English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2014, 12:26   #81
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
No problem at all, your English seems perfectly fine to me. Where abouts in Russia? I used to have internet friends in Krasnoyarsk. Was the CD32 sold in stores over there?

Looks like Another World does indeed have a slave for second button support. I've not tried that slave though so I don't know what exactly the second button does. Edit: never mind, it just brings up the password enter box, which requires a keyboard anyway!

http://www.whdload.de/games/AnotherWorld.html

PS search whdload.de if you want to find out what capabilities whdload adds to Amiga games.

Last edited by earok; 28 January 2014 at 12:43.
earok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 January 2014, 13:01   #82
blaze-f
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Russia
Age: 27
Posts: 22
Quote:
No problem at all, your English seems perfectly fine to me.
Nice.

Quote:
Where abouts in Russia?
Rostov-on-Don. It's in the south of our country and so faaaaar away from Krasnoyarsk

Quote:
Was the CD32 sold in stores over there?
Unfortunately we have no stores that specialise on retro gaming stuff. But we have some internet forums like GBX.ru, where people buy consoles, games and other stuff on ebay, hit-japan or something like that and resell them at a higher price. Or sell their own collections... for many reasons.

It's perfect solution for people, who doesn't want buy directly from ebay. Me for example)

Quote:
Looks like Another World does indeed have a slave for second button support. I've not tried that slave though so I don't know what exactly the second button does.
Can you test it? Sure if this slave doesn't have 2 button support - you don't need to add this game to your compilation.

Quote:
PS search whdload.de if you want to find out what capabilities whdload adds to Amiga games.
Thanx.

Quote:
never mind, it just brings up the password enter box, which requires a keyboard anyway!
You mean password screen or copy protection screen during loading?

Sorry, but last time i tried to play Another World on my CD32 year ago and can't remember anything... except that one version is freezing on level 2 and other one plays fine. I used a few compilation disks like 888 in 1, but can't remember which one have playable version.

Last edited by blaze-f; 28 January 2014 at 13:11.
blaze-f is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 19:10   #83
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
I just gave Another World's latest WHDLOAD slave a test, I was wrong about the code screen (you can input with joystick) so the second button is very useful. Also I checked, the version from the 888 CD crashes on the second level (even with the latest slave and when you skip there directly), but the one from whdownload seems to work fine.
earok is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 19:57   #84
blaze-f
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Russia
Age: 27
Posts: 22
I have bad news - Flashback crashes at end of second level, where you enter the death tower.

Also i noticed that cutscenes runs little faster than they should. Music does not keep up with them. It's clearly visible in the intro.
blaze-f is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 20:06   #85
retrogamer
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze-f View Post
I have bad news - Flashback crashes at end of second level, where you enter the death tower.

Also i noticed that cutscenes runs little faster than they should. Music does not keep up with them. It's clearly visible in the intro.
Are you using the newest slave?

You can set CUSTOM4=1 to slowdown the anim sequence on fast cpu.
retrogamer is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 21:13   #86
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
Sorry, yes, I'll set CUSTOM4=1 on the next release to keep the cutscenes going at the right speed.

It may be just the version of Flashback I'm using, I'll try putting a different one in to see if it's any better.
earok is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 21:36   #87
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Flashback is the EAB file server Retroplay folder
Another World latest .slave uses a Kickstart that you cant distribute
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 January 2014, 22:53   #88
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
O_o bugger. I just took the kickstarts folder from the 888 collection for my one. I'll take them out and see what I can still get to run.
earok is offline  
Old 29 January 2014, 00:09   #89
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Theres also a WHDload Key hidden I cant remember what its called and in what folder so its not a good idea to copy folders like C/S etc from 888 etc
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 29 January 2014, 01:34   #90
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
I'm definitely going to need to put the project on hold for the next two-three weeks, at least. Happy to share my work in progress folder on Dropbox etc if someone else wants to take over for now, otherwise I'll get back to work after my other project is done.
earok is offline  
Old 29 January 2014, 08:59   #91
blaze-f
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Russia
Age: 27
Posts: 22
That's all right. Thank you for your work. We'll wait.

