English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2014, 21:17   #1
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Stick out tongue MorphOS for Amiga Physical Retail Version

Happy new year everyone. Where can you buy a Physical Retail Version of MorphOS for the Amiga. There's a photo on facebook on A-eon's page of a Physical Edition of MorphOS in a CD case like the retail version of Mace from Amigakit. Thanks
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2014, 02:14   #2
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
Its only old versions from years ago, now only keyfiles availible..
kriz is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 17:45   #3
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Ok, thanks. I'm sure MorphOS could release the main versions on CD in a Package like AmigaOS 4.1 if they wanted to and sell it on Amigakit.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 20:43   #4
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 486
MorphOS never had "retail" versions. There have been physical special editions at few events as prizes etc, but not sold versions.

There isn't that much need for physical copy either. It would get obsolete soon. You just can download the latest version for free always. And if you want to register it, you get the keyfile which works with all versions.

And as MorphOS works on many different setups, they want to make sure that you don't buy it for a system where it wouldn't work. So, you have to do the registration from the OS itself and then everybody can be sure that it'll work.
jPV is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 21:17   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
And if you want to register it, you get the keyfile which works with all versions.
The keyfile is bound to a specific machine, though. If you move to a different machine you have to buy a new keyfile.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 January 2014, 16:42   #6
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Ok, I see. Thanks.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 16 January 2014, 21:54   #7
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 456
You can move your key to the new machine when old machine is broken if you want. Ask the developers.
tolkien is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga's most physical games lordofchaos Retrogaming General Discussion 12 25 August 2012 23:50
Lock physical hard drive BlankVector request.UAE Wishlist 7 28 June 2012 15:07
vhd physical vs. logical size thomas support.WinUAE 2 19 August 2010 17:44
Tornado 3D PPC version working under MorphOS or Amiga OS 4.0? Pyromania support.Apps 1 03 December 2007 06:58
Support for 4K & 8K physical sector size? mark_k request.UAE Wishlist 0 18 August 2004 15:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14878 seconds with 11 queries