English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2013, 18:56   #21
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 522
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
If you can figure out a way to get it working it'd be really appreciated here. Thanks for all the work you've put in so far!
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 December 2013, 22:12   #22
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 373
A CD32 version would be nice.
nujack is online now  
Old 27 December 2013, 22:37   #23
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,289
I don't think just grafting in the loader would be that difficult in theory. Apart from RAM the only real hassle I had in Uridium32 was with INT2 (music player clashes with loader).

But in practice, as Codetapper said, the bigger challenge would be to make the memory map less fragmented. This would need to be done first to provide space for the loader and buffers so they wouldn't be over written. This would probably be best achieved using WHDLoad as some kind of test harness and then remove the resload dependancies later.

If I can help you guys out with anything give me a nudge
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 00:44   #24
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
musashi did you make a cdtv version of Uridium 2?

The one on RGCDs website doesn't work. I have a memory expanded cdtv

I think this game is ocs/ecs compatible.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 01:08   #25
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolderPCB View Post
musashi did you make a cdtv version of Uridium 2?

The one on RGCDs website doesn't work. I have a memory expanded cdtv

I think this game is ocs/ecs compatible.
His version is for CD32 only I think, not CDTV
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 28 December 2013, 02:31   #26
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
His version is for CD32 only I think, not CDTV
I tried to make a cdtv iso of that uridium 2 but it always gave error.

But it worked with other cd32 games like chuck rock, battletoads and lotus that used an rnc disk loader.

When I made a cdtv discs of them. I guess there are some more compatible rnc loaders that others? The cannon fodder one is bad though.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 28 December 2013, 16:58   #27
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,289
Sorry but Uridium32 definately won't work on a CDTV without modification. The RGCD startup picture (on the released version) is AGA for starters. It's coded for 2MB chipram and also it has some 020+ instructions in there too (hitting VBR & CACR).

I had the CD32 as a target machine and that's what it was coded for. Sorry if you wasted some time & CDRs trying it for CDTV.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 00:36   #28
Reynolds
Alien Breeder
Reynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szigetszentmiklos / Hungary
Age: 40
Posts: 545
Putty Squad CD32 is somewhat important for that machine. It would be a perfect successor of Silly Putty and another fine game available too.

+1
Reynolds is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 11:28   #29
manic23
Only Amiga!

manic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bromley, Kent
Age: 47
Posts: 443
Oooooh yes please
manic23 is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 12:11   #30
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 364
That would be very interesting; a CD32 version. Including the CDDA from PlayStation will be marvellous.
Phantom is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 16:26   #31
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
That would be very interesting; a CD32 version. Including the CDDA from PlayStation will be marvellous.
I thought the reasons for this not happening would be obvious

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Putty-Squad-.../dp/B00GXPQ7GW
Telemachus is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 16:35   #32
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
That would be very interesting; a CD32 version. Including the CDDA from PlayStation will be marvellous.
Is not remotely going to happen, so please, engage brain before making such a ludicrous request!!!
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 29 December 2013, 16:54   #33
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Is not remotely going to happen
Unless interest in the standard AGA version proves to be high enough for System 3 to consider the selling an affordable CD32 version, which I'd be more than happy to buy!
Akira is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 16:58   #34
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Unless interest in the standard AGA version proves to be high enough for System 3 to consider the selling an affordable CD32 version, which I'd be more than happy to buy!
I doubt thats going to happen either.

How many CD32's were sold? How many are left that people use?

I think its fair to say there is ZERO chance of System 3 doing anything official with Putty Squad for CD32...... EVER!
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 29 December 2013, 17:22   #35
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I doubt thats going to happen either.

How many CD32's were sold? How many are left that people use?

I think its fair to say there is ZERO chance of System 3 doing anything official with Putty Squad for CD32...... EVER!
I wouldn't be surprised if the numbers are some what similar to the A1200, according to Wikipedia 95,000 A1200's in Germany

The CD32 entry says 100,000 for Europe although that could be just be figures from Commodore in Germany again, but even if it is just Europe there is still the rest of the world and it seems like they did get around.

