English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2014, 18:54   #61
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 432
Im playing this game as I did in the 90'. Wonderful. Nice difficult. Great game
tolkien is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 January 2014, 20:36   #62
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
The screen seems to be positioned far at top, thus resulting the first lines of text (like introduction text, lives etc) to be hidden and not visible during play.
I couldn't believe that and wanted to tell you that the display window starts on standard raster coordinates (129,44). But I couldn't...
Code:
HSTART          equ     129
VSTART          equ     36
Somebody changed it to 36! 8 lines higher than normal. No idea why I should have done that. There is no reason for it. Sorry!
phx is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 20:44   #63
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,523
No problems on my Sony Trinitron CRT TV. All texts and lifes/points are fully shown.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 20:45   #64
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
It is a hard game, unforgiving collision detection (especially the spikes) and instant death.

Yeah a bit too hard for me... version 1.1 with easy mode would be nice
meckert is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 20:47   #65
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
Maybe it's harder using up to jump on a Sega joypad
Very likely! A Competition Pro is highly recommended.

The game supports using the second joystick button as an alternative to "up". Maybe this works better for you?

I can also imagine that it is harder to control your jumps in mid-air with a joypad.
phx is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 23:10   #66
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
I couldn't believe that and wanted to tell you that the display window starts on standard raster coordinates (129,44). But I couldn't...
Code:
HSTART          equ     129
VSTART          equ     36
Somebody changed it to 36! 8 lines higher than normal. No idea why I should have done that. There is no reason for it. Sorry!
Thanks for your answer. Is there any possibility to upload a fixed version shortly?
Phantom is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 02:49   #67
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
Congratulations
How about the edition boxed you were planning?
vitux is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 03:04   #68
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
Very likely! A Competition Pro is highly recommended.

The game supports using the second joystick button as an alternative to "up". Maybe this works better for you?

I can also imagine that it is harder to control your jumps in mid-air with a joypad.
Hi,
I confirmed that the blue button of CD32's Pad also can be used for jump.
But why you decide second-button for jump?
Is there any reason why we cannot use first(fire) button for jump?
Actually we don't use fire button in-game because we defeat enemies by step on their head only.
If we could use fire button,we can use Megadrive 6-button pad ( more inexpensive than "Competition Pro",but one of the greatest control pad ever!).

PS.
Thank you very much for nice game.
I am impressed by especially some objects(bookshelf ,etc).
nittamituaki is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 08:33   #69
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
Yeah a bit too hard for me... version 1.1 with easy mode would be nice
Considering there are only ten levels I think you need to practice a lot. I managed to get through up to the third level.

The game is great!
mailman is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 11:50   #70
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 327
I'm using a Tomahawk arcade joystick (greek made) and I don't have such problems. All my control is in my hands.
Phantom is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 12:19   #71
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
What Phantom said.
alkis21 is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 14:42   #72
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
Is there any possibility to upload a fixed version shortly?
It is fixed in a second, by replacing 36 with 44. Try this unofficial test version:
http://devnull.owl.de/~frank/SolidGold.adf
phx is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 14:51   #73
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitux View Post
How about the edition boxed you were planning?
I'm waiting how much interest is left. Usually the interest in such things is quickly fading after you have downloaded and played the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nittamituaki View Post
I confirmed that the blue button of CD32's Pad also can be used for jump.
Thanks!

Quote:
But why you decide second-button for jump?
Is there any reason why we cannot use first(fire) button for jump?
At the beginning of the development it was unclear whether we would need the fire button for some kind of a missile or not. Now the first button is used to start the game.

Quote:
If we could use fire button,we can use Megadrive 6-button pad
Six buttons and you still have to use the first one?

Sorry, but nothing will change with the controls. It is part of the retro experience, in the same way as the trackloader is.
phx is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 14:55   #74
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by nittamituaki View Post
If we could use fire button,we can use Megadrive 6-button pad ( more inexpensive than "Competition Pro",but one of the greatest control pad ever!).
Why would it not work pressing C as it does in most games?
Akira is online now  
Old 04 January 2014, 15:22   #75
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
It is fixed in a second, by replacing 36 with 44. Try this unofficial test version:
http://devnull.owl.de/~frank/SolidGold.adf
Thanks. Will try it tonight.

Count me also for a boxed edition or commercial release.
Phantom is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 19:03   #76
jman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 301
Thank you for this release!
It's good to see people really supporting this platform.
jman is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 20:10   #77
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Really nice game, thank you!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 21:20   #78
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 713
Playing it now. Excellent release. Very well done for making this quality game.

Just to add: Ran the floppy from on my 1mb A500 and on my expanded A1200. Worked on both with no problems.

Last edited by trydowave; 05 January 2014 at 14:42.
trydowave is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 21:26   #79
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Why would it not work pressing C as it does in most games?
Pressing C button?
You mean original 3 button pad (one of the shitest control pad)?
6 button pad allows us to use fire-button by pressing B button.
"Second fire button" is not available,however,direction-key(up,down,left,right) is really good to control characters.
It is that I wanted to mean.

But after I received phx's reply, I decided to use cd32pad.
cd32pad's control is slightly worse than sega's 6button pad,though...
nittamituaki is offline  
Old 05 January 2014, 07:56   #80
OscarBraindeaD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: madrid/spain
Posts: 21
The game works flawlessly in A500 (1,5 Mb) with slim hxc and in the MiST board.
Thanks for this great game, phk.
OscarBraindeaD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid Gold to be released December/January phx News 73 09 January 2014 21:37
Rock Solid Android Emulator - How Much Would you Pay? CDTV1991 Amiga scene 8 19 December 2013 03:25
Can you use solid state capacitors for cap replacement? JACK98 support.Hardware 13 25 August 2010 20:02
Solid Window dragging WB Retro1234 request.Apps 11 24 January 2010 11:09
Does anyone have United PD Gold / UPD Gold CD? ferrycorsten request.Old Rare Games 11 11 April 2005 20:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36496 seconds with 12 queries