English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2014, 03:22   #41
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks again for your work on this and indeed all your great ports

fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 January 2014, 04:34   #42
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Wonderful Steve
Retrofan is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 07:27   #43
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Here's a nice little pWAD demonstrating some of ZDOOM 1.22's features.

http://zdoom.org/files/examples/demo.zip
XDelusion is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 12:23   #44
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Has anyone got this port working with just 32mb of RAM?
It starts loading then jumps back to Workbench, no errors recorded.

I'm using the latest WAD 1.9. Works fine with Boom
Amicol is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 12:52   #45
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
Has anyone got this port working with just 32mb of RAM?
It starts loading then jumps back to Workbench, no errors recorded.

I'm using the latest WAD 1.9. Works fine with Boom
Hiya,


I don't know how much memory it really uses, try enabling the 'heapsize' Tool Type and set it to 26 (or lower). By default (when it's not specified) it allocates a heap of 28 (MB).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 12:52   #46
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Wonderful Steve
Thanks mate

@Nova, I know I mentioned it before but what's the probability of AHI implementation, my Sound Card feels unloved

BTW for shits n giggles I tried the RTG version with OS4.1 on my AmigaOne (sound disabled) it doesn't work... (DSI error)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 13:07   #47
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
@Nova, I know I mentioned it before but what's the probability of AHI implementation, my Sound Card feels unloved
It's technically possible but it will make it a little be slower on classics for most people, I could off it as an option I guess.


Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Here's a nice little pWAD demonstrating some of ZDOOM 1.22's features.

http://zdoom.org/files/examples/demo.zip

Thanks for that, just gave it a quick test against the win32 version of ZDOOM v1.22 compared to my 68k port and it looks like my one is having some problems with that WAD (possibly down to more endian issues with loading the ACS script files). I'll have tor try and fix it up when I get the time.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 13:13   #48
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Hiya,


I don't know how much memory it really uses, try enabling the 'heapsize' Tool Type and set it to 26 (or lower). By default (when it's not specified) it allocates a heap of 28 (MB).
Hi mate, tried that, comes back with error, st9bad_alloc program aborted
Amicol is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 13:46   #49
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
Hi mate, tried that, comes back with error, st9bad_alloc program aborted
AGA or RTG version?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 14:16   #50
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
AGA or RTG version?
AGA version on my real miggy

Apollo 1260 @ 80Mhz, 32mb SIMM

Classic Workbench 3.9

68060 library 46.7
Amicol is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 14:35   #51
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Ok, I'll stick a new version in the Zone for you which will only allocate 16MB, can you test it and let me know.

Thanks


Update: In the Zone
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 14:36   #52
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Ok, I'll stick a new version in the Zone for you which will only allocate 16MB, can you test it and let me know.

Thanks
Yeh!
Amicol is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 14:51   #53
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
GREAT!! It works!

Thanks very much Nova, I'm not worthy....
Amicol is offline  
Old 18 March 2014, 20:12   #54
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
A couple of you guys mentioned performance issues on 060, I've just got a 1260 and it's unplayable, like a slide show! Yet it runs fine on my 040/RTG

Any suggestions?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 09:24   #55
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I just uploaded v1.10 to AmiNet (AGA), should be slightly quicker now (removed the slow bot code, too much for real machines).

I'll probably upload the RTG version tomorrow and then have a look at what's going on with AmiWolf

I also have a working port of ODAMEX that I'll have to clean up and stick on AmiNet one of these days.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 15:17   #56
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Great, runs really nicely!
One thing still remains for me.
It still crashes just before Dead Simple (after The Crusher) on Doom2 for some reason...

Keep up the great work
Amicol is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 15:53   #57
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
Great, runs really nicely!
One thing still remains for me.
It still crashes just before Dead Simple (after The Crusher) on Doom2 for some reason...

Keep up the great work
Are you using the patched DOOM2 WAD file? ZDOOM likes the latest versions of the WADS (links in the ZDOOM README).

Otherwise it might be caused by an endian issue, unfortunately the ZDOOM source code is not endian 'clean' which causes problems when parsing WADS.

I think ODAMEX will prove to be the most advanced 68k port of DOOM for power users followed by ZDOOM and BOOM


If you only have an 030 you should stick with good old DoomAttack

Last edited by NovaCoder; 23 May 2014 at 16:03.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 15:53   #58
VincentGR
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 34
Tommorow I will try 1.10 to my 030/50.
Thanks!!!
VincentGR is offline  
Old 23 May 2014, 15:58   #59
Amicol
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hartlepool / England
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Are you using the patched DOOM2 WAD file? ZDOOM likes the latest versions of the WADS (links in the README).
I'm sure I patched to the latest version,
Can you check it's the same as yours mate?
14,604,584 bytes (28,525 blocks)
Amicol is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 01:50   #60
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amicol View Post
I'm sure I patched to the latest version,
Can you check it's the same as yours mate?
14,604,584 bytes (28,525 blocks)
Yep same as mine, I guess it must be an endian issue then (which is very hard to fix).
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiWolf - new 68k Wolfenstein 3D port NovaCoder News 265 17 December 2016 05:05
Quake 68k port for MAC Sandro request.Old Rare Games 11 02 September 2013 03:08
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 13:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 21:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31105 seconds with 12 queries