English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2013, 21:31   #41
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokolovic View Post
It's a bit off topic but since you were speaking of the lack of chipram of the CD32, I'd like to understand something. The MegaCD got only 512kBit of ram. How is it possible for him to run games like Final Fight, Flink and others ?
I may understand that with a cardridge there is no problem since the game is directly loaded from the rom but if it's reading directly from CD how is it possible for this machine to run such games ? Flink on the CD32 is much more uglier then the Mega CD version, Wonderdog also, and a part of Microcosm, almost every games that the two consoles shares are better on the Mega CD...
As said above it's coded to expect 2MB RAM, and on top then uses it in a slightly inefficient way. AGA Amiga == at least 2MB ram so stands to reason you'd code expecting to be able to make use of all of it.

Mega CD games would have been coded with the expectation of 512kbit RAM, and load and ditch stuff in and out of RAM where necessary.
tin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 December 2013, 09:52   #42
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin View Post
As said above it's coded to expect 2MB RAM, and on top then uses it in a slightly inefficient way. AGA Amiga == at least 2MB ram so stands to reason you'd code expecting to be able to make use of all of it.

Mega CD games would have been coded with the expectation of 512kbit RAM, and load and ditch stuff in and out of RAM where necessary.
So you're telling me that Flink could have been better on CD32 if better coded ? And Final Fight is possible on CD32 ?

EDIT : and thanks for your answer !
sokolovic is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 11:15   #43
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Is not remotely going to happen, so please, engage brain before making such a ludicrous request!!!
Didn't notice that they sell the soundtrack separately, my bad. But perhaps a more calming and non-childish answer would be much appreciated next time.
Phantom is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 12:52   #44
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
Didn't notice that they sell the soundtrack separately, my bad. But perhaps a more calming and non-childish answer would be much appreciated next time.
That was calm, I have no opinion on 'non-childish' however
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 13:07   #45
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
Well, as they sell the soundtrack separately, it's quite obvious that it's very difficult to create a CD32 version including those music tracks. Unless we pay loyalties (doubt it), and the most difficult scenario, is for System 3 to produce a CD32 version including the music scores from the soundtrack, but of course we have to pay for this as a commercial game at the end. Well, I bet all my Amiga equipment if they just thought of that.
Phantom is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 16:19   #46
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
Well, as they sell the soundtrack separately, it's quite obvious that it's very difficult to create a CD32 version including those music tracks. Unless we pay loyalties (doubt it), and the most difficult scenario, is for System 3 to produce a CD32 version including the music scores from the soundtrack, but of course we have to pay for this as a commercial game at the end. Well, I bet all my Amiga equipment if they just thought of that.
The next best thing - and sorry for contributing to this series of pipedreams - would be to just release the ISO and provide instructions on how to add music to the game by burning the tracks from your purchased copy of the soundtrack to disc alongside the data track. (If you're capable of writing an ADF back to disk, it shouldn't be too taxing to burn a game to CD in comparison. )

But of course, the ball - as always - is in System 3's court.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 17:38   #47
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
We could just let Galahad get the standard disk version running on the CD32 first and see how that goes, I think he has enough difficulties trying to get Putty Squad to run on the CD32 as it is.

With regards to hypotheticals in the future, WHDLoad may support CDDA audio in a future release and I believe the .slave for Beneath A Steel Sky already does so there is a possibility in the future for it to happen and add your own tracks.

But the music is already great in Putty Squad just like many other CD32 releases which used original tracker music and no CDDA.

Maybe someone should work on printable jewel case artwork in the CD32 style as a compliment.

Last edited by Whitesnake; 31 December 2013 at 17:48.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 04:48   #48
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
I would love to play Putty Squad on the CD32 too, it would be fantastic if you can get it working on the CD32, Galahad. Thank you so much for everything, including your help in getting Putty Squad out to the Amiga community, I really appreciate the chance to finally be able to play the full version of this awesome game! I've had so much fun playing it on my A1200 ever since the full version was released, playing it on the CD32 in the games room would be a dream come true.
Cammy is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 05:48   #49
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Yep I also would love a cd32 version. I just picked one up not long ago. Never owned one the day, so having some fun playing some titles i haven't played before.

