English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 December 2013, 16:02   #1
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Putty Squad for Amiga CD32 request thread.

I asked Galahad if he would do a CD32 version so here is the thread to see if people are interested.

Just post a vote below to show your interest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I am considering it yes, I did actually start it, but real life took over briefly.

Start a request thread on EAB 'demanding' it, if theres enough interest, consider it done!
Telemachus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 December 2013, 16:29   #2
retrogamer
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 239
Yes a CD32 version would be great!
retrogamer is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 16:59   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
One demand more!
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:01   #4
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
+1
Riempie is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:10   #5
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Yes please!
Nostromo is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:19   #6
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Wonder if System 3 will send the music from the PS3/PS4 version to use on the CD.

Anyway, not too fussed aboout a CD32 version as I only emulate these days.

Is it really needed?

Can't someone just use the WHDLoad thing created for CD32 for this?
Ian is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:20   #7
Kehil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Prague/CZ
Posts: 67
Also interested in CD32 version /iso if possible /
Kehil is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:28   #8
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Wonder if System 3 will send the music from the PS3/PS4 version to use on the CD.

Anyway, not too fussed aboout a CD32 version as I only emulate these days.

Is it really needed?

Can't someone just use the WHDLoad thing created for CD32 for this?
No as putty squad uses all of 2meg of chipram, there's no memory left for AmigaDos or whdload.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:37   #9
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Ahh is see. Then a versions should be made for those with cd32s. Its only fair they don't get left out

Should you get enough requests obviously.
Ian is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:40   #10
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
No as putty squad uses all of 2meg of chipram, there's no memory left for AmigaDos or whdload.
It would probably run on an .iso with cdtv.tm, You get about 1.85mb+ that way.

I know you are the expert I guess it probably doesn't use the full 2MB chip ram?

Most AGA games I've seen use about 1.8mb chip ram top.

Count me for vote +1
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 17:57   #11
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
No as putty squad uses all of 2meg of chipram, there's no memory left for AmigaDos or whdload.
It's similar situation to "Super Stardust"?
Floppy disk version requires surely 2MB so we couldn't boot only chip ram (for example, my system, cd32+ analogic FDD).
But CD32 version (without FDD) could boot successfully.

Kang-Fu and Wendetta (CD32 and Amiga CD compatible) are also similar.
I don't know why these games boot without Fast RAM as CD32 mode,however,
there is some *HINTs* for "Putty Squad for standard CD32 version" in these scheme...(It seems nightmare, though.)

Btw I forgot to post for thank you about adf version of Putty squad.
Thank you so much!! (Now I enjoyed on winuae with kick34006 from my real CD32.)
nittamituaki is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 18:26   #12
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by nittamituaki View Post
It's similar situation to "Super Stardust"?
Floppy disk version requires surely 2MB so we couldn't boot only chip ram (for example, my system, cd32+ analogic FDD).
But CD32 version (without FDD) could boot successfully.

Kang-Fu and Wendetta (CD32 and Amiga CD compatible) are also similar.
I don't know why these games boot without Fast RAM as CD32 mode,however,
there is some *HINTs* for "Putty Squad for standard CD32 version" in these scheme...(It seems nightmare, though.)

Btw I forgot to post for thank you about adf version of Putty squad.
Thank you so much!! (Now I enjoyed on winuae with kick34006 from my real CD32.)
Just a quick thought,

Two System 3 games that were made available for the Amiga CD32 used a disk loader which worked quite well and Galahad is probably familiar with it.

Perhaps that could be used here?

[Myth: History In The Making CD32]

Myth [exe]
Myth.A
Myth.B
Myth.C

[Last Ninja 3 CD32]

NINJA3 [exe]
NINJA.A
NINJA.B

Although interestingly Putty aka Super Putty on the CD32 just used AmigaDOS files.

I wouldn't use that RNC Loader that is on various other CD32 games due to it being buggy and unreliable and I don't mean bad CD-R's I mean actual official games.

