English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2014, 06:44   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Windows firewall ports

Which ports should I open on the Windows side to use the WinUAE SLiRP emulation?

Thanks.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 January 2014, 07:58   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,510
If you protect outgoing connections, you have to open all ports you wish to use.

If you only protect incoming connections (normal operation of the built-in Windows firewall) you don't need to open any ports. Incoming connections are not supported.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 January 2014, 08:14   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
I protected both outgoing and incoming connections, and enabled ports 21, 53, 80, 443, 631 and 8080 for every program I use. All programs work, but only WinUAE doesnt want to access the Internet. Without the firewall, WinUAE works OK. What I did wrong?

EDIT: Oops, sorry. I meant that I enabled the port 21 only for WinUAE and FileZilla, but nothing of it for Firefox and other programs.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 15 January 2014 at 09:48.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 16 January 2014, 07:37   #4
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Eh eh, I forgot to say previously that I used beta 1 and beta 2 for this purpose.

And that I use basically Web and FTP a lot on the Amiga side.

But I am serious, its not throlling, I would expect a response.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 16 January 2014, 17:13   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
SLIRP uses normal TCP sockets to communicate, nothing special should be needed. Unless your firewall program decides that WinUAE is some kind of malware and blocks it just because it can (WinUAE having different kind of network options, including winpcap, rawinput keyboard support etc.. can make some programs to detect it as a keylogger or similar..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 January 2014, 17:37   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Thanks.

Toni, when I choose "TCP" as the protocol type on the Windows Firewall "rule", it blocks WinUAE access to the Internet completely. That is right? So, which options do I have to allow protocol usage for WinUAE?

Yes, I know that is pratically useless, but anyway, I like to do things right.

EDIT: I choose TCP just to allow access to the Web, and checked the button to open the port accordingly. I corrected the text above to look right. I mean, the issue persists.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 18 January 2014 at 03:34.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall on Linux Mint Leandro Jardim support.Other 0 02 January 2013 20:42
Ports of Call Josh request.Old Rare Games 9 21 February 2010 23:32
Firewall trouble (was: no pointless this time toni) turrican3 support.WinUAE 10 30 January 2008 16:11
No serial ports... Tomislav support.WinUAE 4 28 September 2007 01:39
New Ports available DJBase News 1 26 January 2007 11:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20275 seconds with 11 queries