They appear on eBay more often than not and it seems like more people have them on EAB these days.

Suffice to say there are plenty to go around for people still into Amiga.

I would be interested to know if System 3 talked about a CD32 version back in the day.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 29 December 2013, 17:51   #36
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
I wouldn't be surprised if the numbers are some what similar to the A1200, according to Wikipedia 95,000 A1200's in Germany

The CD32 entry says 100,000 for Europe although that could be just be figures from Commodore in Germany again, but even if it is just Europe there is still the rest of the world and it seems like they did get around.

They appear on eBay more often than not and it seems like more people have them on EAB these days.

Suffice to say there are plenty to go around for people still into Amiga.

I would be interested to know if System 3 talked about a CD32 version back in the day.
Sorry I totally disagree. A1200 sales dwarfed the CD32.

If I can get Putty Squad working on CD32, be happy with that, but any talk of doing anything more with it is futile, its not going to happen.

I don't have the required permission to use the source code to do anything other than what i've done, I don't even have permission to do a CD32 version, but the fact that I can use a the RNC CD32 loader and not altering the game at all, likely won't bother System 3 at all.

Going further than that, its just not going to happen, so please folks, lets not clutter this thread up with wishes, lets only concern ourselves with getting it working on CD32 and leave it at that
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 30 December 2013, 15:23   #37
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 145
It's a bit off topic but since you were speaking of the lack of chipram of the CD32, I'd like to understand something. The MegaCD got only 512kBit of ram. How is it possible for him to run games like Final Fight, Flink and others ?
I may understand that with a cardridge there is no problem since the game is directly loaded from the rom but if it's reading directly from CD how is it possible for this machine to run such games ? Flink on the CD32 is much more uglier then the Mega CD version, Wonderdog also, and a part of Microcosm, almost every games that the two consoles shares are better on the Mega CD...
sokolovic is offline  
Old 30 December 2013, 17:40   #38
other_reality
Registered User
other_reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
lets only concern ourselves with getting it working on CD32 and leave it at that
Sure thing, I would be pretty happy with that

* Almost forgot my vote !

+1 !
other_reality is offline  
Old 30 December 2013, 20:31   #39
tin
eezeenow!

 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chester
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by sokolovic View Post
It's a bit off topic but since you were speaking of the lack of chipram of the CD32, I'd like to understand something. The MegaCD got only 512kBit of ram. How is it possible for him to run games like Final Fight, Flink and others ?
I may understand that with a cardridge there is no problem since the game is directly loaded from the rom but if it's reading directly from CD how is it possible for this machine to run such games ? Flink on the CD32 is much more uglier then the Mega CD version, Wonderdog also, and a part of Microcosm, almost every games that the two consoles shares are better on the Mega CD...
As said above it's coded to expect 2MB RAM, and on top then uses it in a slightly inefficient way. AGA Amiga == at least 2MB ram so stands to reason you'd code expecting to be able to make use of all of it.

Mega CD games would have been coded with the expectation of 512kbit RAM, and load and ditch stuff in and out of RAM where necessary.
tin is offline  
Old 31 December 2013, 08:52   #40
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin View Post
As said above it's coded to expect 2MB RAM, and on top then uses it in a slightly inefficient way. AGA Amiga == at least 2MB ram so stands to reason you'd code expecting to be able to make use of all of it.

Mega CD games would have been coded with the expectation of 512kbit RAM, and load and ditch stuff in and out of RAM where necessary.
So you're telling me that Flink could have been better on CD32 if better coded ? And Final Fight is possible on CD32 ?

EDIT : and thanks for your answer !
sokolovic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putty Squad Amiga Released BippyM News 165 08 March 2014 09:24
Do you want to see Putty Squad released for the Amiga? antonvaltaz project.aGTW 7 25 August 2010 13:37
Putty Squad / Silly Putty 2 pcGTW_Webmaster HOL contributions 14 23 February 2006 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09491 seconds with 13 queries