English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2013, 06:09   #1
losso
Registered User

losso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 42
Strange bitmap behavior

Hi,

last weekend, I was debugging an effect in WinUAE that did not show some bitplanes correctly. In short:
  • 5 bitplanes display (1, 3, 5 for background, 2 and 4 pointing to the same animation bitplane with a different modulo)
  • Areas where BPL 5 is set are rendered with a single color
Surprising details on top:
  • Works on my real A1200 (bottom right in the screenshot)
  • Works when using 6 bitplanes, i.e. EHB (which was my fix to have a WinUAE-compatible version; luckily, I could just re-use the animation bitplane without any visible difference, as the animated shape is supposed to be black, anyway)
  • Works when I leave out some effects before this effect — however, I was not able to find a way to overcome this by reinitializing everything in the copperlist; nor did I find something suspicious in the debugger's custom chip register dump compared to the working version of the effect
Probably I am doing something strange/wrong to cause this effect, but I would really like to know what it is. Also, I cannot quite explain how the difference between the 5 and 6 bitplane modes is possible.

My questions are:
  • How is the behavior on a real A500 (or other ECS machine)?
  • What's the cause of this?
For testing, find a test executable attached (start with "bpltest 5" for 5 bitplanes, "bpltest 6" for 6 bitplanes).

Thanks and cheers,

losso

Edit: tested with 2.7.0 beta 16, A500 config
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bpltest.png
Views:	98
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	38474  
Attached Files
File Type: zip bpltest.zip (59.7 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by losso; 31 December 2013 at 06:25.
losso is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 December 2013, 08:03   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Without downloading and testing anything, my crystal ball says you trigger OCS/ECS undocumented hardware feature: when BPLCON2 has invalid value (too large), bitplane count is 5, other planes are ignored when bitplane 5 has bits set.

This is used in game SWIV for score information.

EDIT: this one http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=206345&postcount=5

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 31 December 2013 at 12:28.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 31 December 2013, 12:42   #3
losso
Registered User

losso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 42
Aaah, thanks! BPLCON2 is indeed set to $7F. Why did I miss this when comparing the register dump… hmpf.

Well, the upside is that my "fix" should work an a real A500, too Will try to convince a friend to undust his machine for the New Year's warmup to verify…

Happy new year, by the way, and cheers to everyone at EAB!
losso is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange behavior with WINUAE and CCS64 on WIN 7 plasmatron support.WinUAE 4 16 September 2013 14:17
Very strange SFS behavior. Thorham support.Apps 26 17 October 2009 15:04
Strange hdf behavior [not really a problem]. olesio support.WinUAE 4 13 August 2009 08:34
discovered strange behavior NfernalNfluence support.WinUAE 7 26 May 2009 08:10
Strange behavior in A4000 Computolio support.Hardware 8 22 September 2007 12:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11615 seconds with 12 queries