Games like Worms, Cannon Fodder, James Pond 3. Have all been prone to hiccups when loading, or just crashing. Tested on a few CD32 consoles.

Anyway, Great work on mastering the disks for Putty Squad and may it continue.

I'll put a vote here.


Forgot to add, nittamituaki.

Have you tried Aladdin, Global Gladiators and Cool Spot on the FDD for your CD32?
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 18:43   #13
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Perhaps Musashi5150 or anyone else could do a "Musashi" and code a new CD≥≤ friendly loader for the game using the ripped files of the WHDLoad version?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 19:04   #14
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
Perhaps Musashi5150 or anyone else could do a "Musashi" and code a new CD≥≤ friendly loader for the game using the ripped files of the WHDLoad version?
That release crash for me sometimes at the start. I think galahad probably has a better solution not using whdload or rnc
Telemachus is offline  
Old 26 December 2013, 21:03   #15
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolderPCB View Post
It would probably run on an .iso with cdtv.tm, You get about 1.85mb+ that way.

I know you are the expert I guess it probably doesn't use the full 2MB chip ram?

Most AGA games I've seen use about 1.8mb chip ram top.

Count me for vote +1
Just a little background about this. When I was working out the final memory requirements I set the game to 2Mb chip and played through the entire game, letting it load each section and all enemies plus the end sequence. Then quit hte game and looked through the memory dump.

Although in total the game uses far less than 2Mb chip, it (stupidly) has bits scattered all through memory. The game runs at $3000 which is very low, I imagine you couldn't allocate absolute memory at $3000 for the chip section. Then at some stage, it's writing to about $1fb000, which is almost at the end of chip memory!

I guess John Twiddy worked out what "safe" lengths for each section were and worked out a memory map along the lines of "this restore buffer here shouldn't need more than $2000 so it can go at $xxxxxx" and did that for the entire game.

So it's not such a trivial thing to change, even though if you totalled up all the memory required it would probably be more like 1.5Mb. It's just scattered in chunks
Codetapper is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 00:16   #16
Bluntman
Registered User

Bluntman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
A CD32 version would be neat-o! In fact, since my A1200's floppy drive doesn't work the CD32 might be the best way for me to finally have a go at this awesome game.
Bluntman is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 01:52   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
I need to confer with Codetapper, but i'm pretty sure a WHDLoad version of Putty Squad is more than possible, watch this space
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 13:03   #18
sokolovic
Registered User

sokolovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marseille / France
Posts: 119
I'am in to.

Question, they were speaking of some enhancement for the CD32, like an intro an CD music… Is it still possible ? And do the game recognize the CD32 pad ?
sokolovic is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 13:32   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
CD32 version would be the best!!
With CD audio from PS4 version even better! I would definitely PAY for that, made with a proper CD32 loader.

The ting with WHDLoad is those os flashes and stuff... I dont want that in a game.
Akira is offline  
Old 27 December 2013, 14:19   #20
nittamituaki
Cd32+Fdd User (CFU)

nittamituaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
Just a quick thought,

Forgot to add, nittamituaki.

Have you tried Aladdin, Global Gladiators and Cool Spot on the FDD for your CD32?
Thanks for posting,Whitesnake!

I am originally console games fan, so I didn't buy these megadrive titles which John Twiddy ported.
Yes I know that you have tested a lot of John Twiddy coding games (Thank you for informations!),however,
I couldn't post to your thread since this reason.
Instead, I know some freeware games which hate analogic (fwsi) FDD ,
and I only can introduce these title names;
Bratwurst, Engines, Power Battle.
Bratwurst and Power Battle have been uploaded at aminet.net.
nittamituaki is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putty Squad Amiga Released BippyM News 165 08 March 2014 10:24
Do you want to see Putty Squad released for the Amiga? antonvaltaz project.aGTW 7 25 August 2010 14:37
Putty Squad / Silly Putty 2 pcGTW_Webmaster HOL contributions 14 24 February 2006 00:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40370 seconds with 12 queries