I hope, you can make Flashback playable.
blaze-f is offline  
Old 03 February 2014, 23:41   #92
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 495
@lentivector did you tried xtreme racing on real cd32? On my cd32 unfortunatly it just wont work. When starts loading, before it should display first title screen it blocks. Screen stays black, power light goes dimm, cd light stays on but nothing happends... On emulator it works of course.
I tried adding Virtual Karting 2 to compilations but it seems that it needs every single byte of those 2 mega free. It wont work just displays not enough memory. But with simple adopting of startup-sequence of original AmigaCD of Virtual Karting 2 it works on cd32. If anyone interested I'll upload iso.
Cobe is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 00:07   #93
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
@cobe I thought I tried Xtreme Racing myself on real CD32 and it seemed to work OK. I'll double check.

Very interested to hear that you got VK2 working! Any chance you can upload your ISO to the zone? When I get back to working on the project there might be one or two tricks I can do to get it running on a compilation (add21k, dismounting rad disk after soft reboot etc).
earok is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 00:19   #94
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 495
@earok I'm new here and I dont get that zone, also I think I don't have premision to access it. So here's link https://www.dropbox.com/s/vzoiylx2p0wsz4m/vk2cdr.iso
That what you wrote fully makes sense. Maybe it will work that way.
Cobe is offline  
Old 04 February 2014, 00:21   #95
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
Thanks, I got it. Here's how to get access to the zone:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26201
earok is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 04:33   #96
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Earok have you tried FIFA? I believe it comes with an HD installer, not WHDLoad.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 04:39   #97
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
I have, I didn't have any luck at the time but I didn't realise it had an HD installer. In any case the game (afaik) requires a keyboard for certain functions, though I could see if I can get joy2kbd working with it.
earok is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 10:44   #98
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
@cobe Xtreme Racing seems to be intermittent. Tried it tonight, first time it didn't work. Gave the CD32 a cold reset, then it seemed to work just fine. I might do a couple of things to try and maximise the amount of RAM available for the game.

Edit: I take it you have a PAL CD32?

Last edited by earok; 05 February 2014 at 10:52.
earok is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 11:13   #99
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,482
@cobe Hurray! Virtual Karting 2 on my compilation passes the first test (running in emulated 2mb ram) so it's more than likely it'll work on a real CD32. It's also much better than VK1 since you can accelerate with a button and play on six tracks

Thanks for providing the ISO, much appreciated.

If you were curious, this is how I got it working:

Virtual Karting 2.start
Code:
C:mount c:rad
echo "" >rad:vk2
reboot
Near top of compilation Startup Sequence
Code:
IF EXISTS RAD:VK2
remrad force rad: >nil:
add21k >nil:
avail flush >nil:
Assign VK2_ProgramDisk: sys:games/vk2/VK2_Programdisk >nil:
Assign VK2_TracksDisk1: sys:games/vk2/VK2_Tracksdisk1 >nil:
Assign VK2_TracksDisk2: sys:games/vk2/VK2_Tracksdisk2 >nil:
VK2_ProgramDisk:VK2 >nil:
ENDIF

Last edited by earok; 05 February 2014 at 11:20.
earok is offline  
Old 05 February 2014, 15:35   #100
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
I have, I didn't have any luck at the time but I didn't realise it had an HD installer. In any case the game (afaik) requires a keyboard for certain functions, though I could see if I can get joy2kbd working with it.
FIFA only needs a 2 button joystick, it is a console port. Keyboard is only needed when you have a 1 button joystick
SolderPCB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another CD32 Compilation mombasajoe Retrogaming General Discussion 42 02 November 2016 20:59
Mark's CD32 Genre Compilation Project - Platform Games kokapetl project.CD32 Conversion 26 21 October 2013 16:20
[Request] Flashback CD32 Pad support Retro-Nerd project.WHDLoad 19 15 September 2013 22:01
New little CD32 Compilation mombasajoe Retrogaming General Discussion 15 01 April 2011 01:39
Project-X SE & F17 Challenge v2.0 (1993)(Team 17)(M5)[compilation][CDD3499] retrogamer request.Old Rare Games 0 05 April 2007 14:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21872 seconds with 12 queries