the end

Good about the usb to ttl - will get it then

Thanx !
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 05 March 2014, 20:17   #192
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,862
Just make sure you order the 1.44mb version.

I paid £20 delivered for mine. Came with LCD.

I would buy one with the buttons and LCD personally.
Arnie is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 00:58   #193
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 887
The display is very bright --- I might remove mine

Just plugged the Flasher Unit in...

XP is not finding driver for it...
= CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller

Time to Google methinks

#EDIT#
Found it (Red light on now)



Last edited by Nobby_UK; 06 March 2014 at 01:08.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 04:19   #194
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
Got mine working!

I got the exact model USB/serial device that kipper2k has from his pics earlier (I was all ready with my crimper.. Didn't realize it came with those header plugs on it already!!).
Funny, it came with JUST the cable. No docs, nothing. Just the cable in an envelope.

I loaded the driver that was mentioned earlier in this thread.

I just matched the pic from kipper2k's post, wire colors and all.

Hooked it up, loaded the tool..
Didn't see the device..
Hmmm..
Tried it again..

Nothing..

Hmm..

Checked voltage, yep... Looks good..
Unplugged power to the device and back in.. Tried it again, and THEN it saw the device!
Flashed it...
Worked..
Threw a couple ADFs on my USB stick, went to hook it up in the A500..

After an initial issue with the floppy cable pulling out (that's a short cable...), got the selector.adf to load!!!

YEAY!!!

Chose my game, restarted.. black screen..
hmm.
Hey, what ADF did I grab.. Um.. Putty Squad.. the Amiga 1200 game... :-(
Duh!! (It was in my DL directory.. ;-)

So, I go grab an Amiga OCS floppy (Tetris) and try THAT...

Works great!!!

WooHoo!!

Now, I have to decide what to do with this device, but works great..

Thanx!

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 16:42   #195
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
received my gotek today... I always like this kind of tweaking... figuring out why thing do not work..

It's a sad day for me as a tweaker.. It all worked out of the box

Used windows 7 64 bit not win XP to make it more of a challenge, used a very cheap USB to TTL adapter with a give-a-way usb stick and I even used the standard prolific drivers and a USB HUB, but no joy.

Soldered a header on the gotek connected the 4 wires, started the flash software, clicked continue 3 times want is was al done
Life is like that sometimes it really sucks..

But there is hope!

The selector software does not like to be DF1 very much

Amiga boot menu select DF1, the selector starts but... before you get the firmware version it stops. At this point DF0 sounds very very unhappy and go's Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

But using the selector on DF0 assigning the ADF files to slots and then use it as DF1 it works just fine.

The selector software it way to fast on my 030@56. Even with my god-like reflexes (not) it takes some time to select ADF's to slots.

In all very happy with it, maybe we can find some use for the red LED, or the multicolour LED spot on the PCB. I miss the sound of a real drive...



It even looks like the 90's :-)

Last edited by voyager; 06 March 2014 at 16:56.
voyager is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 17:03   #196
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,670
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post

In all very happy with it, maybe we can find some use for the red LED, or the multicolour LED spot on the PCB. I miss the sound of a real drive...


It even looks like the 90's :-)
I too like the floppy sound, i think it can be "fixed" to make the floppy sounds
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 18:04   #197
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Good one voyager
lukassid is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 18:47   #198
heavy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
received my gotek today... I always like this kind of tweaking... figuring out why thing do not work..

It's a sad day for me as a tweaker.. It all worked out of the box

Used windows 7 64 bit not win XP to make it more of a challenge, used a very cheap USB to TTL adapter with a give-a-way usb stick and I even used the standard prolific drivers and a USB HUB, but no joy.

Soldered a header on the gotek connected the 4 wires, started the flash software, clicked continue 3 times want is was al done
Life is like that sometimes it really sucks..

But there is hope!

The selector software does not like to be DF1 very much

Amiga boot menu select DF1, the selector starts but... before you get the firmware version it stops. At this point DF0 sounds very very unhappy and go's Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

But using the selector on DF0 assigning the ADF files to slots and then use it as DF1 it works just fine.

The selector software it way to fast on my 030@56. Even with my god-like reflexes (not) it takes some time to select ADF's to slots.

In all very happy with it, maybe we can find some use for the red LED, or the multicolour LED spot on the PCB. I miss the sound of a real drive...



It even looks like the 90's :-)
it's exactly what I would like to do with my old external floppy drive. But how to plug the gotek on it ? need something more, what modification ?
have you inside photos ?
heavy is offline  
Old 06 March 2014, 20:12   #199
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
It's a extremely difficult process of removing the old drive and plugging in the gotek :-)
No modification needed. :-) It just works.

I did found some bugs in the gotek firmware.
I was formatting 10 disks and after disk 3 they al came out as Ndos and the gotek crashed. After reformatting the disk still ndos? Formatting the disk and putting a trash can on it solved it. weird but true.
voyager is offline  
Old 07 March 2014, 00:42   #200
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,814
@Voyager you've made what I want to make. As you like tweaking... why don't you use the plastic floppy drive front cover, and now you put the Gotek usb plug inside the floppy cover eject button hole, and now you put the led where the floppy cover has it? Take out the led screen and find a good place for the buttons

The pity is that it looks very nice as it is (very bad, man ). You should have bought it black, then you would have had a reason.

Last edited by Retrofan; 07 March 2014 at 03:40.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 14:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 18:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 09:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 09:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 19:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09901 seconds with 13 queries