English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 October 2015, 15:01   #141
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telemachus View Post
Putty Squad CD32 release has been a long time coming, I can't wait to try it

Where on earok's blog will it appear ?
We're inching closer to a release! Keep the faith
earok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2015, 20:14   #142
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
We're inching closer to a release! Keep the faith
millimeters closer
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 00:40   #143
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,517
TADDA!!!!! Well done guys

Putty Squad - Over 20 years and now it's the Amiga CD32's & Mega Drive's turn!



Quote:
The Amiga sourced version wasn't actually released until Christmas Eve, 2013, making Putty Squad for the Amiga the most authentic Putty experience available. But that's not all! As now it's the Amiga CD32's turn, as Psygore, Galahad, Earok & Codetapper have made available the CD32 version with a very special bonus on top! -
http://www.indieretronews.com/2015/1...d-now-its.html

The Mega Drive version not by the Amiga scene is sourced at the bottom of the article
Neil79 is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 22:07   #144
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
If only a pressed CD release would be made, in some small limited ammount... that would be just great. Unfortunately it would be probably violating some System 3 rules (and I do not think anyone would let make pressed CD batch for free).

Burnt CDs are just not good enough for such a great game.
Predseda is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 23:38   #145
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 524
True. I settled with DIY solution.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151117_182307.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	142.1 KB
ID:	46293  
Cobe is offline  
Old 18 November 2015, 00:32   #146
wmsteele
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
If only a pressed CD release would be made, in some small limited ammount... that would be just great. Unfortunately it would be probably violating some System 3 rules (and I do not think anyone would let make pressed CD batch for free).

Burnt CDs are just not good enough for such a great game.
Well they gave permission for a limited disk run... so why not, maybe we just need to ask?
wmsteele is offline  
Old 18 November 2015, 00:37   #147
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
Probably Galahad could, he is a trusted person.
Predseda is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 10:34   #148
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolderPCB View Post
Does this mean the possibility of running some AGA games on 2MB Aladdin or Lion King? or ECS games with 2MB requirement Primal Rage?
Happy to report one of those three is already bundled with Putty Squad CD32, and another one is on the way
earok is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 17:43   #149
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 72
Great stuff, now add the CD audio tracks from the PS4 version!
mc68060 is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 21:11   #150
tomead
tomead

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chichester
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Just tried both the Putty Squad and Aladdin iso and I cannot get them to work. after the screen with button mappings, screen goes blank and nothing happens. Checked winuae settings are for basic CD32. I then burnt both iso to CD and tried in my real CD32, the same thing happened. I have burnt other CD32 iso's with no issues. Any ideas ?
tomead is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 21:38   #151
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomead View Post
Just tried both the Putty Squad and Aladdin iso and I cannot get them to work. after the screen with button mappings, screen goes blank and nothing happens. Checked winuae settings are for basic CD32. I then burnt both iso to CD and tried in my real CD32, the same thing happened. I have burnt other CD32 iso's with no issues. Any ideas ?
Joypad is in port 2?
earok is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 23:05   #152
tomead
tomead

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chichester
Age: 38
Posts: 53
all sorted swapped pad over on ports. can only skip aladdin cdxl with mouse in port 2
tomead is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 23:01   #153
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 368
I burned the iso-Images under MakeCD and tried out on a real CD32.
PuttySquad is working fine. But if I use an extension like the CD32fWSI I get some flicker on the background and Aladdin will not start.
Has someone Aladdin tested successfully on a real CD32?
nujack is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 00:43   #154
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
I burned the iso-Images under MakeCD and tried out on a real CD32.
PuttySquad is working fine. But if I use an extension like the CD32fWSI I get some flicker on the background and Aladdin will not start.
Has someone Aladdin tested successfully on a real CD32?

Yes, Aladdin works just fine on a real cd32, though I've only tested on a Pal CD32 and I know some aga games have problems with languages set to other than English. Personally burned my copy with ImgBurn on Windows. What is a cd32fwsl?
earok is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 00:48   #155
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
Has someone Aladdin tested successfully on a real CD32?
You have to take into account that the moment you put an fwsi on your CD32, it stops being a stock CD32, so problems could arise.
Perhaps the install does not cater for that extra hardware being present and it creates problems.
It would be hard to diagnose this very particular hardware setup without owning the actual hardware, so unless someone donates these guys an fwsi disk unit, I see fat chance of any problem getting fixed.

Question for earok and psygore: do the original Aladdin and Putty Squad cause trouble when you have an external floppy disk drive? That could be creating an issue.
Akira is online now  
Old 23 November 2015, 03:19   #156
amigapd
Registered User
amigapd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: london / uk
Posts: 378
Hi - I have a CD32fWSI too (see this link and scroll down for those who haven't heard of these before http://amiga.resource.cx/search.pl?amiga=cd32) and I have experienced the same problem - Aladdin didn't load and Putty Squad I got a wierd flicker on the background images.

I removed the CD32fWSI and the games worked fine -

One thing I didn't try was disabling the disk drive before booting - if you hold down the mouse button when switching on you get to a boot screen and you can disable the disk drive - I don't know if this will help.
amigapd is offline  
Old 23 November 2015, 04:57   #157
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 524
It has been reported here on eab in some old fwsi related thread that Aladdin and some other games wont run from floppy either.
Cobe is offline  
Old 23 November 2015, 20:14   #158
mc68060
With MMU and FPU!

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: On your mainboard
Posts: 72
Can you do Cool Spot and Global Gladiators next? I think they use the same loader as Aladdin and Putty.
mc68060 is offline  
Old 23 November 2015, 20:40   #159
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
It has been reported here on eab in some old fwsi related thread that Aladdin and some other games wont run from floppy either.
That's because those games didn't run on CD32. It wasn't related to the floppy itself.
But now that they have been fixed to run, some sort of floppy conflict has appeared.
Akira is online now  
Old 23 November 2015, 22:24   #160
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Leeched right away!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putty Squad Amiga Released BippyM News 165 08 March 2014 10:24
Do you want to see Putty Squad released for the Amiga? antonvaltaz project.aGTW 7 25 August 2010 14:37
Putty Squad / Silly Putty 2 pcGTW_Webmaster HOL contributions 14 24 February 2006 00:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22069 seconds with 12 queries