A new title was a great xmas surprise. Would be great if i could have had it on the cd32 too.

Thanks to system3, Galahad/FLT, Codetapper and everyone else who made it happen.
Vot is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 11:59   #50
Baboon
Moon Monkey
Baboon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Plymouth, Devon
Posts: 376
I'd also like to see this on cd32 please. My cd32 has been packed away for a little while due to space issues but I'd happily fire it up again for putty squad!

If system 3 released a paid for version then I'd also glady pick that up!
Baboon is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 14:03   #51
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
you can create an iso file using whdloadcd32 and putty whdload files
it needs 2mb fast,but it works,
to works on a plain cd32 2mb only seems codetapper must make a patch
Sandro is offline  
Old 09 January 2014, 23:50   #52
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro View Post
you can create an iso file using whdloadcd32 and putty whdload files
it needs 2mb fast,but it works,
to works on a plain cd32 2mb only seems codetapper must make a patch
Possibly other AGA games might work on 2mb if the slaves were modified to do so and there was no reliance on using kick roms. Psygore did it with Slam Tilt

I miss the OSEmu as it never took the space of loading a kick rom which seems less efficient.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 10 January 2014, 19:07   #53
hattig
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 12
It would be nice to see a new CD32 game indeed, and this would be an apt game to release. +1
hattig is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 15:58   #54
SteveUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Shropshire / UK
Posts: 53
+1 for cd32 release
SteveUK is offline  
Old 28 July 2014, 16:48   #55
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Unfortunately, I just don't think this is possible on CD32 because of the way the game is coded.

There is one way I can free up memory, which means it 'might' be possible.

The backgrounds are AGA sprite backdrops. For whatever reason, John Twiddy included ALL of the backdrops into ONE file that is preloaded at the start. Had John done it so that each backdrop was a separate file to be loaded when needed, over 400K could be saved from memory.

Clearly, A1200 was the focus machine for System 3, and CD32 was not.

I won't say it won't happen, but it will take a lot of work to get it working in 2meg of chip ram. Actually thats a lie, the machine might have 2meg of chip ram, but AmigaDOS has to be active somewhere in memory for loading files using the system, and Putty Squad is all hard coded.

Its not impossible, but its a lot of work, so when I have time, I might well revisit it and see what I can do.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 11:55   #56
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
I think you should bare in mind that Kipper2k and Steady are working on what will be a value 8Mbyte FastRAM add-on for the CD32.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 July 2014, 12:02   #57
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I think you should bare in mind that Kipper2k and Steady are working on what will be a value 8Mbyte FastRAM add-on for the CD32.
Well, that would make the conversion a doddle.

Well, if that gets released, consider Putty Squad CD32 done
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 July 2014, 12:05   #58
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Hi Galahad, apologies for this being so off topic but is SWOS CD32 a possibility?

Congrats on the Where Time Stood Still release, I looking forward to checking it out.
earok is online now  
Old 30 July 2014, 12:12   #59
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Hi Galahad, apologies for this being so off topic but is SWOS CD32 a possibility?

Congrats on the Where Time Stood Still release, I looking forward to checking it out.
No, for the same reasons as Putty Squad, takes up too much memory. But, again, if this cheap memory board comes to fruition, then yes, it can be done.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 25 September 2014, 01:33   #60
SteveUK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Shropshire / UK
Posts: 53
Coming Soon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	putty_squad_cd32_front.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	41691  
SteveUK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putty Squad Amiga Released BippyM News 165 08 March 2014 10:24
Do you want to see Putty Squad released for the Amiga? antonvaltaz project.aGTW 7 25 August 2010 14:37
Putty Squad / Silly Putty 2 pcGTW_Webmaster HOL contributions 14 24 February 2006 00:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29451 seconds with 12 queries